We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wedding day made perfect ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“wedding day made perfect ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I would just like to say a big thank you to all the wonderful staff for making our day so special, a big thank you to Albert for helping me throughout the planning and finding and booking everything I wanted even some things at such late notice.
The food was wonderful and do many guests spoke of this and all the staff were so helpful and we even had some great laughs together, we went for the infinitive package and everything was wonderful the room for the reception was everything I pictured and more, everyone made our day perfect and all our guests were delighted with the service as we partied till all hours so I would highly recommend and look forward to coming back in the future

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Margaret F Thank you most sincerely for these kind comments and thank you also on behalf of all on the team for choosing Menlo Park Hotel to host your recent wedding reception . I am delighted to see that you and all of your guests had such a wonderful day. Albert is thrilled with his special mention & passes on his sincere gratitude & best wishes to you. We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    405
    125
    37
    11
See reviews for
173
621
49
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Menlo Park is a lovely hotel, the rooms are large and very comfortable. The public areas look good, although the bar has the look of a "local". The food was good, plentiful and well cooked. The reception staff were very pleasant and welcoming and nothing appeared to be too much trouble....... Unfortunately, when we retired to our room, I pulled back the duvet and discovered the cover was ripped from top to bottom. I called the reception and a new cover was brought to the room. While the cover was being changed I noticed dried blood on the duvet. The receptionist was most apologetic and said the duvet would be disposed of. The next evening on visiting the bar I was given a glass which had lipstick on it. The glass was changed immediately with apologies. I did complain to the Manager and was given a bottle of wine as compensation. Whilst all complaints were dealt with immediately, this is a 4 star hotel and the housekeeping should be of a better standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GC007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent review which in spite of your experience was very balanced and positive in so many ways. It gave us some comfort that you gave us such a strong rating on all other aspects of your stay. Thank you for your compliments about the hotel and the fact that you acknowledged that these issues were immediately dealt with. We really appreciate this but want to express how disappointed we were that this happened in the first place.

This is said in the context that we have always scored highly across all independent reviews sites for cleanliness in our hotel and that we win awards every year, for our standards of housekeeping and service. We have an excellent housekeeping team and as you have said, it is such a shame that this occurrence should undermine their efforts. It goes without saying that this has been fully investigated and appropriate action taken to ensure that this one off incident does not happen again.

Our bar team are aware of the issues with the glass and appropriate action taken with equipment and corrective training has been taken. We absolutely agree with your final comment about the housekeeping standard in relation to your experience. However we wish to assure you that this is an isolated incident and we are confident that is not a true reflection of the normal high standards in our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post the review. As always we use our guest feedback to address issues in a pro-active way.

I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Galway and the Menlo Park hotel again in the future to experience the normal high standards which we take great pride in.
Kind regards form all of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here and the hotel is nice. Has good character and not tired...really nice. It is not walk out the door in shopping area but close enough. Staff was very pleasant, food good and room spacious and clean. Beds in Ireland are not foam soft you find in American but comfortable. I would go back to this hotel..

Room Tip: Can be noisy from street noise if you have your windows open but I sleep with ipod so slept like a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lreid46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, General Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear IReid 46,

Thank you for your review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Michelle
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The staff was top notch! Moira selected a wonderful restaurant for us in town. And arranged for a local tour. Most of the hotel was booked with a golfing group but we didn't feel that our needs were ignored.

Room Tip: Please not there is no fitness centre or swimming pool but there is a nine hole golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bretonbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, General Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Bretonbird,

Thank you for your review.
I have passed your feedback onto the staff who were delighted.
We value all our guests and are happy to hear you felt so well looked after even though we had the golf group staying as well.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Went to the afters of a wedding here in july. My boyfriend and I arrived a little early so we decided to have a sandwich in the bar before heading to the function room. Working in a big hotel myself I understand the importance of positive personalities and was shocked with the service i was given from a gentleman who worked there. We were just looking for nacho's and a sandwich and the member of staff huffed at me as if it was an inconvenience. He was rude towards us and made us feel like he was doing us a favour by taking our order. Very disapointed at this however staff behind the bar at the wedding were lovely and we had a fantastic night after that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, General Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Katie,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that your experience was not as it should have been. Please be assured that this is not our usual standard of service. We are very concerned that you were treated as you were and would be most grateful if you could contact us on guestrelations@menloparkhotel.com as we would like to rectify the situaton as best we can.

Kind Regards,
Michelle
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Not sure that the kitchen is tasting the food which is pretty bad. Veggie burger on two occasions, shocking. Tasteless, poor presentation and uber expensive at nearly €15.

I travel to Galway once a week. Not sure I'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donegalred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, General Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Donegal Red,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the mushroom burger was not up to standard. As a result of your feedback we have replaced it with a Lentil burger that we would love you to try. Please contact me on guestrelations@menloparkhotel.com
Kind Regards,
Michelle,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Menlo Park hotel for 2 nights while exploring Galway and Aran islands. It is a bit of a walk from the city center and about €15 taxi ride from the city center. We upgraded from standard room to the deluxe room with king size bed and a jacuzzi tub for €25/night and it was well worth it! The room was quiet, nicely decorated and huge! It was great having the roomy area to spread out as we got organized and packed our bags to get ready to head home. We had to leave the hotel at 5:30 AM and the staff offered us continental breakfasts despite the fact that they don't start breakfast service until 7AM. Very happy with the service!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PamHiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, General Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Pam,

Thank you for your review.
We are dleighted you enjoyed your stay in our Bridal Suite.
Thank you for your kind comments on the staff - they are delighted to receive such lovely feedback.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#8 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Property: Menlo Park Hotel
Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Family Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 70 quality rooms with 16 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing