We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More a creche than a village”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Corrib Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Corrib Village
Ranked #38 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More a creche than a village”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is NUIG's student village and is not suitable for anyone save a bunch of lads/ladettes. The receptionist who checked us in failed to encode the room keys (and was generally wool-headed), so I had to walk all the way back across the grounds to get them encoded. The atmosphere is as you might expect in a place built with cost-saving as a main driving factor. The bathroom was unpleasant with a shower head encrusted with limescale. When we tried to complain at check-out we were told it was our own fault. I would neither return nor recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Many thanks for your recent review. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at Corrib Village. In particular, I am concerned to read how your complaint appears to have been handled on check out – there is always a manager on duty to meet with customers and it appears that we failed to apply our Customer complaint policy on this occasion.
I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay with us and I can be contacted at (091) 527112 or at roisin@corribvillage.com
Kind Regards,
Roisin Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    41
    16
    15
See reviews for
20
29
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gorgeousgussie
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Good points : relatively cheap accommodation during the Galway Races.
Close enough to city centre. Nice location beside the river.
Not so good : impossible to sleep in the apartments at night , noise from doors banging, chairs scraping on floors above, people talking loudly no doubt enjoying themselves.

Basic breeze block structures with basic design.
Reception staff seemed overworked and not the greatest people skills, a smile helps kids.

All in all don't know how anyone could stay during term time without going nuts due to the nonstop partying that seemed to continue while we were there .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorgeousgussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Many thanks for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed some aspects of your recent stay in Corrib Village – as you mentioned, we are indeed the perfect choice for affordable accommodation in Galway, even during Galway Races. We provide 24 hour Reception cover and our staff would have been more than happy to assist with any noise complaints had it been brought to their attention. I am sorry that you felt that reception staff were not friendly, as you mentioned Galway Race Week was an exceptionally busy week in Corrib Village, however this should not have resulted in a drop in standards, as staff friendliness is an area that we are very proud of here in Corrib Village.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Corrib Village for Race Week 2013 – please feel free to contact me directly at roisin@corribvillage.com and I will be delighted to look after your reservation.
Kind Regards,
Roisin Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galway hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in June 2012. A friend and I booked 2 single rooms, which were in separate apartments across the hall from each other. Both rooms shared a bathroom/shower with one other room. The rooms are small, but have a fair amount of storage, and the beds were comfortable. I would suggest flip flops/shoes for the shower just because you are sharing, and ear plugs, as it was loud on the Friday night. Each apartment has 4 rooms (with shared or ensuite bathrooms), a common room and a kitchen. Continental breakfast (cereal, toast, fruit and juice) is included in the price. Located a bit out of town (~20 minute walk), there is a free shuttle between noon and 7 or 8 pm, and a cab costs about 8 euros.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Many thanks for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay in Corrib Village – as you mentioned, we are indeed the perfect choice for affordable accommodation in Galway. We provide 24 hour Reception cover and our staff would have been more than happy to assist with any noise complaints had it been brought to their attention. We also provide accommodation with private en-suite facilities, perhaps you would prefer to book this on your next visit.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Corrib Village in the future – keep an eye on our website for great deals on Summer accommodation in Galway!
Kind Regards,
Roisin Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This place was not what we expected to be, but it was fine. It's like a student accommodation. There were 4 rooms, one living room, 2 toilets and a shower. We were the only one in the building.
At the start we were not very happy with the time we had to wait to get to our room, but later on, they helped us with sorting out our trip to Inis Mor etc.
It's including breakfast, but we haven't tried it yet.
There is WIFI connection for free.
Kitchen is clean.

If we had to rate this place we would say: good. And we would come back if we were traveling Ireland again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Many thanks for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay in Corrib Village – as you mentioned, we are indeed the perfect choice for affordable accommodation in Galway. We provide Student Accommodation from September to May each year and affordable Summer Accommodation from June to August. Check in is from 4.00pm, however we endeavour, where possible to have rooms ready for Guests earlier than this and I am sorry that on this occasion you had a delay on check in.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Corrib Village in the future – keep an eye on our website for great deals on Summer accommodation in Galway!
Kind Regards,
Roisin Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel with appartments is interesting. Each room is attached to 3 other rooms and share a kitchen/living room. There is of course no need to use it if you don't need it. The room has a nice design, the bed is confortable, the bathroom is a bit tiny.
On the bad sides : some inhabitants are very noisy, a group of students was in the building in front of ours and it wasn't nice hearing them til late in the night. Other bad point : there was a piano removalist truck parked in our carpark in front of the building all the time ! At night we had to park a lot further to get back to our appartment. Finally the breakfast is a bit plain (continental only).
For a budget stay it is perfectly suitable, however if you can afford another place, I wouldn't recommend you this location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liam75005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Many thanks for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay in Corrib Village – as you mentioned, we are indeed the perfect choice for affordable accommodation in Galway. I am sorry that you felt noise was an issue, we operate a 24 hour reception and our staff would have been delighted to assist you with any noise complaints had it been brought to our attention. Parking is unallocated and on occasion parking is not available in certain areas of Corrib Village, there is however ample complimentary parking throughout Corrib Village.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Corrib Village in the future – keep an eye on our website for great deals on affordable accommodation in Galway!
Kind Regards,
Roisin Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here with a group of 35 people for a summer school. Was blown away with the excellent staff who went out of their way for everything we required. The place was clean and well maintained. It's only a small bit (30 minute walk through the river side university) from the centre of the city but there is a courtesy bus that ferries people to and from town which is a huge help. 24 hour reception also which is reassuring. Had been there previously a number of years ago but in the interim there has been a huge overhaul and ungraded all facilities and apartments. Ideal for travellers who don't want to spend big yet have a nice, comfortable, safe and quiet place to stay.

Room Tip: Apartments near the university side of the complex will leave you closer to town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeylonsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Many thanks for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay in Corrib Village – as you mentioned, we are the ideal base for a Summer School.
As a past customer, it is good to see that the changes we have implemented since November 2011, when there was a change in Management Company, are being reflected in the guest experience and I look forward to welcoming your group back to Corrib Village next year!
Kind Regards,
Roisin Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

For a father, travelling with his 20 yo daughter this was an excellent place to stay: great value for money! We bothe had our own rooms and shared a bathroom (shower/toilet). The personell was more than helpfull. Easy transport to the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Many thanks for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay in Corrib Village – as you mentioned, we are the ideal base for exploring both Galway City and Connemara.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Corrib Village in the future!
Kind Regards,
Roisin Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#8 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#17 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 53 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
1.2 mi away
Snoozles Hostel
Snoozles Hostel
#4 of 53 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corrib Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corrib Village

Property: Corrib Village
Address: Corrib Villa 26 University Road | Upper Newcastle, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Corrib Village 2*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corrib Village is the ideal base for exploring the West of Ireland and experiencing all that Galway has to offer. Located on the grounds of NUI Galway, at the edge of Connemara and only a FREE 10-minute shuttle bus away from the hive of activity that is Galway city centre, it is the perfect option for an activity-filled break away! Corrib Village offers basic, no-frills, affordable accommodation for both individuals and groups, who can choose to book on a room-only or B&B basis or opt for an entire, self-catering apartment. For those wishing to stay in Corrib Village on a nightly B&B basis, a light continental breakfast is included, which is available from 7:00am to 11:00am in the on-site café. Those who opt for an entire, self-catering apartment (which can accommodate up to 6 people) can enjoy the additional benefit of a living area with a fully-equipped kitchen and a TV with seating area. All bedrooms are supplied with clean linen and fresh, soft towels. Corrib Village offers a wide variety of on-site facilities such as a tennis court, soccer cages (extra charge applies), a coin-operated laundrette, a shop/deli,FREE parking, FREE Wi-Fi, a BBQ area and a FREE shuttle bus service to/from the city centre. A tour booking service is also available. For family trips, cots and highchairs are available by prior request (extra charge applies). One of the biggest attractions of Galway itself is the array of vibrant and cultural festivals that take place during the summer months, such as the Galway Arts Festival, the Galway Races, the International Oyster Festival and the Film Festival. It is the place to be during the summer! So, don't miss out on your chance to soak up the atmosphere...stay in Corrib Village and experience it all without breaking the bank! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corrib Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corrib Village Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing