We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Veyr nice stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Adare Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adare Guesthouse
Ranked #43 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Veyr nice stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Adare Guesthouse was our first ever stay at a B&B, and we couldn't have asked for a nicer experience. The guesthouse is in a great location, a few minutes walk from the city center, and situated right next to a park. Parking is included, which is a bonus, especially since we were told that parking in Galway was a pain. Being vegetarians in a not-so-veg-friendly country wasn't too hard at Adare, mainly because they had so many breakfast options (they were also ok with us putting our soy milk in the fridge), and it definitely was nice having fresh fruit out and available at any time of the day.

If we happen to make it to Ireland (and Galway!) again, Adare will definitely be at the top of our list of places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdareGH, Owner at Adare Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We appreciate the time you took to write a very nice review about your stay in our guest house.

Kind regards,

Padraic & Grainne Conroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    50
    12
    14
    7
See reviews for
35
64
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very close to the centre of Galway and the owners were very helpful from the time we arrived to the time we left. Breakfast is very nice. Room was smallish for a family of two adults and two children but everything else made up for ths size. Recommended stay for Galway city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdareGH, Owner at Adare Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for writing a very nice review about your stay in our guest hosue.

Best wishes.

Padraic & grainne Conroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our stay here was perfect and romantic! The breakfast was very big and was tasty. The bed was large and comfortable. The owners were very friendly and always made us laugh and smile. The location was just 5 minutes from all of the restaurants and pubs. Parking was included on site which was a big plus. I wish my wife and I could have spent more time here at this location. We would stay here again without any hesitations. Book early! Rooms may be hard to come by for a good reason, this place is amazing!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvkicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdareGH, Owner at Adare Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We apprecite that you took so much of your time to send us a lovely review on your stay in our Guest House.

If you ever stay in Galway again we would love to host your visit.

Best wishes.

Padraic & Grainne Conroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We spent two nights at the Adare Guesthouse in Galway, and found that it was well positioned for an easy walk into town. The rooms were some of the biggest that we experienced in Ireland, and the King-sized bed was great. Because its a bigger guest house than most, there was quite a lot of noise with people coming and going at all hours, but nothing a pair of ear plugs won't sort out. The breakfasts were very good and the owners were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukeandleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornamona, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

what a great welcome! granuaile & padraic make this great b&b a 'home away from home'.
super clean room. cosy living room. and the breakfast is just great. location could not be better - the city center is not 5 min. away on foot. (it was raining in galway on my first day...).
and from the free wi-fi to the kitkat bar waiting in my room the guesthouse is special.
but what convinced me most of the place was the atmosphere that this b&b had. from the lovely tour of the garden, the great wallpainting in the dining room of the connemara landscape to the wonderful singing that come often from the kitchen. and it wasn't the radio!
highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culchie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

On arrival to Galway after a pleasant drive from Dublin (be sure to stop at Clonmacnoise for some serious ruins), we had absolutely no idea as to where to stay. The very hepful Tourist Information Office in Galway, booked us into Adare. Really well located off the main street over the bridge, easy to find, just take the first turn right after crossing the river. Our room had views over the park. So close to the centre of town, yet very quiet.

Plenty of space in our room, with a clean and tidy ensuite, with what had to be the very smallest quarter circle shower ever. Not a problem for petite me, but my husband is on the larger side.... breath in dear ;)

Lovely breakfast, in a charming, sunny dining room, ad a very smiling, and friendly hostess, who loves to singalong with the morning radio, making a happy start to the day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotteleclerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

During a recent Ireland trip we had the pleasure of staying in the Adare Guesthouse. Room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was great. Owners are extremely friendly and personable. Great value considering the close proximity to Galway city. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.0 mi away
Griffin Lodge
Griffin Lodge
#36 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#26 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 53 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
The House Hotel
The House Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adare Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adare Guesthouse

Property: Adare Guesthouse
Address: Adare Guest House 9 Father Griffin Place, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Adare Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adare Guesthouse Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing