We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Nicest Hotels I've Stayed In”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the Nicest Hotels I've Stayed In”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night with some friends and was pleasantly surprised. I've stayed in my fare share of hostels over the past 2 months and this is by far one the nicest ones. It's in a perfect location and the rooms were clean and the beds were actually comfortable! I would definitely recommended staying here if your looking for cheap, clean and convenient place to stay in Galway!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    132
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
35
63
127
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a great, great hostel. Great location. Large, clean communal areas and bathrooms. Vending machines. Very helpful and friendly staff. Tour bus pick ups from outside. Pub crawl.
Heres a list of freebies.
Wifi
Breakfast. Good breakfast. Not cheap cereals. ( and they do the washing up)
Apples.
Access to apples macs.

It really is 1 of the best run hostels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micmac85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights with two friends. It is a great hostel. Perfect location! We drove into Galway and there was a parking garage right down the street, that was reasonably priced. It was only a few minutes walk into the city center. The room we stayed in was a private room for three. Very clean. The bathrooms were very clean too. The showers were nice, hot water & great water pressure. The staff here was phenomenal!! They were so nice & made the check in & check out process super easy & fast. They gave us great recommendations on what bars to go to & where to eat. They even organize pub crawls each night as well as other day time activities. We booked our Aran Islands trip through them the morning after checking in. It was a tour that provided a bus to the ferry as well as either a bus tour on the island or rental bikes to do your own tour. We had great weather & a great time. The free breakfast in the morning was great as well. A very hip & young hostel, free computers to use & free printing! Which was great for printing driving directions our last morning there! Would definitely stay here again! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have been traveling to Ireland almost yearly since 1981 and though I have always thought I might like to try a hostel, I always held back because I worried about being 'stuck' in a party house with a bunch of out of control boozers. WRONG.
Kinlay House Hostel in Galway is located near the center of everything.....and it is clean, clean, CLEAN!, has posted quiet hours (11 PM to 7 AM)... and the staff is super friendly and extremely helpful. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone. And they have everything you need but didn't pack. A small deposit got me a hair dryer. Bikes were available, tours could be arranged, the kitchen was open for use in non-breakfast hours, a cooked breakfast was available....if you have a whim, they have a way!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BagsRpacked4Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hostel is in perfect location in Galway city. Extremely clean hostel with great kitchen facilities. breakfast was awesome...toast, cereal, scones, fruit and 3 different juices etc Living area was super comfy with big suede couches. free mac computers. free instruments to play. highly recommend to anyone coming to Galway!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougielaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Where to start! I was welcomed by friendly staff at the reception and a fellow backpacker playing one of the two hostel guitars in the homely common room. Although the Kinlay is a big hostel, it feels like a second home. The common room had bean bags, comfortable couches and an array of instruments, even a pay phone box to call home. The rooms were clean and comfortable plus the bathrooms were spotless. Frank the manager is great, we and a few other travellers had a great night out at a couple of his favourite pubs. He and all of the staff were always happy to answer any questions and help out in any way that they could. The breakfast spread was divine! Fresh scones, cereal and toast. What more could you ask for from a hostel?! Music is always playing in the background at Kinlay, making for a comfortable and homely atmosphere. The hostel is central to town and 5 minutes from the bus and train station. I'll be back! Kinlay made my one night in Galway one I'll always remember. Thanks Frank and team for making my last night in Ireland the best one of my entire trip:)

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 221197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rented a two person room with a friend. The room was great - very clean. We stayed only one night but it worked out fine. The location was fantastic, as it was a short walk from "downtown". All together, good value and I would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gstrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,428 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 54 in Galway
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay Hostel Galway

Property: Kinlay Hostel Galway
Address: Merchants Road | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinlay Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Eyre Square in the heart of Galway City, the multi award-winning Kinlay Hostel has now also been listed as 'Top Choice' by the Lonely Planet Guide 2017. With a mix of cosy private rooms and bright, spacious dormitories, we can cater for large groups as well as solo backpackers and all rates include complimentary continental breakfast as well as free high-speed WiFi, free computer usage, free luggage storage, free printing and free city maps. Guest facilities include a comfortable chill-out lounge with pool table & TV, a fully-equipped kitchen open all day for your use and a spacious dining room. At Kinlay Hostel, your happiness is our main priority and our dedicated reception team are on hand 24 hours a day with helpful hints and expert insider knowledge to ensure that you make the most of your time in Galway. Not only are the city’s best bars, shops and restaurants right on our doorstep but with daily tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and the Aran Islands leaving from outside our front door every morning, Kinlay Hostel is the ideal base from which to discover the magical charm of Galway City and the west coast of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Kinlay Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing