We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, cheerful and pleasant staff...”
Review of Corrib Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Corrib Village
Ranked #41 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Cheap, cheerful and pleasant staff...”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The place was good enough for two nights, it is basic its more of an Apartotel than a hotel, the rooms were simple, bed and shelving areas, bathroom was again basic but did the trick.

The continental breakfast thrown in was OK, cereals, toast, scones juices and fruit. Again, did the trick. We took two rooms for €70 in total, no hotel in Galway could offer this price!

I would return here for mini break, staff were very nice, especially Ross...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawadee_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    43
    17
    18
See reviews for
21
31
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed with 4 friends in Corrib Village, we got a 4 bed apartment for 3 nights for the Galway Races. What great value, we had 2 bathrooms, kitchen / dining room / sitting room with tv. The apartment was basic but very clean and the kitchen had all you would need. There is a courtesy shuttle bus on the hour to and from Galway City and a bus to Galway Races for €4. There is 24 reception onsite, cafe, shop, playground, tennis courts and Leisure Centre (there is a fee for the leisure centre) great place if you want a cheap holiday with the children. Can be noisy as a lot of students and young people stay but if you can't handle the noise you can ring reception and they deal with it immediately. There is also facilities for washing and drying clothes but we didn't avail.

Room Tip: Its a big complex so you might ask for accommodation near the facilites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Una H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Many thanks for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay in Corrib Village – as you mentioned, we are indeed the perfect choice for affordable accommodation in Galway, even during Galway Races. We provide 24 hour Reception cover and our staff are more than happy to assist with any noise complaints, or indeed any other queries that guests may have.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Corrib Village for Race Week 2013!
Kind Regards,
Roisin Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Corrib Village was a nice facility, with private rooms and housekeeping daily. The main problem was its location. Even with daytime shuttles to Eyre Square, figuring out how to travel into the city centre was difficult and we often had to find cabs at off hours. There is a free breakfast offered, but it is sparse and does not offer much substance. Another issue was the bathroom; they were covered in water for most of our trip, and did not seem to be very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Many thanks for your recent review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, should your problem with bathroom facilities have been brought to our attention we would have been delighted to have housekeeping attend to the situation immediately.
You mention that our location was perhaps not as you had expected – we believe our location is perfect for touring Connemara and Galway City itself - Corrib Village is a leisurely 15/20 minute walk, taking in the historic NUI Galway campus along the banks of the River Corrib, to the bustling heart of Galway city. We also provide a complimentary shuttle bus service from Corrib Village to Eyre Square which operates daily until 8.00pm.
Should you wish to discuss your stay further I can be contacted at (091) 527112 or at roisin@corribvillage.com
Kind Regards,
Roisin Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is NUIG's student village and is not suitable for anyone save a bunch of lads/ladettes. The receptionist who checked us in failed to encode the room keys (and was generally wool-headed), so I had to walk all the way back across the grounds to get them encoded. The atmosphere is as you might expect in a place built with cost-saving as a main driving factor. The bathroom was unpleasant with a shower head encrusted with limescale. When we tried to complain at check-out we were told it was our own fault. I would neither return nor recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Many thanks for your recent review. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at Corrib Village. In particular, I am concerned to read how your complaint appears to have been handled on check out – there is always a manager on duty to meet with customers and it appears that we failed to apply our Customer complaint policy on this occasion.
I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay with us and I can be contacted at (091) 527112 or at roisin@corribvillage.com
Kind Regards,
Roisin Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galway hotels

gorgeousgussie
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Good points : relatively cheap accommodation during the Galway Races.
Close enough to city centre. Nice location beside the river.
Not so good : impossible to sleep in the apartments at night , noise from doors banging, chairs scraping on floors above, people talking loudly no doubt enjoying themselves.

Basic breeze block structures with basic design.
Reception staff seemed overworked and not the greatest people skills, a smile helps kids.

All in all don't know how anyone could stay during term time without going nuts due to the nonstop partying that seemed to continue while we were there .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorgeousgussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Many thanks for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed some aspects of your recent stay in Corrib Village – as you mentioned, we are indeed the perfect choice for affordable accommodation in Galway, even during Galway Races. We provide 24 hour Reception cover and our staff would have been more than happy to assist with any noise complaints had it been brought to their attention. I am sorry that you felt that reception staff were not friendly, as you mentioned Galway Race Week was an exceptionally busy week in Corrib Village, however this should not have resulted in a drop in standards, as staff friendliness is an area that we are very proud of here in Corrib Village.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Corrib Village for Race Week 2013 – please feel free to contact me directly at roisin@corribvillage.com and I will be delighted to look after your reservation.
Kind Regards,
Roisin Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in June 2012. A friend and I booked 2 single rooms, which were in separate apartments across the hall from each other. Both rooms shared a bathroom/shower with one other room. The rooms are small, but have a fair amount of storage, and the beds were comfortable. I would suggest flip flops/shoes for the shower just because you are sharing, and ear plugs, as it was loud on the Friday night. Each apartment has 4 rooms (with shared or ensuite bathrooms), a common room and a kitchen. Continental breakfast (cereal, toast, fruit and juice) is included in the price. Located a bit out of town (~20 minute walk), there is a free shuttle between noon and 7 or 8 pm, and a cab costs about 8 euros.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Many thanks for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay in Corrib Village – as you mentioned, we are indeed the perfect choice for affordable accommodation in Galway. We provide 24 hour Reception cover and our staff would have been more than happy to assist with any noise complaints had it been brought to their attention. We also provide accommodation with private en-suite facilities, perhaps you would prefer to book this on your next visit.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Corrib Village in the future – keep an eye on our website for great deals on Summer accommodation in Galway!
Kind Regards,
Roisin Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This place was not what we expected to be, but it was fine. It's like a student accommodation. There were 4 rooms, one living room, 2 toilets and a shower. We were the only one in the building.
At the start we were not very happy with the time we had to wait to get to our room, but later on, they helped us with sorting out our trip to Inis Mor etc.
It's including breakfast, but we haven't tried it yet.
There is WIFI connection for free.
Kitchen is clean.

If we had to rate this place we would say: good. And we would come back if we were traveling Ireland again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Many thanks for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay in Corrib Village – as you mentioned, we are indeed the perfect choice for affordable accommodation in Galway. We provide Student Accommodation from September to May each year and affordable Summer Accommodation from June to August. Check in is from 4.00pm, however we endeavour, where possible to have rooms ready for Guests earlier than this and I am sorry that on this occasion you had a delay on check in.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Corrib Village in the future – keep an eye on our website for great deals on Summer accommodation in Galway!
Kind Regards,
Roisin Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,522 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 54 in Galway
590 reviews
2.7 mi away
Corrib View B&B
Corrib View B&B
#126 of 185 in Galway
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 54 in Galway
200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
1.1 mi away
Western Citypoint Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corrib Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corrib Village

Property: Corrib Village
Address: | Upper Newcastle, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Corrib Village 3*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corrib Village is the ideal base for exploring the West of Ireland and experiencing all that Galway city has to offer. Located on the grounds of NUI Galway, at the edge of Connemara and only a FREE 10-minute shuttle bus away from the hive of activity that is Galway city centre, it's the perfect option for an activity-filled break away! Corrib Village offers basic, no-frills, affordable accommodation for both individuals and groups, who can choose to book on a room-only or B&B basis or opt for an entire, self-catering apartment. For those wishing to stay in Corrib Village on a nightly B&B basis, a light continental breakfast is included, which is available from 7:00am to 11:00am in the on-site café. Those who opt for an entire, self-catering apartment (which can accommodate up to 6 people) can enjoy the additional benefit of a living area with a fully-equipped kitchen and a TV with seating area. All bedrooms are supplied with clean linen and fresh, soft towels. On-site facilities include a tennis court, a soccer court (extra charge applies), a coin-operated launderette, a shop/deli,FREE parking, FREE Wi-Fi, a barbecue area and a FREE shuttle bus service to/from the city centre. A tour booking service is also available. For family trips, cots and highchairs are available by prior request (extra charge applies). One of the biggest attractions of Galway itself is the array of vibrant and cultural festivals that take place during the summer months, such as the Galway Arts Festival, the Galway Races, and the Film Festival. It's the place to be during the summer! So, don't miss out on your chance to soak up the atmosphere...stay in Corrib Village and experience it all without breaking the bank! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Corrib Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corrib Village Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing