We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and good location”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very nice hotel and a pretty good location. We came in from Dublin by train and the station is only a couple of blocks away. Also not a long walk to get to the Spanish Quarter. Room was good size. My only problem was with the TV. Old and couldn’t get all channels. Nice pub too. Reception was very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sushi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 596 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

There is no denying that this is a very well located hotel, were it not; it would get a "POOR" rating from my wife and me. On arrival I was disappointed to discover there was no parking at the hotel, it didn't help that the reception staff seemed to care little for my discomfort, indeed the reception staff left a lot to be desired, but enough about that. The room was small and basic but that didn't matter to us, however the fact that it was cold most certainly did. The highlight of our stay was definitely the breakfast. Served by a most pleasant young lady the food was plentiful and well cooked. Would I go back? The location makes up for some inadequacies, but surely in this day and age a bedroom should not be cold, and a smiling receptionist can't be too much to ask for. Probably won't be back..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ionapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in October. While the room was fine, clean and comfortable, the t.v. was old with a limited channel choice. I had the cooked breakfast each morning and the scrambled eggs were particularly good, but otherwise I would rate this hotel as average. The location hotel is its chief attraction, it is very central, just off Eyre Square, but the overall feel is a bit impersonal with the bar being particularly dull.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We had stayed at this hotel previously do knew what to expect. This time around we got a great rate so were pleased to stay again. Hotel location is second to none, it's right on eyre square so shopping , dining out etc is not a problem. Parking is at a near by multi story and is good value. Rooms are basic and clean. Breakfast was ok - much smaller portions for the cooked breakfast than the last time we stayed but the buffet is decent. We would definitely stay again next time we are in galway

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I used this Hotel for a week as I explored Galway. It is very central and I enjoyed a good room.
The central location meant visiting the Tourist attractions I had planned was made easy. It was a 5 minute walk from the Bus station where the Dublin to Galway bus dropped me off.

Location/Getting There: Victoria Place, off Eyre Square. From the Bus station walk out the Bus Station and there is a Tourist information office opposite you. Walk towards it and you are on Forster Street. Walk down Forster Street to it's end where it intersects with Victoria Place. Turn left and the Hotel is a minute's walk. Total walking time was 5 to 6 minutes.

There are plenty of shops nearby and Tourist information offices. The Aran Island Shuttle Bus stop is almost directly outside the Hotel, and Ferry tickets are sold from the Ferry Office just by the Hotel. There is a supermarket inside the nearby underground shopping centre. There are plenty of souvenir shops within walking distance.

The room was very good with good facilities and was well looked after. I used the Hotel as a base from which to explore and sightsee around Galway City. It's location allowed me to walk to many of the tourist attractions. The Tourist information office by the bus station has a lot of good information, with helpful staff.
Hotel staff were polite and helpful. My room's cost was not cheap, but it was of a high standard.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Azza80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had no problems at all here - booked a single and got a twin. Room lovely and toasty, very clean and lots of room. Yes, the telly wasn't a flat screen, but that had no impact at all on my visit.

Breakfast ok - cooked breakfast for those that wanted it, Marmite and or cheese would have been good for the toast (for the non meat eaters) but fresh fruit juice and a good selection of cereals, yoghurts etc.

Staff were all very pleasant and the location really is excellent. 2 mins from the train/bus station and you are right in the centre of town. I was on the 4th floor and had no issues at all with any noise.

I have to mention that I saw The Undertones play on the Saturday night, and they were absolutely fantastic!! Part of the soundtrack of my youth. Go see them!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I found the lobby and bar area of the Victoria to be charming and it is located right off the square, so the location is ideal. No parking on-site, but a good deal with a near-by lot. The room was a little stale and smelled faintly of smoke (and had an ash tray in it- we're non smokers) so that was a little of a turn off. The room needed some updates but the bathroom was decent and had a nice tub. However, there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom or room, so if you took a hot shower there was a ton of humidity. Our room looked into the fire stairwell.....womp. And there was some sort of party Saturday night and man was it LOUD! Granted, its a city (I live in a city so I am used to noise) but this sounded like the hotel was hosting a party right on top of our room. However, Sunday night was much quieter and a good night's sleep was had.
I paid a reasonable rate for this hotel, so I am not terribly upset, although there could have been some upgrades over the years. However, the location is nice and staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Dont accept room 108- terrible view (see pic)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheryllmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Forster Court Hotel
Forster Court Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 46 in Galway
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#29 of 46 in Galway
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#16 of 46 in Galway
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: Victoria Hotel Victoria Place | off Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: $68 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing