We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run hostel in heart of Galway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well run hostel in heart of Galway”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in a 4 bed ensuite for 2 nights. Room was comfortable/clean, only gripe was the shower...push shower only with no hot/cold adjustment...water trickled out, and was either scalding hot or ice cold. Staff was very nice, building very secure at night. 5 minute walk through eyre square to the medieval quarter with all the great pubs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slyoung10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    132
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
35
63
127
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hostel would be amazing if the staff weren’t so rude. Clean rooms, clean kitchen, great social area... but just really rude staff, unfortunately I don’t think I’d stay here again because of that. On the other hand, if you can avoid them, then this is a great hostel – close to the shops, public transport, bars, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalu06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank O, General Manager at Kinlay Hostel Galway, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. I am very disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. I greatly appreciate all your positive comments but am sad that you had a poor experience with our staff. Our staff normally get outstanding praise from everyone, and just last month won a HostelBookers award for Highest Rated Staff in Ireland! But of course, like anyone, we do make the odd mistake and obviously we dropped the ball for a second here. I have spoken to our staff about your comments, and everyone remembers you as being a very nice friendly person so I fully accept your comments are genuine. If there was a particular issue which occurred during your stay, or a particular staff member who you found less than friendly I would be so grateful if you could drop me a line to frank@kinlaygalway.ie and fill me in on anything you wish to add. Thank you for your time. 

Kind regards,
Frank O'Connell
General Manager 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This great Hostel is located in the heart of Galway, right on the edge of Eyre square, with everything you need or want to see in Galway just minutes away.
I've stayed at several other hostels in Galway, but Kinlay was by far the best

The hostel is bright, newly refurbished, and modern, with a big kitchen, and anice common area,with a lot of space and nice murals on the wall.
There aren't any opening or closing times for the common area, so unlike the Kinlay in Cork or Barnacles in Galway, you can actually use it before 11am/after 11pm.

The Kitchen is nice, functional and clean, but most importantly operational. In some other hostels in the city, I had the problem that out of the 4 stoves, only one was working, which is abit inconvinient if more than one person is trying to cook.
There is also enough space to eat.

The rooms are clean, bright and the beds are actually comfortabel for a hostel.

What really sets the hostel apart though, is its great staff: They are always friendly, helpfull and know their city and its little secrets by heart.

I stayed at Kinlay twice this year, and when I arrived for my second stay, I was surprised to see that the receptionists actually remebered me and greeted me by name.
Something very rare, given the amount of people staying there and definitely something that makes you feel welcome and keeps you coming back :)

Room Tip: All of the are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hostel is amazing! Probably one of the best I've ever stayed at! I stayed in a 6-bed ensuite for 4 nights. This hostel is conveniently located right around the corner from the bus station and a 5 minute walk from all the bars/restaurants. There's free wifi which reaches into the room and 3 computers in the lobby. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Everything is really new. The breakfast is decent: cereal, toast, scones, jam, tea and coffee. I only have two minor gripes: 1) you can't get into the kitchen to make your own food when breakfast is being served and 2) the only separation between the shower and toilet in the ensuite rooms is a shower curtain which means the floor gets flooded.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed there in October 2012. I was on a stag with a load of lads. Our room had four bunkbeds. Beds were very comfortable, en suite bathroom. Very clean. No towels in the room, but standard for 25-30 quid I suppose.

I left a book in the bedroom when there. Rang up two days later and it was posted immediately back. Forget the name of the chap who works at reception, but he was completely sound. Anyway couldn't recommend it highly enough.

I stay in hostels abroad, but this is phenomenol, right on Eyre Sq.

Also, we had a great session in the main room, piano, guitars- fun jamming.

Thanks again Kinlay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Kinlay House is located directly in the city centre. The pubs and restaurants are only a few minutes walk away.
The breakfast is included and very good. There is orange and apple juice, white and brown bread, cereals, milk, scones,...
We really enjoyed our clean and comfortable room. The rooms are located in a quite area so you can be sure to sleep well.
Next to the reception there's a self-catering kitchen which is nice and very clean too. Behind the reception you can chill out with your friends or get to know other people.
It´s a super atmosphere in the hostel and the staff is very competent and friendly.
We both really recommend Kinlay House and would come back at any time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvenjaDecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed in over 50 different hotels in my years of travelling, and this one ranks in my top 10. I stayed in a 4 bed mixed ensuite room, over a weekend, and ended up extending my stay by a couple nights.

The friendly, and patient staff were very helpful despite it being a typically busy Galway weekend and always eager to answer my questions and help me organise some tours. The room was clean and spacious, and I was lucky enough to get some great roomies for the weekend. The included breakfast was basic continental and staffed. The comfortable lounge, lobby and TV room set a great atmosphere. With the hostel being on Eyre Square, the location is ideal.

My only small gripe, was with the shower in one of the rooms. The water temperature started getting too hot and there was no-way to adjust it. My roomie said there was a knack to holding down the button, but I didn't work it out. Temperature in next room's shower was fine, so all-in-all, relatively minor.

Overall, an excellent hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalfRayThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,823 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,426 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 54 in Galway
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay Hostel Galway

Property: Kinlay Hostel Galway
Address: Merchants Road | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinlay Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Eyre Square in the heart of Galway City, the multi award-winning Kinlay Hostel has now also been listed as 'Top Choice' by the Lonely Planet Guide 2017. With a mix of cosy private rooms and bright, spacious dormitories, we can cater for large groups as well as solo backpackers and all rates include complimentary continental breakfast as well as free high-speed WiFi, free computer usage, free luggage storage, free printing and free city maps. Guest facilities include a comfortable chill-out lounge with pool table & TV, a fully-equipped kitchen open all day for your use and a spacious dining room. At Kinlay Hostel, your happiness is our main priority and our dedicated reception team are on hand 24 hours a day with helpful hints and expert insider knowledge to ensure that you make the most of your time in Galway. Not only are the city’s best bars, shops and restaurants right on our doorstep but with daily tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and the Aran Islands leaving from outside our front door every morning, Kinlay Hostel is the ideal base from which to discover the magical charm of Galway City and the west coast of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Kinlay Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing