We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here for a night and have to say we were very impressed with hotel. The room was very clean and despite the low price of our stay, the room itself was of a high standard with a good TV, large comfortable bed and free wireless internet.

The bar was typical for a hotel but the staff were friendly. Food in restaurant was also of a high quality but more value would be available in restaurants in city center. Staff were also very friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmanire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
MrManire
Thank you so much for the excellent review and rating and your recommendation.
Our menus can be viewed or downloaded from the hotel website. We also have special offers
and deals inhouse for food and drinks.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Kind regards from all the team....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    426
    133
    41
    11
See reviews for
191
647
50
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and I'm just sorry I couldn't stay longer. Spotless hotel, staff couldn't be more friendly and the food was great too. It's a little bit far out if town to walk but that wouldn't turn me off returning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tipp90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Tipp90
Thanks for the great review and rating. We are really delighted you enjoyed your stay and so pleased that we can look forward to your returning to stay with us again. We do hope that the next time, it may be for a longer period.
Kind regards from all the team....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stay in a lot of hotels, and I have to say this is one of the nicest.

They get a lot of the basics right, which so many do not.

Good Points

Room was spacious clean, and tidy. Shower excellent. Iron in the room. Free wireless internet. Massive comfortable bed. Somewhere to sit, and work. Decent telly. Warm.

Friendly staff, and quick with it, no messing about.

Restaurant was expensive though, although food was good, and breakfast is one of the best I have had at a hotel.

Room rate was cheap.

Smoking Rooms.. (Some of us still smoke!!) Thank you!

Bad Points - although not an issue for me

Room looks a bit dated.

Parking is a nightmare if you get there later. Lots of taxis taking up spaces.

Not exactly close to the city centre - but no wait for a taxi (see above)


I have recommended this hotel to my company and will be staying there again

Room Tip: Go for a double room.... lots of space. Its not expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewTharstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Andrew.
A sincere thank you for the excellent review and great rating. Your comments are very much appreciated. We have deals available in house for food and beverages. We offer a two course menu for example in the restuarant for €22.00 so should you enjoy the ambience of the restaurant, this may appeal. Delighted you enjoyed the breakfast. We are continuously updating our rooms and the majority have already been refurbished recently. Since you will be staying with us on an ongoing basis you may like to join our new loyalty club which will entitle you to a complimentary upgrade when available. Please be assured that the parking is not usually an issue unless we have a large meeting or event in-house.
We are really delighted that you have asked your company to book this hotel for you and we look forward to extending a warm welcome back to you when next you stay.
Kind regards from all the team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The room we were staying in was very nice. The bed was very comfy and the seating area in front of the window was very comfortable also. The fact that they provided tea, coffee and hot chocolate was very much appreciated as I live on coffee but not past 6pm. The bathroom was clean and warm and the shower had excellent water pressure. It was a bit warm in the room, but once we turned off the heat and opened the window it was better.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. I discovered I forgot my phone charger and when I asked at reception if they had a spare they produced a box of different phone chargers and were willing to let me take one for the duration of my stay. They also had no problem booking a taxi for us that turned up straight away.
Overall I'd recommend anyone that's staying in Galway to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron_aine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Ron-Aine. Thanks for the great review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your room. We were also pleased to hear you found the bed nice and comfy and that you enjoyed your hot chocolate. It is great to know that you felt you were well looked after by the staff. Thank you very much for the recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you when you are next in Galway.. Kind regards from all the team..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms were nice and comfortable...free wifi in the rooms, bar downstairs (great traditional Irish band one night, sucky kids trying to sing American songs another night)--but nice bar! One small elevator and lots of stairs...European adapter and American 120 here!!

Really, though, this hotel is not near anything but a Dunne's store (kinda like a Walmart, but not)...had to take a taxi into town (otherwise we were too wore out to walk around the city--which is VERY cool to explore).

Saw St. Patrick's Day here--that was very neat and different (more political then one might imagine, but very safe the same)...police were very nice too (got my pic with a cute one)...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baloo499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Baloo.. Thanks for the review. Delighted that you found the rooms nice and comfortable and that you appreciated the free wifi . So good you enjoyed the traditional music. The Dunnes Store shopping complex and the Liosban Retail Park are indeed almost opposite the hotel in the same large area and just down from that is the main Galway Shopping Centre and retail park - There is also a cinema complex there. In the Liosban Park there is also a Karting track and the famous Kenny Bookshop and Gallery. This is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. There is a bus stop right beside the hotel and we offer a free phone for taxis at reception also.
So pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit to our city..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

There was nothing in particular wrong with this hotel, it's just kind of out of the way and full or older people. It's hard to escape pretty awful bar music (one man with guitar and drum machine kind of stuff) or crappy chart music blaring from the function room. It's a functional place and grand if you don't mind spending €10 taxi rides in and out of the city centre, but then why not just stay in the city centre! We went on a citydeal/living social voucher so can't really complain about what we paid, although if we had had to pay normal rates for 2 nights B&B I guess I wouldn't have been so positive in my review.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Comanj
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves here on offering a warm and welcoming atmosphere to everybody. That is something we receive many positive comments on.
We also welcome constructive comments which we can use to enhance and improve our service and guests' experience. Unfortunately as we do not know when you stayed with us, it is difficult to know which band in the bar you were referring to.
Many guests choose to stay with us because of the fact that they can park their car without any charge for the duration of their stay. We are located less than one mile from the city centre and there is a regular bus service for those who choose not to walk or take a cab.
We look forward to welcoming back our many regular and valued guests who enjoy our hotel, our staff and our service. With every best wish from all the team at The Menlo Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just had four lovely day's in the Menlo Park hotel stayed in room 234 and once again the hotel did not disappoint us, everything that we required was looked after and the staff are very friendly and courteous The food is exceptional breakfast has a great choice and the pancakes are to die for.I feel the only thing missing is a pool but not too off putting. I would recommend this hotel to everyone going to stay in Galway and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room well worth the extra money..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivianl562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Vivian
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
As a matter of interest, we have an arrangement with NRG health and fitness in Bohermore for guests who wish to use the gym or pool/sauna facilities. It's only a couple of minutes by car.
We also offer in house pamper treatments with Helena Martin of Galway Relaxation. These can be pre-booked.
Warm regards from all the team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#9 of 46 in Galway
488 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,121 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,093 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,920 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Property: Menlo Park Hotel
Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Family Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 81 quality rooms with 20 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing