We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christening party”
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Ballyhaunis, Ireland
1 review
“Christening party”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We attended a christening party at the galway bay hotel. The hotel is very clean and airy Wonderful view of the ocean very refreshing The service was very efficient. The food was excellent. Every course cooked to perfection. We had a wonderful day. We did not stay the night but we will next time. I will just have to return again.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear ‘Anna S’,

Thank you most sincerely for your super review. All on the team would like to pass on a sincere thank you to you and we are thrilled that you had such a super family occasion here. Your positive feedback regarding the excellent quality of food received is most rewarding and all on the culinary team pass on their gratitude also.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,043
    606
    279
    78
    44
See reviews for
873
1,067
108
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langbank, Renfrewshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The overall impression for me was of a hotel with some new bits added but the bedrooms, albeit clearly refurbished to a good standard, hinted at a tired past. Good sized room, decent carpet, reasonably well appointed. Limited hanging wardrobe space. Bathroom old fashioned. Avoid the dressing gowns unless you enjoy a rub down with medium grade sandpaper!

Couple of niggles that were resolved quickly. Resting after the journey to get to Galway, the TV signal switched itself off unannounced, twice in a couple of hours. Very helpful reception staff dealt promptly with this. No further problem. Old CRT TV with 1980’s style welcome to hotel menu. Very poor selection of channels to watch.

I hate hotels that use those mattress protectors with the plastic backing. Furthermore my half of the mattress was so lumpy – collapsed springs I suspect, that it woke me up at about 0300hrs on the first night. Fortunately we were in a room with a second single bed so I moved in there. Slept OK for rest of break. When I mentioned the bed on checkout, I got the very strong impression that the matter would be dealt with and would not be ignored.

All staff excellent, reception staff efficient and ‘sort of’ friendly. Restaurant staff clearly very well trained, very helpful, very friendly. All very good at what they did except for one lass, on the morning of our last breakfast, clearly having trouble keeping up with workload. Great to see her colleagues helping her out.

Lobster Pot restaurant cannot be faulted. Excellent quality, very well cooked and imaginatively presented. Breakfasts were good in parts. Hot buffet very well cooked and presented. Cold buffet not impressed at all. The advertised 'cold meats and cheeses' were one salver, trimmed with diagonally halved square slices of nondescript cheddar, laid out with one type of salami with tough bits in it, sprinkled with some grated red cheddar. In our two days it looked as if I was the only one to take any. Shouldn't have bothered. Items were replenished quickly although starter blocks were required to reach the croissants before they disappeared again.

Compared to the many other hotels I have used, this one not quite value for money. But I would go back despite the lack of air conditioning one expects at these prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senex-sum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear ‘senex-sum’,

Thank you for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you for your feedback. All on the team look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you are looking for accomodation that is within close proxemity to amenites for children, this is an excellent hotel. The food in the restaurant is 5 star quality, and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The prom was a nice place to go for a walk right accross the road from the hotel, and the children loved the amusment park right next door. We requested a room in a quiet area of the hotel and that was exactly what we got. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the small park with the pond. It was a very quiet section of the hotel on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear ‘maryq338’,

Thank you most sincerely for your feedback and thank you also for your recommendation to all. All on the team are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and your feedback is certainly similar to the feedback I receive on a daily basis. We look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Sincere regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Big THANK YOU to Dan Murphy and his staff for their generosity in allowing us to use the large ballroom for our fund-raising night for the Samaritans.Everyone agreed we were in the height of luxury and nothing was too much trouble for those on duty.It is a wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting and the food, for those of us lucky enough to eat there beforehand, was secong to none. Thanks once again to all those connected with the Galway Bay Hotel.
Galway Girl.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galwaygirl006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear ‘Galwaygirl006’,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing the Galway Bay Hotel to host your recent event and thank you also for your valued feedback.

Your feedback is certainly similar to the vast volumes I receive on a daily basis and I am delighted that your event was such a success.

All on the team pass on a sincere thank you and look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the near future.

Kind regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights with a group of friends as we were attending a wedding held at the hotel itself. A very good 'all-rounder' with comfy rooms, nice facilities, good breakfast, free wifi and a lovely position looking out onto the bay and the islands beyond. It's a 5-7 minute walk into the main street of Salthill (a few basic shops/cafes/pubs) and about a half hour walk/10 minute bus/taxi into Galway centre where there's much more going on.
There are some great features such as the 'pub within a hotel', conservatory/large terrace overlooking the sea and small but modern and adequate gym. Good standard of cleanliness, comfy beds and nice bathrooms, however it doesn't get the 5*s from me for the following (small) reasons:
1) Most of the staff were lovely, but the manners of a few of the waitresses at the wedding left a little to be desired (more school canteen than wedding breakfast).
2) The decor is a little outdated and surely it's time to replace the chunky CRT TVs?
3) Breakfast was tasty but a little more variety would have been welcome
4) Reception staff told me they didn't have internet access to tell me the weather forecast for the following day or look up alternative local tours to the one they recommend (which has quite an early start)
5 ) It's a little on the pricey side for what you get and the food/drink prices are a bit of a shock for those travelling over from the UK.

But overall I had a very pleasant stay and would recommmend it to anyone travelling to the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear ‘OxfordLizzy’,

Thank you most sincerely for your feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently.

All on the team are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us whilst attending your friends wedding reception. We certainly do receive fantastic feedback from guests who attend wedding receptions in the hotel. All of your points outlined are most welcome.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Galway Bay Hotel again in the future.

Warm regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nice staff on arrival to this busy hotel, rooms were good and the amenities were good too so all round was an enjoyable stay with good staff and fantastic views. Highly recommend walking the prom and venturing through Salthill to see the local area.
We really enjoyed our stay and will be returning again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilyboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear ‘Bilyboyo’,

Thank youfor this very positive feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here inthe Galway Bay Hotel recently.

I am delighted that you had the opportunity to avail of one of the many walks which are close by the hotel. The promenade walk is most popular and a favourite of mine also. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back at some stage I the near future.

Warm regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed here at the weekend with my boyfriend and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The hotel itself is decorated to the highest standards and the beds are exceptionally comfortable!! The staff are very friendly and helpful especially the girls on reception and John the manager. While we didn’t have dinner in the hotel during our stay the breakfast was very well arranged and considering it was so busy it took no length for us to get served. I will definitely be returning to visit this hotel at my earliest convenience for a longer stay and would like to commend everyone involved for such a fabulously run hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisehennigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Louise,

Thank you for this super feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. All on the team are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

Your positive feedback regarding the hotel décor, the comfortable beds, the very friendly and helpful staff and the quality of breakfast is most welcome. John is delighted to be mentioned in such a positive manner through such a public medium and he passes on a sincere thank you. You have made his day!

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,463 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,682 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,885 reviews
4.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,899 reviews
3.2 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Property: Galway Bay Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing