We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveler rating
95
231
165
81
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
231
165
81
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseyre squaregreat locationbit datedtrain stationcentral locationhotel barcontinental breakfastspent nightswould stay againaran islandsfew minutes walkbreakfast was excellentgalway citypubsmohercliffssalthill
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 648 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived to find an inattentive receptionist. On the way to our room we noticed broken wall lights in the corridors, cracked corridor windows, and bare wires hanging from the ceiling.

Once in the room the quality did not improve. There were, broken wall sockets, damp on the wall, and a strong draft coming through the window.

I wouldn't pay to stay here.

Thankfully the staff did allow us to leave without loss of deposit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here one night --

Positives -
Location is great, just off eyre square
Breakfast was quick and hot

Negatives -
Car Park was a bit of a walk away if you had a lot of luggage
Receptionist was not the friendliest. Did her job but not very pleasant
No internet on the 4th floor
Bar very quiet, nobody at all there the night i stayed
Room was very very dated. Think they may have renovated the 4th floor recently but definetely missed my room.
Wallpaper peeling off walls, generally in very poor condition
Bin in bathroom wasnt emptied after last guest.

I stay in Galway once a month on business and would I come back here. More than likely not.

Room Tip: No internet on 4th floor so avoid.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnybravo1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The price was ok, but we found cheaper in Ireland with much better accommodations. It looks like some updates have been done, but were not well taken care of. The mattresses are in dire need of replacement, so wasn't a comfortable sleep. Both the rooms our group had backed onto a bus depot, so opening the windows for air meant you only got fumes. Also there was a periodic loud buzzing sounds coming from somewhere.. it was best to try to get to sleep in between the sounds. The front desk staff on the evening of our check in really lacked personality and was very irritated by us each combining our funds to split the cost of the room, the force she used on the calculator and slamming drawers was really quite uncalled for. Someone needs to let her know she works in customer service and it shouldn't be that much of a bother to breakdown a bill for guests, it took her all of 2 minutes and there wasn't a sole in the lobby waiting on her, so not sure why it was an issue. The breakfast area was recently renovated and the breakfast was good. Staff there was friendlier!

Room Tip: Ask for maybe a front facing room away from the bus depot!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivD76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed one night here. The room was roomy and clean, the breakfast excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful and the bar is comfortable. It's just off Eyre Square so you can't get more central. The icing was the fact that the price was only half what other similar hotels are charging in Galway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

When we arrived the elevator was being repaired. You would think they would put you on a lower floor at that time but no, we had to trudge up four flights of stairs. Their web site says WiFi in available but guess what, only available on the first 2 floors and oh yes we are on the 4th floor. They could move us to the second floor but oh yes there is no elevator. The wall paper is hanging off the walls, the TV control doesn't work. No A/C. I'm betting the people that gave this hotel a 5 star rating are the owners. Booked a room with breakfast the the breakfast was extra. It is listed as a B&B but without the breakfast. The front desk wasn't overly concerned with our complaints. I don't go to a hotel to make friends with the staff but basic lack of concern and 'tough' attitude is unacceptable. The girl on the desk said that maybe when I booked the hotel (months ago) it wa a different offer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews