We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel for a weekend away!”
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Myself and my husband recently spent two nights at the Menlo, Park Hotel. From the moment we arrived we sensed the homely friendly atmosphere that existed for the entire weekend! We were met with the friendliest and most helpful staff members. The rooms and food was of an excellent standard. It was only 10mins walk to the city centre. We didn't even have to leave the hotel at night as there was live music both nights at the hotel itself. The bar staff were also lovely. The breakfast was out of this world as you had an amazing variety and very adequate portions. Would definitely recommend it and hope to return ourselves!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Teresa K

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review us. I am absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit with us so thoroughly. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel, especially our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed on Fri and Sat night. The staff were each and every one very courteous, helpful and friendly. The room was a good size and very clean. The mattress was a bit too springy for out taste but two good nights sleep were had by my wife and I. The breakfast was everything a buffet breakfast should be. We dined in Bar Beoga on the Saturday night and can recommend the €25 3 course dinner plus a glass of wine. Not only was it good value but the quality of the food and service was excellent.
I completed the feedback form in the room and received a pleasant email from the hotel thanking me for my comments and advising they had rectified the issues I had raised. I feel this was well managed by the hotel and will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OliverO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Oliver01

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review us we value all feedback as an essential tool in the continuous review and improvement of the service we offer.

I am absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit with us & that you felt so well looked after. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed here over Mother's Day weekend. We travelled from Dublin and the hotel is ideally located. Our room was above expectations. It was a 10 min bus journey to Eyre Square ( bus stop outside door) and all of Galway's attractions. The Bar Beoige food was great and good value. We ate there twice. The breakfasts were good, hot plates and freshly cooked. The only fault was the entertainment on Saturday night. The Singer did not seem to be there for the customers as he sang his favourites (some very slow country) which was not conducive to the audience joining in. On the few occasions he sang popular fast songs people joined in both singing and dancing. This said, we will be back as we very much enjoyed our all too brief stay..

Room Tip: If staying at weekend try for rooms at the reception end and the rooms over the ballroom can suffer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear dts2

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. When the team are working to develop and maintain standards, such reviews as yours are so encouraging. It is so good to know that our guests have really enjoyed their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed for two nights on 28/29 March, check in went smoothly and efficiently. The room was lovely, big and very comfortable. Lovely Butlers chocolates and water waiting for us, fluffy bathrobes and slippers. The bathroom and shower were great, lovely toiletries and the shower was super hot. The only thing was the restaurant, was not happy with the food. Starter of trio of port belly was not nice at all, hard apple and apricot served with it, didn't do it justice at all. For the main course I had chicken in a white sauce, chicken too dry I asked for more sauce to try and make it taste better. Didn't go for desert, so cant comment on that. We went out for dinner on Saturday night into Galway city and had a lovely dinner. Breakfast was Ok, bacon very fatty, all else good.
The bar in the hotel is nice and friendly, bar staff very good, prompt service. I would definitely go back to this hotel, but wouldn't eat there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeathCo_Meath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear MeathCo_Meath

Thank you for taking the time to review us we welcome both positive & negative feedback. Thank you for the compliments on our superior rooms & our bar service.

I was disappointed to read that you do not enjoy your meal in the restaurant I have passed your feedback on to our Head Chef,

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed in the Menlo Park several times. Two night stay this time. Hotel excellent. Staff friendly, professional and very helpful. Easy to find and plenty of on-site free parking. Meeting friends and we ate in the bar one night. Good bar menu and food well prepared and presented - a high standard. Good breakfast - cooked to order. We really enjoyed Galway City. Good choice of restaurants, including Michelin Star Restaurant, Aniar in Dominick Street, coffee shops and wine bars. Also good shopping city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Anne M

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay with us here at Menlo Park Hotel.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was my second visit to menlo, once again the staff were great, very friendly and helpful, there was a great athmosphere around the hotel on the sat night , bre akfast was top notch, freshly cooked produce was kept on the warm cabinet, also lots of fresh fruit, yoghurt, juices and cereals. the bedrooms were really clean and comfy all spic and span, must have got a face lift recently as everywhere was so bright and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Brid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Brid G

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review us. I am absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit with us & that you felt so well looked after. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Room was very clean, staff where extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is located in a quiet area and close to the city centre. Only problem was the availability of parking spaces . I would return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Fastrat

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review us. I am absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit with us & that you felt so well looked after. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,166 reviews
5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,804 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,933 reviews
1 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $79 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 81 quality rooms with 20 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing