We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Nice Staff, Would definately stay there again!!”
Review of Eyre Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eyre Square Hotel
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Galway
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel, Nice Staff, Would definately stay there again!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Nice hotel. Great location. Would suit younger couples. The nightclub next door was great craic altogether! This hotel would not suit older people or people that are looking for a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aherncatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    188
    165
    76
    88
See reviews for
91
240
38
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Do you like the smell of stale cigarettes, constant noise from a nightclub next door, rude staff, sticky carpets and semi-clean box rooms with paper thin walls??
Then this is the hotel for you!

If, however, you want a pleasant relaxing stay in a clean hotel with welcoming staff and the prospect of more than a hours sleep I suggest you go elsewhere.

Eyre Square is a dump and should be avoided at all costs!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galway hotels

london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2010

The rooms were ingrained with the stench of smoke
Their bar plays louds music until late
The hotel is old, the doors wouldn't lock properly
There is some sort of fat frying kitchen at the back of the hotel giving off a constant stench of onions and grease
The breakfast service was confusing, and the quality of breakfast low and fat fried like

There are several B&Bs in galway if you want to go for budget accommodation. There are some overlooking the bay which are much nicer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbtraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

I stayed here twice in the space of 2 weeks in April.
This no frills hotel is purely just a cheap place to sleep after a big night out in Galway.
Rooms were spacious and very clean, nothing special but what do you expect for about 20quid a night?!
The location is what sells this place-as the name states it is right on Eyre square-right in the middle of everything!
The walls are like cardboard and the noise of the nightclub and the street will probably keep you awake.
Literally I would only recommmend this hotel to young people hitting the town because in that case its the cheapest alternative to a hostel in the city!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toyotacarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2010

This hotel has a great location just off Eyre Square, near the bus and train terminals, and close to the pedestrian area. However, it is somewhat old and a bit smelly, and the noise level is variable. The elevator smelled awful and the room was kind of musty and smoky unless we opened the window, which then let in some announcements from the train station. If there is a band playing in the downstairs bar, you will get no sleep. Otherwise, the room was good and the price was excellent. You get what you pay for. Wireless in lobby.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank juliajane01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We’d flown into Cork, and on our drive north, passed a garish advert for a bar – some sort of cowboy-themed sign along the road promising the best party in Galway (or something like that).
“That looks like such a nightmare,” I chuckled darkly, saddened that this brand of partying, so popular in some U.S. cities, had hit Galway. Of course, our destination, The Eyre Square Hotel, was directly next to this “Coyote Ugly”-type experience.
After checking in, the terse clerk gave us poor directions to the car park, which is up the street and around the corner -- about a 10-minute walk away and €10 per night. Never mind. We planned to shake the stress off with a quick rest before heading into the city. Ah, if only.
Our room, a small, tattered box of a thing, was a smoking room. Only it didn’t smell merely of smoke. It smelled as I’d imagine the inside of an expired smoker’s lung would smell. Even my boyfriend, who is a smoker, was appalled. The bed especially reeked, with the sheets leeching the smell of stale smoke from the mattress or bed cover. I called down to the front desk, and here’s basically how that went:
Me: Hi, it seems you’ve put us in a smoking room, and we’d reserved a non-smoking room…
Disinterested clerk: You can request it, but that doesn’t mean you’ll get it.
Me: Um, is there any way we can change rooms?
Disinterested clerk: No. Not tonight. Maybe I can move you tomorrow.
Me: Okay, I….
Click.
There’s no Wi-Fi in the rooms, only the “public areas,” which is why I dragged my laptop to the lobby (a typical, clean, budget hotel affair) to look up the bar next door. When my cursor ran over the scantily-clad cowgirl on the bar’s home page, she winked. I didn’t need to know more, really.
The room itself wasn’t worth spending any time in – the smelly bed felt like sack of gelatin, the furnishings were particle-board and worn, there was no minibar and the television was about the size of a pocketbook. The bathroom was clean-ish, with the toiletries being the bare minimum (a bar of soap at the sink and liquid soap in the shower, etc) and thin towels. All this for about €100 a night -- €214 for our two nights, which isn’t expensive for that area, and that is what we were paying for: Location.
The noise from the streets was such that even with earplugs, sleep was impossible to find – even though we’re both accustomed to living in noisy cities. The patrons from the hoedown next door screamed up and down the street with the pounding music following them through the square like a persistent suitor. While the street noise wasn’t the hotel’s fault, our bathroom was another source of noise. It overlooked some sort of shaft through which the hotel’s own entertainment invaded our room. If only we’d been in the mood to scream along to the songs.
Sometime after 3 a.m., a fight broke out in the room next to ours. Again, the fight wasn’t the hotel’s fault, but as far as we could tell, no hotel staff showed up to mitigate the situation. Later that morning, shortly after 10, one of the guys from the same room wandered out in the hallway wearing only his underwear, which, how to put this, weren’t really holding up their end of the bargain in terms of keeping everything covered. A staffer passed him by and simply wished the guy a good morning and kept going rather than, say, asking him to please finish getting dressed.
We walked by the hotel restaurant, but we figured if their rooms were in such a state, their food couldn’t be much better. A harsh judgment, perhaps, but we couldn’t risk a bad mean, especially on such little sleep. Besides, breakfast service had ended at 10.
They gave us another room – a non-smoking one on the fourth floor, for our second night. It was only somewhat less noisy, the furnishings were just as shabby, the bed just as mushy and lumpy and the coffee just as undrinkable. This hotel seems better suited to those who don’t care to sleep much while in Galway.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank availablename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2010

The staff greeted us at reception with a smile and were generally very friendly. Our room was quiet spacious and spotless and the TV has a good selection of channels. We went to the bar for a drink and decided to dine there too. The chubby bar man was very attentive and chatty. The food was scrumpious and we were stuffed to the gills. We were due to venture down the town but we were enjoying the music the DJ was playing so much we decided to stay. We spent most of the night dancing and mixing with the locals. This is a great place to stay, eat and party. Galway's No. 1.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJBigAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 45 in Galway
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#32 of 45 in Galway
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 45 in Galway
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#31 of 45 in Galway
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eyre Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eyre Square Hotel

Property: Eyre Square Hotel
Address: 35 Eyre Square | On the Corner of Eyre Square, Beside the Main bus and Rail Station., Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eyre Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Eyre Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eyre Square Galway
Hotel Eyre Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing