We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned values live here!”
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Menlo Park gave my wife and I a comfortable location to stay in Galway and a great launching point for driving in the Connamara area. The hotel is large, very well maintained and the staff were all brilliant. Even the cleaners in the halls would offer a cheery hello. Our only criticisms would be that our room was far too warm for comfortable sleeping and some of the dining room chairs had lost their spring resulting in a very low seat to table top ratio. Overall though our experience here was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetrolPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Petrolpete
Thanks for the great review and very useful feedback which we will certainly use.
It was nice you picked up on the "old fashioned values" .. that means a great deal and we thank you so much for that.
With every best wish from all the team ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Recently I and my husband stayed in The Menlo Park Hotel. It was a great stay. The staff were nice friendly people, the room was well heated and the food was tasty. I would stay here again for sure and would advise anyone planning to visit Galway to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Danielle,

Thank you so much for your great review and rating as well as your recommendations.
We do hope to have the pleasure of having you stay again..
Please enter "tripadvisor" as promotion code to receive a special discount.
Kind regards from all the team...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you are traveling to Galway I highly recommend staying at the Menlo Park Hotel! We instantly felt like we were home with family. The staff was incredible, more than welcoming and very attentive to their clients! The rooms were very well sized, immaculate and extremely comfortable! The food was so delicious and I am craving it right now as I type this review. We stayed here for a few nights at the beginning of our vacation and all we did was want to go back to end it there, the entire staff and feel of this hotel is enchanting. My fiancé told them that we were getting engaged the next day (I had no idea) and they were so excited for us! The day we were engaged we were welcomed with champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and cheers from everyone at the hotel. From the day we arrived everyone knew our names, being in customer service myself I know that knowing your clients and their names is very important and personable, this made us feel even more welcomed. I cannot wait to return, most definitely for our first wedding anniversary :). We were fortunate enough to see the venue they had for weddings and it was stunning! If it were easier for our families to travel we would definitely have booked here for our wedding. The location is perfect, I would recommend renting a car regardless so you can get around on your own terms, but this hotel is in such a relaxing area and not far from the city centre. We are so grateful for the care and phenomenal job they did and do here, we seriously cannot wait to return and see all of our friends at the Menlo Park Hotel! Great job everyone! I strongly recommend at least booking one or two nights here and then you'll understand why it was so hard for us to leave, and you'll probably end up staying at least another night or two... or three ;D Again, absolutely enchanting! Thank you again for such a memorable experience during our most memorable moment! Can't wait to come back! You guys are awesome and we love you all!

Room Tip: The entire hotel was very relaxing as most things in Ireland tend to settle down around 9pm. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice-N-Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Candice and Matt,
It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us. We so appreciate all your wonderful comments and praise. We would so love to welcome you back on your anniversary!
Please do stay in touch and let us know when you plan to come back.
Warmest regards and thanks again for all of us here at The Menlo Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

we visited the hotel recently for lunch and i must say that it was very reasonable .The staff were very attentive towards the children.Although the hotel does not a leiure centre ,its location is quiet good The food was quiet tasty and they did not charge us for the diluted drinks for the kids.The receptionist was very friendly and asked if we wanted to read any of the daily new papers which i thought was very nice of her.The only fault i had , was when my daughter went to the bar to get another cup,the barman wasn't very friendly in that he ignored her. I then had to go back in.I don't know was it because he was a low size man and he may not have seen her.i must compliment the cleaning staff as the general toilet off reception were spotless as well as the toilet off the main conference room .Their was also a very nice area to relax in just outside the ballroom which may have been for weddings but we availed of it and it was very comfortable.Well done.

Room Tip: you could leave the car at the hotel as a taxi would be no more that 10 euros in to the city centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Paddy I
Thank you very much for your very positive review about our premises, staff and food.
We offer great deals for famlies and we are delighted to welcome our smaller guests so I am
so sorry that your lttle one was literally overlooked!
A tip! We are doing some great food deals to celebrate our 15 years of being in business.. for example desserts for two adults and two children plus coffees for the adults for €15.. Two salads and two glasses of wine €15 Steak and a Pint or wine for €15 ... we have several deals.. ask our staff for details..
Kindest regards from all the team..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The staff really made our stay special. Bar staff, front of desk staff and the lovely bloke who looked after us during our family party, were excellent. 1st rate customer service. Hotel was exceptionally clean and within a short walking distance of the town centre (10 min). We have stayed at this hotel twice now and will definitely come again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66Anna_W_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Anna,
it was an absolute pleasure to welcome you and your family. Thank you so much for the great review and excellent rating - it is very much appreciated. It is always lovely to welcome our guests back again and we certainly look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards from all the team...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Recently on April 17th though April 22nd, my wife and I spent five nights at the Menlo Park Hotel. We had a very good stay and we were always surrounded by the services and attention of its wonderful, friendly, and very helpful staff. Every questions was answered, every wish was met. From the moment we arrived, we were very pleased by everybody, for example, when our room was not ready, we were offered some coffee and tea while waiting.

Our room (number 205) was very large, immaculately clean and equipped with all the comforts of a four star accommodation. But we did not have a safe in it. This however was not really that important and the staff was helpful storing our important documents in the front-desk safe. Later on by the afternoon of our arrival I started to notice a low-rumble constant noise in the room. In view of this and considering that we will be there five nights, I called the front desk, described my concern, and later on in a short time, we were offered a room change at the other end of the same floor and hallway. Our new room (number 212), was exceptionally quiet and somewhat larger.

The breakfast buffet and service were just great, not only the ingredients and variety were very good, but also the hot dishes prepared at the moment we order. Everybody in the breakfast and restaurant service was very gracious and attentive. Also, we had dinner once in the restaurant and we were very satisfied with the food preparation and quality.

The Hotel is located somewhat outside the center of Galway, out of the crowded and noisy areas. To reach the tourist sites and Eyre Square you have three options, all of them good. Walking takes about 15 min at a good pace, the bus runs frequently and takes less than 5 min (1.8 euros/person), the bus stop is just a few steps outside the hotel. A Taxi will cost about 6 euros. We did all of those and we saw no problems at all.

We could not avoid to notice that the Hotel shows some signs of age. Everything works well, but some peeling and cracking paint is visible everywhere. Perhaps most noticeably is the old plumbing and fixtures in the bathrooms. In our room for example, the toilet paper roll kept falling off the holder, and the shower controls were very old and somewhat noisy and cranky.

In all we enjoyed our stay very much. Added advantages to staying at the Menlo Park is that the rates are very good, and you can also book your day tours directly at the front desk. I would recommend anyone heading to Galway to stay at the Menlo Park.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josebenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Josebenjamin
Thank you so much for your excellent review. It is great that your needs were taken care of promptly and that you had a comfortable stay. Our guests' needs are what matter to us most. We have refurbished most of the bathrooms with new fittings. The exterior of the hotel has just been painted again and there is ongoing maintenance and refurbishment in the hotel. Just this week, we are also laying luxury new carpets in the bedroom corridors upstairs. Because we are a privately and family owned hotel, there is an ongoing commitment to re-investment in the product.
Thanks again for the great comments and review of our property.
Kind regards from all the team ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Menlo Park was very close to all activities. It was not located on my GPS, so it was a little frustrating to find, but once I found it, it was always easy to find after that. Rooms were clean, staff very knowledgable about the area. Wonderful things to do. Loved our room. There was nothing we did not like about this place. Having a parking lot at the facility with free parking is a definate plus after parking in parking garages all week at other places. Very close to the shore and all the activities. You'll love it.

Room Tip: All rooms were good I would suspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Matthew,
We are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with and we very much appreciate the great review and rating. Thanks as well for the feedback on the GPS .. we will check it out..
So pleased you were happy with the rates and value we offer. We also have good last minute deals on our website. Thanks again. Kind regards from all the team ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,169 reviews
5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,806 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#3 of 46 in Galway
2,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
411 reviews
1 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $79 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 81 quality rooms with 20 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing