We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-polished gem in the heart of Galway City.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Ranked #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A well-polished gem in the heart of Galway City.”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The Kinlay has won major awards for being a top hostel in Europe, and it is well-deserved. Centrally located on Eyre Square, clean-as-a-whistle and staffed by people who are friendly, knowledgeable and upbeat, it is a top notch hostel. I just returned from my third stay at Kinlay, and its brand new, full-service coffee bar on the first level was an unexpected treat. I had 24 students with me, and they loved the spacious common room, fully-equipped kitchen, en-suite rooms, and opportunities to interact with people from every corner of the world.

However, the magic ingredient of Kinlay is Frank O'Connell, it's manager. He totally understands customer service and is continually working to improve the Kinlay's space, accommodations and services. The Kinlay is a shiny jewel in the center of Galway City, gateway to the gorgeous west of Ireland and well-worth a day, a week or even a longer stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank irishlass951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    138
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
37
64
132
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I only spent 1 night here and wished I could have stayed longer. The hostel is in a great location, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms and bathrooms are very clean and warm, the free breakfast is great - they even had soya milk for vegans like me! Free computers and internet also a great facility. I've stayed in Snoozles and Sleepzone in Galway which are both lovely hostels but Kinlay House hostel is for me the best of the bunch and I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welliwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aracaju
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I spent two days at the hostel in a 6 bed room... I didn't have any problem. It was always clean, has a cage to put your bags in, and people were kind and polite. The hostel team was always welcoming and helpful. I had left my ID at the reception and took care of it and gave me back. The hostel has maps and hints of the city. Would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nayra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

great staff. really clean, great services that are included in the price, really good relaxed atmosphere will defiantly stay again.
slept very well.
good breakfast provided. great location right in city centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 656great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with a group of mates for a stag in 2013...... The rooms were spotless, the reception staff were top notch and with a location next to eyre square we couldn't go wrong. All in all kinlay house does exactly what it says on the tin and I would recommend as a top class budget accomodation in Galway. Thanks guys

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Grimeyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was the best hostel I ever stayed in - ever. Location is great, facilities too but especially the staff is relaxed, cool, friendly and unbelievably helpful. All in all this has made my trip to Galway very special and positive. I would have loved to stay longer!!!

Room Tip: Our four bed dorm had these lovely white wooden bunk beds!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is the best hostel I ever stayed in. I wasn't expecting that much for the price I was paying (a 8 bed mixed dorm). All the staff was very helpful and kind, the facilities are big, comfy and clean. The wifi is good, even in the bedrooms. The location is just near everything, and the main tours pick you up at the gates of the hostel. The breakfast was in a hostel level, but with more choices of food (even soy milk) and it was already included at the price. My ONLY complain, it's a minor one, that the keys of the rooms were completely white and I kept losing it on the bed linens.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarissaBlanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 58 in Galway
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay Hostel Galway

Property: Kinlay Hostel Galway
Address: Merchants Road | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinlay Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Eyre Square in the heart of Galway City, the multi award-winning Kinlay Hostel has now also been listed as 'Top Choice' by the Lonely Planet Guide 2017. With a mix of cosy private rooms and bright, spacious dormitories, we can cater for large groups as well as solo backpackers and all rates include complimentary continental breakfast as well as free high-speed WiFi, free computer usage, free luggage storage, free printing and free city maps. Guest facilities include a comfortable chill-out lounge with pool table & TV, a fully-equipped kitchen open all day for your use and a spacious dining room. At Kinlay Hostel, your happiness is our main priority and our dedicated reception team are on hand 24 hours a day with helpful hints and expert insider knowledge to ensure that you make the most of your time in Galway. Not only are the city’s best bars, shops and restaurants right on our doorstep but with daily tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and the Aran Islands leaving from outside our front door every morning, Kinlay Hostel is the ideal base from which to discover the magical charm of Galway City and the west coast of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kinlay Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing