We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved”
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Only stayed for one night. Very impressed by renovation of room and general decor improvements since my last visit. Free wifi all over the hotel. Breakfast was great with free newspaper. Nothing more to say really.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dublin-wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Dublin-wanderers,

I am delighted to know you chose Menlo Park hotel again for your return visit to Galway city. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and for your lovely comments.

I am glad you liked the recent improvements we have made to our rooms, we are continuously working to refurbish our bathrooms and bedrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Deirdre
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

Great location for a stop in Galway - very handy to the centre, but also very conveniently near routes in and out of Galway. Room well equipped, good dinner in the bar, reasonable prices. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Ray K,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Menlo Park Hotel on your recent visit to Galway city and thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am delighted to know you found our hotel convenient in location for you and you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Deirdre
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We arrived at the Hotel on Saturday May 17th and was greeted with a very warm welcome.

The staff were really friendly and remember us from our visit last year.

Our room was really luxurious and comfortable and the breakfast were extremely delicious and the staff were very attentive.

We enjoyed a very delicious evening meal in the restaurant and next day we ate in the bar which was of the same high standard.

All in all we felt very cosseted by the staff and the atmosphere in this wonderful hotel.


Jean and Sam Salt

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank freesia72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Freesia72,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Menlo Park hotel as your choice of place for your visit to Galway and thank you so much for your kind feedback.

I am delighted to hear you had a good experience and you enjoyed our breakfast and evening meal in our restaurant, I will pass on your lovely comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Really nice Hotel. Staff were very professional and really friendly.

Room was amazing, we had the "mock" bridal suit. Huge room nicely decorated, huge bathroom and bath. Very comfortable room couldn't recommend more. Bath robes, bath salts etc all included. We were warned about possible noise from downstairs, but we didn't hear a thing.

Food was not great at all, its the only thing we were left disappointed with. Selection was not great (both menu's) Im allergic to nuts, which I brought to the attention of the staff.

For Starters we both had the soup, which was nice, great flavor ( I wouldn't usually go for soup, but other options were not great)

For Main I had the Steak and she went with the Cod.

Steak was over cooked (no point in complaining as any steak lover knows it takes ages for another one to be cooked, we also had plans in Galway after dinner)

Cod was cooked fine, but covered in green pesto?! No mention of pesto any where in the menu and she HATES pesto.

So both our dinners were not great. I hate the steak, she left most of the cod untouched (when waitress came to collect plates she didn't ask anything as to why her plate was still mostly full)

Desert was worse. I am an ex-pastry chef so deserts I wouldn't get a desert normally. But wanted to fill up on something before going out as did she.
There were 4 options of deserts and 3 had nuts!!

We went for the Mille-Feuilles (puff pastry with cream and strawberries) Pastry was tasteless,very thick and very hard which really ruined the rest (as its kind of hard to mess up cream and strawberries)

Over all, I couldn't recommend the hotel more, but go into town for dinner.

Reception, restaurant, bar staff were still amazing and friendly only the food.

Room Tip: Doesn't get much better than the Bridal Suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Justin L

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently as your choice of place for your visit to Galway city and also for taking the time to review us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your lovely comments on our superior room they are amazing.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the negative experience you had with the quality of our food in the restaurant. I am also very disappointed to know that you felt you could not send back the food. We are always willing to do everything we can to rectify an issue.

However I am glad to see that despite your negative food experience you still would recommend staying in our hotel & you think so highly of our staff.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

A little out of town but at least you can get a quiet night sleep away from the craziness of the city centre. Well kept and smart. Good bathrooms. Staff friendly. If there are more than 3 of you don't bother for the bus as it costs €1.90 per person. Breakfast isn't included but there is a shopping centre near by.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Suzi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Suzi L

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review us.

I am absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit with us so thoroughly. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel, especially our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

kind Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We arrived late, having notified the Hotel by e-mail and everything was ready. We even managed to get a late table in the restaurant, all very efficient.
Very large room with all the facilities you need.
We stayed for five nights at a good rate.
The only slightly downside was the atmosphere in the restaurant which would be improved with some background music, perhaps that personal choice but the food was good.
Eating in the bar is nice with the same good food.
All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Phil W

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review us with such a lovely review.

I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with each aspect from location, food to service and the overall hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a lovely hotel. Would highly recommend it.
We stayed for only one night during driving holiday.
Rooms very comfortable and very clean. Helpful and pleasant staff.
Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 680ElaineR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear 680ElaineR,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the Menlo Park Hotel as your choice of stop over on your driving holiday recently.

Thank you for lovely comments on our rooms and staff, I will pass them back to the team. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Deirdre
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.8 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
376 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,040 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#10 of 46 in Galway
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Family Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $83 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 81 quality rooms with 20 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing