We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL AND GREAT VALUE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOTEL AND GREAT VALUE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

A group of us spent the weekend in the Victoria. It was an excellent choice. Great location. Great food. Had dinner on the night we arrived. Excellent. Staff were so obliging. Rooms lovely and beds very comfortable. It is so central. We had a great weekend. Will definitely be back. Higly recommend it.

Teresa, Caroline, Margaret, Maureen, Peg and Fran.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the 4th floor. But I stayed there a fews years ago and stayed on 2nd floor. No dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186621Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    194
    130
    68
    56
See reviews for
62
217
36
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very nice hotel and a pretty good location. We came in from Dublin by train and the station is only a couple of blocks away. Also not a long walk to get to the Spanish Quarter. Room was good size. My only problem was with the TV. Old and couldn’t get all channels. Nice pub too. Reception was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sushi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

There is no denying that this is a very well located hotel, were it not; it would get a "POOR" rating from my wife and me. On arrival I was disappointed to discover there was no parking at the hotel, it didn't help that the reception staff seemed to care little for my discomfort, indeed the reception staff left a lot to be desired, but enough about that. The room was small and basic but that didn't matter to us, however the fact that it was cold most certainly did. The highlight of our stay was definitely the breakfast. Served by a most pleasant young lady the food was plentiful and well cooked. Would I go back? The location makes up for some inadequacies, but surely in this day and age a bedroom should not be cold, and a smiling receptionist can't be too much to ask for. Probably won't be back..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ionapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in October. While the room was fine, clean and comfortable, the t.v. was old with a limited channel choice. I had the cooked breakfast each morning and the scrambled eggs were particularly good, but otherwise I would rate this hotel as average. The location hotel is its chief attraction, it is very central, just off Eyre Square, but the overall feel is a bit impersonal with the bar being particularly dull.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We had stayed at this hotel previously do knew what to expect. This time around we got a great rate so were pleased to stay again. Hotel location is second to none, it's right on eyre square so shopping , dining out etc is not a problem. Parking is at a near by multi story and is good value. Rooms are basic and clean. Breakfast was ok - much smaller portions for the cooked breakfast than the last time we stayed but the buffet is decent. We would definitely stay again next time we are in galway

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch NZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I used this Hotel for a week as I explored Galway. It is very central and I enjoyed a good room.
The central location meant visiting the Tourist attractions I had planned was made easy. It was a 5 minute walk from the Bus station where the Dublin to Galway bus dropped me off.

Location/Getting There: Victoria Place, off Eyre Square. From the Bus station walk out the Bus Station and there is a Tourist information office opposite you. Walk towards it and you are on Forster Street. Walk down Forster Street to it's end where it intersects with Victoria Place. Turn left and the Hotel is a minute's walk. Total walking time was 5 to 6 minutes.

There are plenty of shops nearby and Tourist information offices. The Aran Island Shuttle Bus stop is almost directly outside the Hotel, and Ferry tickets are sold from the Ferry Office just by the Hotel. There is a supermarket inside the nearby underground shopping centre. There are plenty of souvenir shops within walking distance.

The room was very good with good facilities and was well looked after. I used the Hotel as a base from which to explore and sightsee around Galway City. It's location allowed me to walk to many of the tourist attractions. The Tourist information office by the bus station has a lot of good information, with helpful staff.
Hotel staff were polite and helpful. My room's cost was not cheap, but it was of a high standard.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Azza80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had no problems at all here - booked a single and got a twin. Room lovely and toasty, very clean and lots of room. Yes, the telly wasn't a flat screen, but that had no impact at all on my visit.

Breakfast ok - cooked breakfast for those that wanted it, Marmite and or cheese would have been good for the toast (for the non meat eaters) but fresh fruit juice and a good selection of cereals, yoghurts etc.

Staff were all very pleasant and the location really is excellent. 2 mins from the train/bus station and you are right in the centre of town. I was on the 4th floor and had no issues at all with any noise.

I have to mention that I saw The Undertones play on the Saturday night, and they were absolutely fantastic!! Part of the soundtrack of my youth. Go see them!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#32 of 47 in Galway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#26 of 47 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#28 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Victoria Hotel Victoria Place | off Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing