We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (649)
Filter reviews
649 results
Traveler rating
95
231
166
81
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
231
166
81
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseyre squaregreat locationbit datedtrain stationcentral locationhotel barcontinental breakfastspent nightswould stay againaran islandsfew minutes walkbreakfast was excellentgalway citypubsmohercliffssalthill
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 649 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The price was ok, but we found cheaper in Ireland with much better accommodations. It looks like some updates have been done, but were not well taken care of. The mattresses are in dire need of replacement, so wasn't a comfortable sleep. Both the rooms our group had backed onto a bus depot, so opening the windows for air meant you only got fumes. Also there was a periodic loud buzzing sounds coming from somewhere.. it was best to try to get to sleep in between the sounds. The front desk staff on the evening of our check in really lacked personality and was very irritated by us each combining our funds to split the cost of the room, the force she used on the calculator and slamming drawers was really quite uncalled for. Someone needs to let her know she works in customer service and it shouldn't be that much of a bother to breakdown a bill for guests, it took her all of 2 minutes and there wasn't a sole in the lobby waiting on her, so not sure why it was an issue. The breakfast area was recently renovated and the breakfast was good. Staff there was friendlier!

Room Tip: Ask for maybe a front facing room away from the bus depot!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivD76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed one night here. The room was roomy and clean, the breakfast excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful and the bar is comfortable. It's just off Eyre Square so you can't get more central. The icing was the fact that the price was only half what other similar hotels are charging in Galway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

When we arrived the elevator was being repaired. You would think they would put you on a lower floor at that time but no, we had to trudge up four flights of stairs. Their web site says WiFi in available but guess what, only available on the first 2 floors and oh yes we are on the 4th floor. They could move us to the second floor but oh yes there is no elevator. The wall paper is hanging off the walls, the TV control doesn't work. No A/C. I'm betting the people that gave this hotel a 5 star rating are the owners. Booked a room with breakfast the the breakfast was extra. It is listed as a B&B but without the breakfast. The front desk wasn't overly concerned with our complaints. I don't go to a hotel to make friends with the staff but basic lack of concern and 'tough' attitude is unacceptable. The girl on the desk said that maybe when I booked the hotel (months ago) it wa a different offer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Definitely NOT a 3 star hotel!... Old run-down furniture, windows have not been cleaned in I don't know how long... paint chipping off the walls, traces of mold on the bathroom ceiling, smell of cigarette everywhere on the floor, raggedy curtains, very noisy, could only get 1 key and they wanted us to leave the key when we went out, could not make long distance call without pre-paying first... There are a number of nice hotels right downtown- try to find another one if you can and avoid this one if you can!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 12345Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Absolutely, without a doubt, the worst hotel experience I have ever had. The reception staff is terrible. They refused to have anyone help us with our luggage. Probably because they don't employ anyone to help you. The room was large but very depressing. I can see why they call it a Victorian hotel, because the room was decorated back then and the raggedy furniture was purchased way back then. Have pictures of raggedy furniture. The bathroom was nice but no outlet. The rooms are hot and stuffy with no air conditioning or even a fan. TV has about 4 channels even though they advertise satellite tv channels??? The Galway drinking young hoot and holler all night into the early hours outside the hotel. The busses and traffic going around the bend in front of the hotel squeal tires and are very noisy all day and night. We couldn't even get a bucket of ice. Restaurant is only open for breakfast. Hotel has much potential but needs some money sunk into it to make it anything over a "0" rating. I hated it and I have been traveling for many years. It is terrible. A no no.

Room Tip: I would say there are none.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews