We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not someplace you want to stay”
Review of Eyre Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eyre Square Hotel
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Two of the worst hotels I've stayed at in Europe have been in Ireland. One in Dublin and this one. To be fair this wasn't suppose to be our hotel. We had booked a room at the Skeffington Arms through Trip Advisor through Booking.com. After booking we got a phone call from the Skeffington Arms and was told they were overbooked. They booked us at the Eyre Square. The place was a dump. The room was filthy. Although the room was nice sized, it was filthy. This place needs to shut down and do an extensive remodel. We put blankets on the chairs because they were so filthy and we were afraid to sit on the chairs. The wallpaper and carpet were coming up. Furniture had to be 50 years old. The saving grace was that the staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. But how they can, with a straight face, put people in those nasty rooms is beyond me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tbrooksjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
There are newer reviews for Eyre Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 655 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Spent two nights there. comfortable, clean and tidy. staff were helpfull and friendly. if i am staying in Galway again I will be looking to the Eyre Square Hotel. so central to Galway it could not be better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duffer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is very close to the train station, Eyre Square (or John F. Kennedy Park), shopping, tourist information center and some great restaurants. Walking into the lobby is like taking a stroll back in time, which we loved. We were quite surprised to receive a key with a huge key chain complete with hotel name and room number. We left our key "anchor" at hotel reception whenever we left the hotel, and the staff would recognize us when we walked into the lobby and would have the key waiting for us. The hotel needs to invest in some updating, specifically security (key cards, deadbolts on the door), rooms and furniture - some furniture was broken, had a very small tube-style TV mounted in the corner of the room, etc. The reception staff were very nice and if the hotel wasn't full, they would have moved us to a newly renovated room. The bar looked great, but was often empty and the bar staff seemed to have multiple roles or jobs that required them to leave the bar area. We went to the hotel next door for an evening drink. We would consider staying here again, but would ask for a newly renovated room.

Room Tip: Newly renovated rooms; if non-smoker, a non-smoking room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maziray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends in september. The hotel is right in the heart of the city, within minutes of all the best pubs, clubs & restaurants. the rate we paid was good value. the hotel however needs to spend some money on updating their rooms, they were quite shabby. all and all we had a decent stay, the hotel staff were very accommodating & helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamienMcDaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here last month and enjoyed this hotel right in the heart of Galway City. We found the staff to be friendly and professional. the room was very basic but clean. This hotel is perfect for people on a tight enough budget who want a central location. If you are looking for luxury id suggest to look else where. the hotel bar & restaurant were pretty decent too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martink2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The staff of the hotel were very nice and helpful. The bar was nice and the pint of Guinness is good. The breakfast was lovely and the staff were very helpful. But I have to give the hotel a bad review because the room was very poor. The carpet was filthy with stains. And the wall paper was ripped and dirty. The bathroom was clean but the paint was peeling off the walls and the tiles were cracked. This is not a staff problem. It is obvious that the management are not spending money on maintaining the hotel. This is an awfull pity for the hotel is in a great location...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrysligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here on Sept 11th 2013, the location is perfect. Steps away from the train station and close to all shops.

The staff are amazingly friendly and couldn't help us enough and the food is wonderful.

However, the bedroom was very dated, with old fashioned furniture and I felt quite claustrophobic in the room that we were given and I didn't really feel it was worth the €79 which we paid to stay here.

However, overall, the stay was enjoyable, good food and good staff!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#18 of 46 in Galway
902 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 46 in Galway
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#35 of 46 in Galway
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#32 of 46 in Galway
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eyre Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eyre Square Hotel

Address: 35 Eyre Square | On the Corner of Eyre Square, Beside the Main bus and Rail Station., Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: $81 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eyre Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eyre Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eyre Square Galway
Hotel Eyre Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing