We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pushky39” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adare Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adare Guesthouse
Ranked #39 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
RI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pushky39”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great location, bedroom very clean and comfortable......bathroom had some tile/shower mold. Breakfast was excellent, service prompt and cheerful. Proximity to the downtown was excellent. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    50
    12
    14
    7
See reviews for
35
64
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great location, very clean. The pictures really don't do it justice. Four of us stayed 3 nights in two rooms. The beds were comfortable and the linens were top quality. The hostess and her crew are so friendly and helpful. I'm so glad were able to get rooms. She was fully booked when we stayed. Breakfast was very good. The garden was bursting with color. Ozzie, the dog was addition.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigblue57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our first B&B in Ireland was the Adare Guest House. They were able to accommodate our family group of six in three rooms easily. The location was very convenient for walking downtown. There was Wi-Fi so we could stay connected to family back home in the USA. The home was very lovely and inviting for visitors; the breakfast choice and quality was outstanding; the garden area was beautiful; and the family was not only charming but completely helpful in providing information that helped navigate us around the city. Pat and his wife were just so friendly and welcoming. It was like being adopted as part of the family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent a night at this B&B on 8/10/12 and it was wonderful for us. Adare has parking, which was very convenient for our rental car, and is about a 5 minute walk from the city center. It was perfect and charming. The garden patio is gorgeous, the host was cheery and wonderful, and the room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast selections are vast and we enjoyed the selections of tea in the room. Very good stay all around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmw2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I spent 2 nights in June, this year, at the Adare Guesthouse and my stay was perfect! Excellent location just a short walk from the city centre (no more than 4 minutes) where you could find nice restaurants, bars, shops and everything you could need during your stay. The famous village of Claddagh is just 2 minutes away from the house and if you want to enjoy the beautiful Galway Bay, Salthill Promenade is just a 10/15 min walk.
The room was very nice, clean and a good size for one person with a double bed. The bathroom was very spacious and superclean with fresh towels every day.
The breakfast here is amazing! You can choose from their menu what you want and you have a very wide range of choices. I went for the full irish breakfast both mornings and it was delicious! All the products that they use come from their own garden which a bonus!
The lady that owns the guesthouse is very friendly and she made me feel welcome and at home. She also has a dog that's very cute!
I would recommend to stay at the Adare Guesthouse if you're in Galway, it was a great choice for me and I'm sure it will be for everyone who is going to stay there next.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabetta1583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here on a one night trip through the area and Adare Guesthouse was a great place to stay. The parking in the lot is tight, but we got there very early and had no problem with finding a spot and early check in (around noon). It is a very short walk to the bottom end of the Quay- the heart of entertainment, shopping and dining in Galway. The neighborhood seems well kept and safe. The room size was adequate, the beds and bedding were older, but everything was very clean and in good working condition. We had a good sleep with no bothers of noise or distractions. There was no problem getting in and out of the building at our leisure and stumbling in late at night! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our breakfast was a very generous spread of beverages and lighter fare such as cereal and granola. On top of that you order a delicious cooked to order hot entree. I went with the traditional Irish breakfast and it was great. It was a hearty breakfast and you feel like you are staying with family in such comfortable surroundings. If you are looking for a solid place and don't need luxury, close to the action, Adare would be a great choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaTraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdareGH, Owner at Adare Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a very nice review about your stay in our guest house.

If you get the chance to visit Galway in the near future we would love to host your visit once more.

Best wishes.

Padraic & Grainne Conroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Adare Guesthouse was our first ever stay at a B&B, and we couldn't have asked for a nicer experience. The guesthouse is in a great location, a few minutes walk from the city center, and situated right next to a park. Parking is included, which is a bonus, especially since we were told that parking in Galway was a pain. Being vegetarians in a not-so-veg-friendly country wasn't too hard at Adare, mainly because they had so many breakfast options (they were also ok with us putting our soy milk in the fridge), and it definitely was nice having fresh fruit out and available at any time of the day.

If we happen to make it to Ireland (and Galway!) again, Adare will definitely be at the top of our list of places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdareGH, Owner at Adare Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We appreciate the time you took to write a very nice review about your stay in our guest house.

Kind regards,

Padraic & Grainne Conroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Griffin Lodge
Griffin Lodge
#36 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#24 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 51 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sli Na Mara
Sli Na Mara
#20 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adare Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adare Guesthouse

Property: Adare Guesthouse
Address: Adare Guest House 9 Father Griffin Place, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Adare Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adare Guesthouse Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing