We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, friendly staff, great common room area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Ranked #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, friendly staff, great common room area”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Definitely closer resembles a hotel rather than a hostel but you still get the great atmosphere you'd expect in an Irish hostel. Literally a 2-3 minute walk from the main streets of Galway and the waterfront, right next to Eyre Square and close to lots of pubs. The kitchen was superb, cooked my dinner there every night with no dramas. Rooms were nice and clean, bathrooms very good too. You can also book trips to the Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands from here. The common room area had really comfy couches and computers to use

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank georgy_watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    137
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
37
64
132
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

A fabulous informative staff who were helpful finding hostels in other areas as well as making reservations for us and helping plan our excursions. Comfortable beds and full breakfast as well as a great living room fully equipped with computers and printers for the seat of your pants traveler. General cleanliness could have been a tad better but it's a busy place and the good far outweighed any drawbacks! Highly recommend!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights as part of a Shamrock tour. Loads of stairs in this place, however there are lifts if you don't want to haul your suitcase up them. Stayed in a 6 bed dorm, bit smaller than some hostels I've stayed in but then saying that there was a bit of space we could have all put our bags but didn't really bother. The sink is outside the bathroom so if someone is showering you can still freshen up without having to wait for them to finish.

There is a large common room in the reception area with some computers and a pool table which proved to be popular. Lots of seating and vending machines. The staff are happy for people to drink in the common room which is good as some hostels aren't really a fan. TV room on my floor as well, didn't use it but looked pretty decent.

In terms of location, this hostel is pretty much next to the nightlife...loads of pubs and places to eat, not difficult to go out and stumble back. Free breakfast consisted of a few cereals, toast, juices, free tea/coffee.

I'd definitely recommend this hostel as the place to stay in Galway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2014

After a revival of the great train robberies of the old west on the part of irish rail, a group of illustrious gentlemen set afoot on Connacht soil. Little did they know they would be greeted by an avante garde take on the classic hostel. Apple iMacs adorned the walls, pool was available to the skilled and unskilled players and a complimentary breakfast awaited the early risers. A relaxing, luxurious atmosphere was fervent throughout the common area with conversation flowing. A novel key system is in place to allow those who return to their quilted chambers in the wee hours of the morning. In summation, one should not only consider but relish in the opportunity at staying in this fine establishment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legitreviewiswear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hostel was an absolute pleasure. It was clean quiet and friendly and had everything you'd want in a hostel. The beds were very comfortable and clean the bathroom and shower fantastic and the communal area with its guitars, free wifi, large couches or the quiet TV room all made the stay exceptional. I can't say enough good things about this place made all the better by the friendly and professional staff. A joy!!

Room Tip: I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm on the 2nd floor and it was clean quiet and comfortable with a clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTravlla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

A friend and I stayed at Kinlay for three nights and four days. The accommodations were kept clean and well maintained. For the price you pay, it is extremely good value. The common areas were great and had a wonderful atmosphere. The location of the hostel is close to everything, you can walk pretty much anywhere in Galway within 20 minutes tops.

You can book day trips at the reception downstairs, Mark was great and extremely helpful. We booked a trip to the Cliffs of Moher and another trip to the Aran Islands based off of his suggestions and we could not have been happier.

The rest of the staff was also very friendly, informative, and accommodating. They helped us figure out where to eat, what to do at night, and gave us general information about the city. We specifically dealt with Iarla, Sarah, Evan and Taisce - who were all very knowledgable and willing to help.

Overall, if you are staying in Galway, this is the place to be. Thanks to all for a great trip!

Room Tip: We went for the cheapest accommodations available which were a 6 bedroom mixed dorm. Obviously if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelmurden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is easily the best hostel I've stayed in. The rooms were comfortable and well kept and the common area had a great atmosphere and plenty of ways to keep entertainied. The staff were also quite welcoming and helpful. Arguably the best feature is the location, however, as Kinlay is situated just off of Eyre Square, which makes it a perfect starting point to enjoy what the city has to offer. I would absolutely recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 784JHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 58 in Galway
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay Hostel Galway

Property: Kinlay Hostel Galway
Address: Merchants Road | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinlay Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Eyre Square in the heart of Galway City, the multi award-winning Kinlay Hostel has now also been listed as 'Top Choice' by the Lonely Planet Guide 2017. With a mix of cosy private rooms and bright, spacious dormitories, we can cater for large groups as well as solo backpackers and all rates include complimentary continental breakfast as well as free high-speed WiFi, free computer usage, free luggage storage, free printing and free city maps. Guest facilities include a comfortable chill-out lounge with pool table & TV, a fully-equipped kitchen open all day for your use and a spacious dining room. At Kinlay Hostel, your happiness is our main priority and our dedicated reception team are on hand 24 hours a day with helpful hints and expert insider knowledge to ensure that you make the most of your time in Galway. Not only are the city’s best bars, shops and restaurants right on our doorstep but with daily tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and the Aran Islands leaving from outside our front door every morning, Kinlay Hostel is the ideal base from which to discover the magical charm of Galway City and the west coast of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Kinlay Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing