We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people but overall just average”
Review of Ashford Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashford Manor
Ranked #174 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I was on the area for work and being high season hotel prices were insane so picked this guest house based on location and price. Room was fine - a bit pokey but I was on my own and just one night. Walls very thin so I could hear conversations of other guests and it's on a busy main road so heard cars all through the night - had the window open as it was a humid night.
Breakfast service was very friendly and there was a nice choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Ashford Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 205 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at Ashford Manor in July 2013 as there was nothing else available near Eyre Square
The room was a single size with a double bed, like a sauna as the outside temperature was 30 degrees, no fan or air conditioning, no sleep at all as between the heat and noise from above , and someone throwing stones at the windows until 6.30am.
There was no hairdryer in the room as advertised, the TV was broken, there was carpet on the floor of the bathroom which was dirty and the towels discolored, and the shower was designed for midgets not an average size person.
Breakfast full irish? what can I say 2 sausages, 1 bacon, 1 egg, 1 mushroom divided between 2 plates 2 slices on 1 and 3 slices on the other and . I paid €130 for this very disappointing experience and I feel very cheated.
The website is very misleading nothing is as described beware!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ritam47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Terrible B&B. Booked a twin room and got two tiny single rooms in another building out back with a shared toilet and shower.The fan in the shower was faulty and so loud it could be heard at the main house. The shower had no support bar for the shower head. It just hung from the shower. There was a bracket, a broken bracket and a line of dirt where the support bar was. When I complained and said i could not have a proper shower I was told it was a design feature of the shower. Ridiculous! The rooms were outdated and many of the fixtures and fitting were broken.The breakfast was very poor and while the lady who served the breakfast was friendly, the service was poor. Avoid this B&B!

Room Tip: Avoid this B&B.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Ashford manor had a great cozy feel to it. It's clean and pleasant.
However the rooms are quite small and you can pretty much hear anything going on in the house from the rooms.
If you're a light sleeper, go somewhere else. If not, it a good option

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I was travelling with a tour bus & this is where we landed. Am I glad we did. Corrine, the owner, is a wonderful host. You see, Aer Lingus Airlines, LOST my luggage. It was supposed to be delivered that night but they delivered it to the wrong B&B. SO, being in the same clothes for 3 days, Corrine, told me to go upstairs & leave my clothes outside the door.The next morning & woke up to freshly washed clothes, Shampoo & soap.

My Busmates thanked her repeatedly.. No I'm kidding. THANK YOU CORRINE.. It's the little things like this that keep people coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laury L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

we didnt book in here but ended up staying here because a neighbouring b and b had double booked our 2 double rooms (which we booked six months previously). The people were friendly and helpful however the accommodation was dire. Dirty floors, mould and mildew on the tiles and in the ensuite, stained sheets, sheets that didnt fit, small rooms, very uncomfortable beds, noisy and the worst thing was the smell of frying foods which permeated the building and particularly our room which was virtually next to the kitchen. It is a shame, they are nice people and have to make a living, I suggest they read the reviews and DO something to improve future feedback.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed here about a year ago with a group of friends. It cost us €50 each to stay here and I was very disappointed with the standard of accommodation for this price. On our arrival, we were brought through the house out the back to a room of another building. The room was tiny and very outdated. The bathroom was awful and it was clear that it hadn't been renovated in 20 years. You could hardly call the bed a double bed. I was lucky that the girl I was sharing with was so small as otherwise one of us would of had, to of had slept on the floor. The location was the only positive thing about my stay here. The landlord was a modern day version of Scrooge. When I told him that I didn't enjoy my stay here and that the room was overpriced, he made lame excuses, saying that there was no money in the country. He also went on with nonsensical chat of how he loved that tiny room that my friend and I had stayed in and that he had raised his kids in it. We could hardly fit ourselves never mind kids in the room. I did not enjoy my stay here and will not be booking this bed and breakfast again. The price was exorbitant for the standard of the accommodation. I would advise you to camp or sleep at the train station if you can't get another bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryBridget30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons B&B
Four Seasons B&B
#46 of 188 in Galway
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aaron House B&B
Aaron House B&B
#158 of 188 in Galway
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynfield B&B
Lynfield B&B
#89 of 188 in Galway
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balcony House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Ardawn House
Ardawn House
#15 of 188 in Galway
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 188 in Galway
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Manor

Address: Ashford Manor 7 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $82 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ashford Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Manor Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing