We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So helpful and friendly”
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“So helpful and friendly”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A group of 20 girls stayed here on a hen party and from arrival to departure the staff couldnt have been more helpful.

We took part in a cocktail making activity and also had a private room for dinner.

The staff provided us with a CD palyer for the dining room and arranged mini buses to bring us to the city centre - would defo recommend.

Although we were part of a large group i would go back with partner / family as the hotel caters for everyone.

Thanks guys :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen123Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Jen123jen

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Menlo Park Hotel recently and thank you also for your lovely feedback. I am delighted to read that you felt so well looked after for the entirety of your visit. Your positive feedback is most welcome and very important to us. I have passed this on to all on the team.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to us in the future.

Kind Regards,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    414
    129
    37
    11
See reviews for
180
629
49
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Having read all the reviews at this hotel and seeing the pictures on its website we thought it would be a great stay. What a disappointment! We were given one of the non refurbished rooms which are way below the standard of the newer hotel. Location was good and breakfast was decent...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Mrs Anonymous

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we value both positive & negative feedback as an essential tool to the continuous improvement of the service we offer. Thank you for your kind comments about our location & our breakfast. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise that you felt the room was not up to standard. I do hope you would consider returning.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were warmly welcomed back to the Menlo hotel. I was very impressed that they had remembered our previous request on our original booking and offered us the same room. It is this attention to detail and the friendliness and efficiency of the staff that makes the Menlo hotel stand out from the rest.
We had lunch in the bar and enjoyed a very enjoyable and reasonable meal.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Just ask and they will do their upmost to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Madmartina

Thank you again for another lovely review. It was great to read that you enjoyed this stay as much as the last. We look forward to welcoming ye back again in the near future in your usual room.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed at the Menlo for a hens weekend had activity and meal in the hotel. The staff were brilliant and so was the food. Lovely hotel and such helpful staff. Would stay here again. Great location five minutes for city centre.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanzarote75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Lanzarotre 75
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. When the team are working to develop and maintain standards, such reviews as yours are so encouraging. It is so good to know that our guests have really enjoyed their stay. We really appreciate the 5 star comment about the staff! We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We availed of a competitive two night midweek break deal there earlier this week, with breakfasts and a dinner included, and have no complaint whatsoever, even to be initially praise-stingy. The rooms were spacious, well furnished, well serviced and spruce. The staff were universally friendly, efficient, professional and accommodating. The food and drink provided for breakfasts and our three course dinner was of a very good standard. The location of the hotel is handy for arrival and exploring outside the city while also usually being convenient for Galway city centre, and we were undisturbed by noise. (Do watch out however for bad Galway City traffic - they were/are doing highly disruptive roadworks on the critical Bodkin roundabout there - and do expect to pay Dublin-level hourly parking prices if thinking of taking a car into town - those things obviously being no reflection on the hotel though). All in all, a big thumbs up for the Menlo Park, based on our experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Rossa M Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay at the Menlo Park Hotel recently and thank you also for your great feedback. I am delighted that you had such a nice time with us. Your positive feedback is most welcome and very important to us. Thankfully they have now completed the works on the Bodkin junction so the traffic situation has improved. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had an excellent two day/night stay in the Menlo Park Hotel, Galway. From the moment we arrived until we left the staff were frieldly and helpful. Our Superior Room had an excellent view and we were able to use it as our base and gateway to Connemara (Clifden) and Kylemore Abbey as well as East Mayo, Ashford Castle and Cong. The breakfasts each day were excellent as was the food in the Bar and Conference Suite. Congratulations to ALL concerned. Definitely worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Corner ooms has both view and light. First Floor is easy by stairs as well as lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAndrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear JAndrew K I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review us. I am absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit with us & that you felt so well looked after. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel. We looked forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Spend a couple of days at the Menlo Park. This is a good, better than basis hotel with a wonderful staff. Rooms are large and well appointed although I have a personal dislike of 'pump action' soap dispensers in the bathroom - sods law dictates that they will always run out at the worst time.

Had breakfast and bar food and selection and quality was fine. The hotel is conveniently located and was an easy journey from the Dublin roundabout.

I recommend the hotel on the basis that it is clean, friendly and provides good food - Its not luxury but is a lot better than many similar standard hotels around

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintRP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear SaintRP9

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently at Menlo Park Hotel and for taking the time to review us. Thank you for all your kind comments about our rooms, food & staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,918 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Property: Menlo Park Hotel
Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Family Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 70 quality rooms with 16 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing