We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good find !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adare Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adare Guesthouse
Ranked #43 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good find !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I had booked elsewhere in Galway and after one night there( too late to find another place) we checked out next morning without having breakfast it was so awful. We stopped at a cafe for breakfast where we got recommended to Adare Guest House . They had available accommodation for us , how lucky we were to find this lovely place at such short notice. Close to the city . Good facilities, a very warm welcome and breakfast to die for. !! Will definitely recommend and hope to stay there again if ever in Galway. .

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank birdie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    50
    12
    14
    7
See reviews for
35
64
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I've spent three or four nights at the Adare every year for many years now. It really is a great B&B. It has a good situation, about a 10 minute walk to the centre of town, or a 15 minute walk to the railway station or to get buses. There is free parking in front of the hotel. One always gets a great welcome at the Adare and the people who run it are very helpful. For instance, they served breakfast 20 minutes early on Sunday especially for me so that I could get my breakfast before going for the bus to Dublin airport. The breakfasts are just amazing - the best I've had in any hotel or B&B I've stayed in. There is a great selection of cereals, bowls of fresh fruit salad, and bowls of other fruits like berries, grapefruit, prunes etc. Lots of juices - apple, orange, pink grapefruit etc. Coffee is filter coffee from a jug or there is a machine to make espresso, cappuccino, etc. Pots of tea for those who like that drink. They have all the usual cooked breakfasts. The full Irish or the smoked salmon are both great. Rooms are fine but not quite up to the exceptional standard of the breakfasts. The two bottles of water and two kit-kat bars in the room on arrival was a nice touch. The bed was comfortable, and the shower worked well. However, the TV was only tuned to 3 channels and the reading lights over the bed didn't work. The coffee machine is switched on in the breakfast room all day and part of the room is a lounge with comfortable chairs to relax in and drink coffee at any time (you could also make tea.) There are chocolate biscuits in a tin, a large screen TV to watch, or some books to read. If you are late back in the evening (after say 11 o'clock) the room is closed. I paid €60 a night for a single room B&B.

Room Tip: Newer rooms are in an extension to the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmund R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stay in the guesthouse with two little babies. The room wasn't very large but was very confortable and is located in a very kind position: in front of children playground area, very close to the center. Parking place in front of the house is very usefull.
Excellent breakfast expecially muffin with ham, cheese and egg.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms located at the first or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fulviodemarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Loved our stay here. It might be a little hard to find but with a GPS it was no problem for us. Easy, easy walk into town - a matter of minutes. Nice room, quiet, clean. Excellent breakfast. A nice touch was self-service coffee, tea, and cookies available all day in the dining room. Clean and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishyflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Adare Guesthouse was the unexpected choice we made when ending up in Galway with no reservations for the night. It was a bit hard to find, but I think that's a good thing in the city; it was tucked away and thus quieter. The room was clean and bright in decor; the bed must have been comfortable because I slept very soundly. The guesthouse smelled wonderfully because of the candle the hostess burned, and I felt very welcomed by the hostess, who is very cheerful and could be heard singing tunes in the kitchen. Even better, we were within walking distance to the city centre of Galway, no more than 5 minutes I bet, so it was very convenient to explore downtown. The breakfast was amazing, both in selection and quantity, as you are first allowed to help yourself to fresh fruit, cereal & milk, juice, and coffee while the hostess then personally takes your order from a menu consisting of everything from the traditional Irish breakfast to pancakes and egg dishes. I had the porrdige with Bailey's Irish Cream on top, and my boyfriend had the French toast--both of which were high quality! If you want to treat yourself to a nice B&B in Galway, I recommend Adare.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Even when I research about a place to say here, go though the photos and comments, there´s always an anxiety until I arrive there and see the space to be sure it was a good choice. This time specially, I was even surprised on how great this place is. Confortable and cozy rooms, good shower pression and temperature, very nice owners and a super breakfast. It was always a pleasure to have it. It has good location, you can go walking anywhere from there. If you are thinking about going to Galway, I would say this is a perfect place for staying!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssemerdjian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I must say this most attractive family owned bed and breakfast made a weary solo traveler very happy...had I not used a travel center for a referral I would have not experienced the warm Irish hospitality by the owners.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and the breakfast in the AM is plentiful and graciously prepared.

I hope to revisit this friendly and well managed establishment on my next trip to Ireland.

I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyInSeattle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Griffin Lodge
Griffin Lodge
#36 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#25 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 51 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adare Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adare Guesthouse

Property: Adare Guesthouse
Address: Adare Guest House 9 Father Griffin Place, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Adare Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adare Guesthouse Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing