We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy”
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Spend a couple of days at the Menlo Park. This is a good, better than basis hotel with a wonderful staff. Rooms are large and well appointed although I have a personal dislike of 'pump action' soap dispensers in the bathroom - sods law dictates that they will always run out at the worst time.

Had breakfast and bar food and selection and quality was fine. The hotel is conveniently located and was an easy journey from the Dublin roundabout.

I recommend the hotel on the basis that it is clean, friendly and provides good food - Its not luxury but is a lot better than many similar standard hotels around

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaintRP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear SaintRP9

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently at Menlo Park Hotel and for taking the time to review us. Thank you for all your kind comments about our rooms, food & staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 834 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed at the Menlo Park Hotel for two nights in September during my tour of Ireland. My hotel room was clean and well appointed. Breakfasts and Dinners at the hotel were very good. All staff members I had any dealings with were extremely nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesToTravel716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Lovestotravel1716

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review us. I am absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit with us so thoroughly. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel, especially our staff and food.

Kind Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Of the 5 hotels our tour group stayed at in Ireland, this one was the least favorite. The halls were narrow, the rooms were very dark. We stayed there the nights of October 5th and 6th, 2013. Because we were on a tour, we left in the mornings after breakfast (which was very good) and did not return to our rooms until after dinner (which was also excellent) so there was no daylight. If you wanted to read or do anything at the desk, you were out of luck. The lights on the sides of the bed were like Christmas tree lights--very small. The fixture over the desk had room for 2 bulbs, but there was only one and it also was very dim. I had to write in the bathroom (which was well lit and nicely appointed). The staff was excellent, the food was good, the room was clean and the bed was comfy, but the lighting was atrocious. The internet connection was also spotty.

Room Tip: There seemed to be different bathroom configurations. Some people had bathtubs, some had walk in sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Barbara B

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we value both positive & negative feedback as an essential tool to the continuous improvement of the service we offer. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed both breakfast & dinner thoroughly. as a result of your feedback about the lighting we are in the process of adding additional lighting to some rooms. We do hope you will return in the future.

Kind Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A 2 night stay at this very luxurious hotel in a nice clean room with A/C. About a mile walk to the pubs and shops at the main square. About 2-3 blocks from convenient stores and strip shopping centers for groceries and fast food, even a movie theater. Hotel has free parking and Wifi, and a bar that stays open late for guest. Front desk was very helpful and had a power converter for us to borrow. Great location for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txskibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear txskibum,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Menlo Park Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Absolutely amazing! Not more I can say really, though we didn't experience the food, as we had prior arrangements, it smelt and looked delightful. The bar was perfectly staffed with 3 of the most accommodating staff I have ever met. The band - 'Hogans hero's' we're just what we were looking for at the end of the night, nothing too rowdy, but still lively. My wife got to sing with them so I'm a bit biased toward them. The room was perfection personified, more like a suite. And at last a hotel bath I can actually get in, I'm just over 6' tall, so most of the time this is a problem, but not here. Rates were very reasonable.
But the absolute jewel in their crown was CIARA, behind reception. A more welcoming, professional receptionist I've yet to meet.
Keep it up, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Kevyn M,

Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent stay at Menlo Park Hotel. It was fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your time with us. Ciara was delighted to be mentioned in your review. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Rooms were very clean and efficient. A little away from the city center but we got cabs that were reasonably priced. Hotel was great. Breakfast was included and was good. We were traveling in a big group and they took care of us well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gs217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear GS217,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay at the Menlo Park Hotel recently and thank you also for your great feedback. I am delighted that you had such a nice time with us. Your positive feedback is most welcome and very important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, rooms were nice, comfy beds. staff were so helpful and chatty, I think I offended one member of staff when I declined a free pint of beer! food had a nice modern Irish twist, and service was great. Lovely place, great value for money!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear LisaG

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Menlo Park Hotel recently and thank you also for your lovely feedback. I am delighted that you had such a nice time with us. Your positive feedback is most welcome and very important to us. I have passed this on to all on the team.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to us should you return at some point in the future.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,166 reviews
5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,804 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,933 reviews
1 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $79 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 81 quality rooms with 20 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing