We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame!!!”
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a shame!!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Yes, what a shame! We booked 3 nights mid-week and upgraded to a Superior room. Needed the rest and relaxation and can't figure out why when the hotel was so quiet that we were put in room 135 right over the loading bay - could have taken a step out the window on to the roof of the various delivery/laundry vans. Unfortunately also the superior room was probably the most depressing hotel room I have been to in a long time and resembled nothing of those shown on website. So...can only guess that if you take advantage of the 'specials', you will get the inferior rooms. What a shame when I could have found nice things to say but the above overshadowed everything. €345 not well spent!

Room Tip: 135 is dark and depressing but has a great bathroom!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnaB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear UnaB2,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry to hear you did not like room 135 which is our Bridal Suite. We have found it to be one of our most popular and requested rooms with its four poster bed and jacuzzi bath and designer furnishings. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss your experience in more detail.
Kind Regards,
Michelle,
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    422
    130
    37
    11
See reviews for
182
638
49
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I honestly dont know how they manage to have so many nice helpful people in one hotel. We are well travelled and visit many hotels and there are always a few very nice members of staff and some not so nice but here they are all charming and helpful its amazing! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thought the service was excellent its very popular at lunch time with local people and that always means value for money and we found it to be the case.

would we stay there again? Yes definitely we would. Excellent meals, huge bedrooms and we found it quiet at night no being woken up by loud banging of doors and the carpets are very thick we noticed so you dont hear people above you either. So good night sleep and lovely breakfast this hotel is somewhere I noticed people return year after year, near to the town centre but not too near.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSE737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Rose737

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Thank you for all your kind comments about our rooms, food & staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after an emergency left us (5 in total) unable to stay in our holiday home in Mayo. Although it was the October Bank Holiday and the hotel was busy they found us two lovely rooms to stay in. They also managed to provide a soft diet for our son who is severely disabled.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Paul S

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. When the team are working to develop and maintain standards, such reviews as yours are so encouraging. It is so good to know that our guests have really enjoyed their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I had my wedding here in August of this year and was really happy with the service provided. We had excellent service from start to finish. I can't thank Albert, Elaine and the rest of the staff enough for making our wedding day such a wonderful experience for all my family and friends. The hotel were really great in helping arrange the band, photographer and flowers for the big day and nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend the Hotel to anybody wishing to get married as they are also excellent value for money. Thanks again xx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saoirse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, All the team at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Soairse82

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and all your kind comments about our staff & service. It was a pleasure to look after you on your special day. Thanks also for the great recommendation. We look forward to seeing ye again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend for one night. Our room was a beautiful big corner room with a huge bathroom and king size bed. The bed was very comfortable and the room was really quiet.
We ate in the restaurant which was very good, with very attentive and friendly staff.
The hotel is very handy to the city centre (around 5E in a taxi), and the front desk staff were very helpful in giving directions and local information. Parts of the hotel are a little tired and dated, and there were cobwebs on the lights in the lobby, but our room seemed to have been newly refurbished so maybe they're carrying out refurbishment throughout the whole hotel.
All in all we had a great stay, it was our first trip to Galway and won't be our last!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room when we booked in case of hen or stag parties as it was a weekend. The hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Johnson1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear J_Johnson1961

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is so good to know that our guests have really enjoyed their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

On business in Galway for first time so took the gamble with internet search engine and recommendations from Trip Advisor.

Didn't arrive until 8pm but staff were friendly and efficient for check in. Room was spacious and had all the amenities that a business traveller could require. Didn't eat in hotel apart from breakfast which was good value for €10 for full Irish cooked breakfast.

Plenty free parking and free internet access included.

Best testimony I can give is I would go back when next in Galway

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xeriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Xeriod

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we value both positive & negative feedback as an essential tool to the continuous improvement of the service we offer. Thank you for your kind comments about our parking & our breakfast. we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay in the Menlo Park. The staff are fantastic and customer service is clearly a priority in this hotel. Check in was great - very efficient. My room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Wifi was included which was fantastic and the shower was fabulous! Bar food was good and the young man serving was very friendly and helpful, I'm sorry I can't remember his name but he's a credit to the hotel! I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Galway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Nicola C

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Thank you for all your kind comments about our rooms, food & staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#7 of 45 in Galway
469 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,051 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
326 reviews
5.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,074 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Property: Menlo Park Hotel
Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Family Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 70 quality rooms with 16 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing