We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family feel”
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A family feel”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Menlo three years in a row and amazed to see the standards are always excellent. We also got married there in 2012 and the reception was said by many of our guests to be one of the best they have ever seen! The rooms are cozy and clean, staff is incredibly friendly and everything about the Menlo makes us so happy. Would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Galway.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Veri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Veri,
It was such a pleasure to welcome you and Steve back again this year. Thanks again for your wonderful review and rating, we really appreciate it. We really value and appreciate when our guests return again and again and become like family to us. The Céad Míle Fáilte will always be here for you! With warmest best wishes from all of us ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    427
    133
    42
    11
See reviews for
191
650
50
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel because of its reviews in trip advisor... Myself and my boyfriend chose the deluxe room as a treat.. I do not think it was anything special... We had ferrero rochers the first night and that was it... I relieve the room is decorated nicer but the wallpaper and ceiling was dirty! The room was also very very warm... There should be a fan or something! Complaining over.. I enjoyed the stay! It is in a great location... Right beside the shopping centre and 10 mins to be parked in Galway city! We only ate breakfast in the hotel but the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was lovely! Check in and check out was very easy and quick! The shower also has great pressure! Overall, nice stay :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claradp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Claradp
Thank you very much for your fair and balanced review. As always, all comments are taken and discussed at our Management Meetings. We do pride ourselves on our standards of cleanliness and these standards have received awards over and over. Having said that nothing is ever taken for granted and we do thank you for your feedback.
While we fo not have fans in every room .. we do have them available on request.
So pleased that you found our location good and that you enjoyed your breakfast and the service. Most importantly we are so pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards from all the team..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Done an over night here on our travels around Ireland beautiful food amazing room was massive next door to shopping mall in the heart of Galway close to all amenities like salt hill and Spanish arch would return again no problem staff were also very accommodating

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Michael

Thank you so much for your really great review and excellent rating. We really appreciate it.
So pleased you enjoyed your room and the food. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again when next you visit the city of the tribes!

Warm regards from all the team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a 2 night stay here and had a wonderful experience. The hotel was easy to find and a decent size. There was free parking on site which is always a plus. We were checked in quickly and efficiently which was nice after a long drive. Had requested a quite room so the hotel rang me and suggested I upgrade rooms for 30 euros extra as there was a wedding on the second night. We did this and the room was very quite. It was quite big as it turned out to be a family room with a double and a single bed. The bed was soo comfy! The room was spacious and very clean. It. Was tastefully decorated but with charm also. The bathroom was big and the shower pressure was great. The only downside would be the heat of the room. Although i ensured the actual heating was turned off, the heat in the room itself was a bit too much for comfort. I didn't complain though so can't really fault them! The service was great, all people were very friendly and chatty especially Cono in the bar who made us feel totally relaxed with some special cocktails. The breakfast had a good selection and was really enjoyable. In terms of location, it was a bit out of the city but if you have a car its only about five minutes to park and get to Eyre Square. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my experience here and would recccomend to anybody looking for a weekend away.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natasha1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Natasha,

Thank you so much for the great review you gave us. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the excellent recommendation.
So nice of you to say it was a wonderful experience. We have taken your comments about the heat of the rooms on board and the whole heating system has been investigated.
We have made changes to valves to offer greater control.. so thank you for that!
We look forward to welcoming you back again and we will offer you a free upgrade this time!
Kind regards from all the team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were booked at the Pillo but after a mishap there, they booked us at Menlo Park for one night. All of the staff was very nice and friendly. We weren't at the hotel for very long but enjoyed the comforts of the room while we were there. Breakfast was very good as well with a wide array of foods.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Julian A
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and for giving us an excellent rating. It is much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our accommodations and our food.

Kindest regards from all the team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed in March with a friend in this hotel. We got a lovely room and we also had breakfast the other day. The staff was very friendly and our room was very clean. Would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Caitlinn

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Thanks also for your recommendation.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards from all the team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here twice and both times we really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were perfect, nice size and very clean. We had dinner in the restaurant in the hotel the food was delicious. It's a 10/15 minute walk from the city so you have the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squishiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Squishiy
Thanks so much for your lovely review and great rating. We really appreciate it.
We are pleased that our location worked well for you.
Thank you also about the comments about our food and the size of the rooms.

We hope to see you again when you come back to Galway..
Kind regards from all the team..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#9 of 46 in Galway
493 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,124 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,095 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,921 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Property: Menlo Park Hotel
Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Family Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 81 quality rooms with 20 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing