We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Way from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Galway
limerick
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Home Way from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

My Family & I have just returned from a night away at the Galway Bay Hotel - We have stayed here a few times before and decided at the last minute to make a booking - We got a great deal for one night with Dinner.

We checked in at 2pm and went straight to our room - I went to the bar to watch Ireland lose to Scotland in the Rugby and have a couple of nice pints while my Wife & Son went for a swim.

There was a Wedding arriving at the time and you would not know as it was very peaceful.

We had dinner & I must say "Top Marks " Main courses of Steak for myself & my Wife & Son shared a Lobster - Very very tasty with a nice bottle of wine - A stroll down the promenade after Dinner followed by a nite cap !

Breakfast this morning lovely & I have to say what I love about this hotel is that we went for Breakfast at 10.45am & both the Hot and cold buffets were fully stocked ( I can't say that about some of the hotels I have stayed ) Also i have to say all the staff we were in contact with were great & nothing seemed to be too much trouble & we are looking forward to our next visit to the Galway Bay - We just hope the weather is a little better.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munster1Limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear ‘munster1Limerick’,

Wow, what a super review of the Galway Bay Hotel. On behalf of all on the team here I would like to thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay with us and also for this very positive review. You mention the ‘great’ staff and I do receive feedback such as this daily – I am so lucky to have such a wonderful team who are so passionate and focused when it comes to delivering top class service consistently. To get ‘top marks’ for dinner is also very rewarding and we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal so much; again this is feedback I receive daily. I am also very happy to read your comment regarding the arrival of the wedding guests and how peaceful it was – this is definitely the case as we do operate one wedding reception on a day, with the reception in one of our beautiful sea view lounges – with superb views of the famous Galway Bay and beautiful Clare Hills. We all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future and hopefully you will get the good weather next time.
Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,917
    568
    259
    76
    42
See reviews for
803
1,002
103
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Never stayed in Galway Bay hotel but was at a wedding there on 4/8/2011, great day! Food was lovely, service was pretty fast & staff were very professional! I was impressed! :-)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mossie3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear ‘Mossie3012’

Thank you for choosing to stay in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also for this very positive feedback. I am delighted that you were impressed with the food, service and professional staff. I have passed on your comments to all on the team and all have requested that I pass on to you a very sincere Galway Bay Hotel thank you. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.
Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

After I added an extra night I was given a higher rate, and told it was because of race week. Then the evening before my extra night a flyer offering a much lower rate was slipped under my door.

On my checkout from the hotel I mentioned the difference to the desk clerk who told me I would have to wait to speak to manager about it. I waited around until a manager explained to me the laws of economics (tough break). He ended the conversation with a 'your welcome' , was I supposed to say thank you?

The general manager responded to me via email with basically the same song and dance...He said that he would like to make sure my future stays were better. Which is hotel speak for, if your not coming back here we don't care.

nice enough hotel, just know who you are dealing with

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominick053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear Mr Ryan,

Thank you for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel on your recent trip to Galway. I am very happy that you enjoyed your brief stay here and I was also very happy to liaise with you following on from your visit, explaining your query regarding our bedroom rates.

On Friday July 22nd last we received a cancellation for Sunday 24th July from a group of regular guests of the hotel due to a very unfortunate situation. This unfortunate situation left us with a number of bedrooms to sell at very short notice. We made a decision on Friday evening to offer to all in-house guests the option to stay on in the hotel for an extra night at a ‘sale price’ to sell these last bedrooms. As you quite rightly outline this was done by placing a ‘sale flyer’ in guest bedrooms and the good news from my point of view is that we sold the bedrooms at this ‘last minute price’.

Both myself and the Senior Manager with whom you queried this with on the morning of your check out are terribly saddened to view your comments; as when you queried this, we made the relevant adjustment to your bill, passing on the ‘sale price’ to you and we apologized for any inconvenience or upset caused to you. I also did this by a follow on e-mail. It is for this reason that I feel your comment is very unfair.

As I previously mentioned to you, I am genuinely concerned when any guest leaves the hotel with any issue and I would like to assure you that my response to you was (and is) nothing but genuine. I do sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Galway Bay Hotel at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed for two nights in May, got a great deal - 2 nights B & B and one evening meal for 99Euro. Staff were pleasant, helpful and local. Breakfast was first class and dinner was really good too. Only one small area that could be improved was the conservatory, it is a really good space with great light and views but not a comfortable place to sit - it needs a makeover. Overall a great hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaffyDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear ‘DaffyDundee’

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to review the Galway Bay Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your short break here and I use feedback such as yours to help motivate and encourage all on the team to perform to the highest standard consistently. You are quite correct referring to the views from our conservatories – they are spectacular and the amount of guests relaxing in these areas watching ‘the sun go down on Galway Bay’ as the old and famous song goes is quite amazing. These areas have been refurbished over the last two years as part of our overall refurbishment program. We all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.
Thank you again,
Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Very nice hotel. Loads of parking. Right next to an small amusement park, which was distracting to our 3 year old. Had to drive into the city because it is so far away. Really lovely otherwise. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesignrGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear ‘DesignrGirl’,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also for your review. I am delighted that you really enjoyed your stay here. I have passed on your comment regarding the excellent breakfast to all on the breakfast team and all are delighted – particularly as we have been awarded with the ‘best breakfast in Ireland’ a number of times over the last number of years. We all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.
Kind regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at Galway Bay Hotel recently and had a fantastic time. We travelled with our two year old who was well catered for and spoilt by all the staff, which made our trip very enjoyable! The hotels location on the sea front is enviable and great for a stroll after dinner. The restaurant is spacious and has a great selection of dishes, which are all delicious.

See you soon!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank williams196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear ‘amylea6’

Thank you most sincerely for this super feedback. I receive approximately 250 guest comments each week by way of comment card, letter and by word of mouth and I have to say that your comment is certainly a replica of these comments. I look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future.
Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at the Galway Bay mid July as a family break.The family room was a good size,clean and comfortable.However the shower was difficult to regulate.While Perks funfair spoiled the view it did not intrude on a nights sleep as it closed at a reasonable hour. The staff were friendly,helpful and worked very hard especially in the restaurant....where there were simply not enough of them leading to very long sittings for dinner.We had two meals here one good,one dreadful.Met the Manager charged with bringing the dinner drinks and I am still waiting on my wine.Indeed I came to the conclusion that if the middle management worked as hard as the frontline staff this hotel would be much better.Irish hotels seem heavily dependant on Coach tours this year and while diversity may be necessary is this to the detriment of your core business..the famjly holiday?Thanks to the staff in the kiddies club who got great reviews from the young ones. Overall though for the price charged there is plenty of room for improvement in facilities and quality.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topcattEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear ‘topcatEire’,

Thank you for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also for this valuable feedback. Naturally, I am extremely concerned to learn of your experience with us and I would like to assure you that I and all on the team are extremely concerned and upset when any guest leaves the hotel less than 100% happy. I would like to apologise most sincerely and I would like to assure you that this is definitely not the normal standard of service we strive to offer any guest of the hotel. I have addressed each issue you encountered with the relevant management and staff and collectively we are working to ensure that we do not have a reoccurrence with any guest in the future. I and all on the team are terribly disappointed as we feel that we have let both ourselves, and indeed more importantly a very valued guest down. We are also terribly disappointed as we do have very stringent policies and procedures in place to ensure that the issues you encountered are not issues for any guest of the hotel which are addressed in our structured training program ‘Exceeding Expectations’. This is a training program managed by each department manager and our Human Resource Manager whereby each team member attends a 30 minute daily training session in their relevant department. This is then audited both internally and by an externally contracted ‘mystery shopper’ company. We receive approximately 250 guest comments weekly from guests of the hotel. These comments are received consistently throughout the day and week by way of letter, comment card and of course by word of mouth, when guests checking out of the hotel etc. All comments are uploaded on to our guest feedback log for review and as you can imagine, there is a vast amount of guest feedback on this database. I mention this as I would like to assure you that this is not the norm as over the years and indeed recently the overwhelming amount of guest feedback is extremely positive. I would welcome the opportunity to touch base with you in person, with the ultimate aim of regaining your confidence with the Galway Bay Hotel – should you wish to do so please drop me a line at dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com. Kind regards,
Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Property: Galway Bay Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing