We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate hotel very welcoming friendly staff who couldn't do enough”
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Craigavon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Immaculate hotel very welcoming friendly staff who couldn't do enough”
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Loved this hotel. Immaculately clean. All staff were welcoming, friendly and couldn't do enough. Rooms immacualte and quiet so we had a good nights sleep. Food was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggietours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    427
    133
    42
    11
See reviews for
191
650
50
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co.Wicklow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

My family have been using this hotel quiet a lot in 2010 since our nearby home suffered severe flood damage. We have all been treated to the utmost of care and courtesy especially my elderly parents. The rooms/suites are very comfortable, especially the beds. The restaurant is very pleasant and the breakfasts are a feast that will keep you full all day. The reception staff are helpful and welcoming. The Bar/Lounge staff serve both drinks and excellent Bar food. They also do a Carvery lunch, which is wholesome & excellent value for money. It is how a Hotel should be run. Efficient helpful staff doing an excellent team job at making you feel welcome, and doing everything to make your stay memorable for all the right reasons. To management & staff, keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConorCo_Wicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2010

I stayed in the Menlo Park Hotel recently with a group of friends. We were in Galway to relax and have some fun so we didn't want any stress or fuss. From the moment we checked into the Menlo we were totally made to feel at ease. The staff at reception were friendly, welcoming and totally put us at ease. Our rooms were great, large, spacious and very clean. The hotel bar had a friendly feel about it, no matter what we asked for, the staff provided with a smile. The breakfast in the morning was hearty to say the least! A delicious hot food buffet but also a great variety of fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, yougarts etc.!! All very fresh and seemingly endless!! All in all a very enjoyable experience and one we will definitely be repeating!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nginnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank you so much for your really nice review - we do hope to offer a relaxed yet professional environment and we are so pleased that this was your experience - we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Stayed a few times and the staff are always helpful and friendly. I had a beautiful large room with Jacuzzi bath. It may be a little outside the town for some but as I was on business it suited me fine also some hotels charged €10 per night for parking whereas here it is free.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thanks for the review and for pointing out a couple of our selling points!
We have 16 superior rooms and two with jacuzzi and we offer upgrades at reasonable rates.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Thanks from the team here at the Menlo Park for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

I booked at Menlo park specifically after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. It's a nice place, but far from the best. The location is okay, but probably too far to walk to the center. The hotel was nice, and the room too, but the hotel is older, and could use some work.... The bathroom was a nightmare, first off, I wasn't impressed by the seperate H/C taps- it's inconvenient especially for anyone who wears contacts, or washes their face at night, but that is all very secondary to the offensive odor. There is a restaurant and bar on site, but there was a larger party in house, and apparently they were kind of controlling the place, too unruly in the evening to have dinner there, and then in the morning the "full breakfast," which I paid in advance for, left a lot to be desired since it was catered specifically to the group, and pretty much disappear once they left. Overall, it wasn't so bad that I wouldn't stay at Menlo Park again, but it definitely wouldn't be on the top of my list, or a place I'd really look forward to staying at in the future. Seems far to small to be considered a "conference center," and WiFi is spotty.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. it is true that we do have groups staying in the hotel and your feedback has been passed to the restaurant. We have just been awared the Failte Ireland award for service excellence for the second year in a row and part of this process is to use feedback in a pro active way to make sure any issues are dealt with effectively - in this context the restaurant manager has re-iterated with staff that individual travellers should be given particular attention should a group be inhouse.
In relation to the mention of an offensive odour I am afraid I have no idea what this may be - again we received an award in late 2009 for our accommodation standards and we pride ourselves on this. I wonder did you mention this at the time ?
I am glad that you mentioned that you would consider staying with us again and should you decide to do so, please let me re-assure you that I am confident you would enjoy your stay.
We can allocate you one of our newer rooms with mixer taps!
- have also checked out our WIFI boosters as a result of your feedback - thanks again.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2010

My boyfriend booked a surprise trip to Galway and brought me to the Menlo Park Hotel. From start to finish it was fantastic. From the moment we arrived with free parking right through to check-in, the rooms, the food, the staff, there was nothing I was unhappy with. Our room was lovely, very clean and beautifully decorated. We ate in the bar the first night and the restaurant the second, both the food and the service was second to none. While all aspects of this hotel more than met and exceeded expectation, it's biggest asset were the staff. They were outstanding and really made our trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank you ! - we hope that our staff will welcome you again soon!
You have identified one of our "tag lines" from our new brochure -
True value is to offer an really good product at a reasonable price and in truth that is what we
strive to do !

A sincere thanks again -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

I use this hotel on a regular basis for conference basis. I use the hotel mostly due to its central location. While they call themselves a conference centre I found the hotel to be lacking in this regard. The meeting rooms are located adjacent to the bar so there can be alot of disruption from other hotel users. No supply of flipchart or projector which is standard in any other hotel we use. However, the staff here are second to none! From front of house to porters they are all friendly and very efficient. If they could supply the basic conference needs this hotel would be excellent.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, General Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thanks for your feedback. I want to assure you that we do have all of the services you might need for your conferences. We offer PA systems/microphones, staging, flipcharts, projectors, podium, TV & DVD.
We work with our clients to furnish them with whatever their needs may be and also work to their required budgets by agreement. In this way we can offer excellent facilities at reasonable prices.

Our "Service Promise" is
"Our friendly professional team are dedicated to providing excellent service"

and I am pleased that you have identified this as being so.

We will be delighted to discuss your needs for your conferences and address any issues which you feel need to be addressed. As you may be aware we have a variety of rooms available for various uses from 10 boardroom to 350 theatre style.
Please know that the door is always open here to discuss your specific needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#9 of 46 in Galway
493 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,124 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,095 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,921 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Property: Menlo Park Hotel
Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Family Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 81 quality rooms with 20 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing