We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Ranked #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Get the Best!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My home away from home! I stayed at this luxury hostel for over two weeks and I had a really good time, thanks to the amazing staff who were always eager to help - booking tours, getting cars, tips for restaurants and pubs - you can ask them everything and they surely come up with a good idea within no time! I can recommend this place to everyone who values a big welcoming smile on his arrival day, clean rooms, an excellent breakfast (scones, juices, cereals - what else do you need?), free wifi and comps for those who travel without laptop, very comfy lounge area, big TV room with SKY, big kitchen area,fully equipped, and if you are a marine fan you ll love the three seawater tanks on the first floor...

Room Tip: Ask for a ensuite room, it comes with loo and shower in the bathroom and a basin in the room. the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    137
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
37
64
132
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I LOVED our stay at Galway in the middle of September. The bathroom was always clean, our room was spacious. The staff was friendly and we felt safe. My best friend and I loved the Free WiFi! We stayed in 5 hostels this trip - Kinlay House was the best, hands down! Thanks!

Room Tip: I don't believe there was a fitness center or pool. The 4some room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiianem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Arrived late on a Friday. Had trouble finding a place to stay for 3 people. Everywhere booked, was looking like we would have to sleep in the car. Frank went out of his way to find us a room. Hostel is clean, well kept and HUGE!! Looks like a hotel. Facilities are fantastic. Staff really friendly and great location. Def a must stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnooshkaOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I took a group of 16 to Galway for the oyster festival. The hostel was excellent. Clean, good facilities, comfy beds and friendly/helpful staff. Pictures on the website make it look like its out of the 70s but its actually pretty nice.Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nepal
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Well looked after for a weekend by the hostel front desk and management ,always on hand to help out.nice mix of hen/stag groups and tourists,not made to feel a nuisance for having a good time.front reception with guitar and piano is ideal for pre drinking and keeping it cheap/having a few drinks after the nightclubs kick out.bedrooms were clean and functional,no luxury but that's not what you come for.definitely recommend especially to groups

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulsio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed two nighs and really enjoyed it. The breakfast was great - and included. There's also free Wifi and a nice common area. For musicians they also have guitars and a piano! Bathrooms are clean and showers are perfectly hot. The kitchen is great - there is all you need and more. You can reach Lidl within 10 minutes.
It takes you two minutes to get to the bus station and not much longer to reach the inner city.
People were very friendly; the majority are young people, but we also met some families and other groups.
On our next trip, Kinlay House would be one of the first choices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tintinn9920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed as part of an International Students university group. When you travel around Ireland, you are counting on good accommodation. We got GREAT accommodation & value. This accommodation is absolutely perfect for individual persons or large groups. We are looking forward to returning soon.

Some of the highlights:

* Quick Check-in.
* Really friendly staff.
* In the heart of Galway city.
* Free wifi / free computer use.
* Excellent & spotless showers, which are always hot. These even had free soap built into the showers.
* Lovely lounge area to hang out.
* Full kitchen to cook meals.
* Free breakfast.
* & Many more.

Thank you Team Kinlay from UCD International Students' Society.

Cllr Stephen Stokes
Deputy Mayor
Greystones, Ireland

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 243Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 58 in Galway
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay Hostel Galway

Property: Kinlay Hostel Galway
Address: Merchants Road | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinlay Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Eyre Square in the heart of Galway City, the multi award-winning Kinlay Hostel has now also been listed as 'Top Choice' by the Lonely Planet Guide 2017. With a mix of cosy private rooms and bright, spacious dormitories, we can cater for large groups as well as solo backpackers and all rates include complimentary continental breakfast as well as free high-speed WiFi, free computer usage, free luggage storage, free printing and free city maps. Guest facilities include a comfortable chill-out lounge with pool table & TV, a fully-equipped kitchen open all day for your use and a spacious dining room. At Kinlay Hostel, your happiness is our main priority and our dedicated reception team are on hand 24 hours a day with helpful hints and expert insider knowledge to ensure that you make the most of your time in Galway. Not only are the city’s best bars, shops and restaurants right on our doorstep but with daily tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and the Aran Islands leaving from outside our front door every morning, Kinlay Hostel is the ideal base from which to discover the magical charm of Galway City and the west coast of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kinlay Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing