We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little hotel”
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Castlebar, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great little hotel”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed a night here with family, fourteen in total. Its very comfortable, warm and the staff are very nice and helpful. Could do with a touch up here or there but nothing that would put you off. Rooms were very spacious. The food was excellent. We had a meal for fourteen, including six small children and the quality was very good. I had Pork belly, followed by scallops and a really nice brownie for dessert. It was all delicious. All the meals were great and they have a great choice for the kids. The breakfast next moring was excellent as well. Great choice. The staff were so helpful and the service was very good. Its not a 4 star hotel, but it is a nice place to stay with great food and really nice staff. We got a room for 2 adults and 2 kids, one double bed and two singles, breakfast for four and a lovely 3 course a la carte meal for the adults and kids menu for 130 euro all in. You could pay a lot more and you wouldn't get as good. Will stay again for sure.

Room Tip: Some rooms are bigger than others, ask what size, how many full beds are in room, we got a family ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear RB
Thanks for your really great review. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you'll be back for sure.... At the end of the day that is what really matters.. We continue to develop our facilities and service based on feedback from guests with ongoing re-investment by the owner in the property which is one very positive aspect of being a privately owned hotel.
We wish you a very happy 2013 and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards from all the team....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    422
    130
    37
    11
See reviews for
182
638
49
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I staid at the Menlo hotel and it was great! We got a great deal with living social! Girls at reception were great. Breakfast was yummy, dinner was delicious and the free mojitios were fabulous. The hotel was warm and cosy. We will definitely be back for another night soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 107Riri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We also offer great value on the hotel website. If guests enter "tripadvisor" as promotional code
they can benefit from a further discount on the rates.
We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Arrived midday and was greeted by a very friendly receptionist. We did say we were a little early however she said the room would be ready soon, and gave us a complimentary tea in the bar/dining area. The room was indeed ready within 20 or so minutes. We had a light lunch in the bar area and it was vary tasty and reasonably priced. This dining area seemed quite popular and was relatively busy with both locals and visitors. We had a king size room which was well appointed tastefully decorated,very spacious and had a bath and shower which was also quite large. The addition of complimentary water and fresh fruit was a great touch also. The hotel is situated about 15 min walk from the centre of Galway which suited us as we did not want a centre city hotel. Requests for extras in the room were met with a smile and were all delivered promptly. We had an evening meal and drinks in the bar area later that evening which was all very tasty and reasonably priced. The next evening we availed of a meal as part of our package only this time we used the main dining room. This room is also used for breakfast and is very well decorated and well appointed also. The meal we did find a little disappointing however and we felt the chef was trying too hard with the presentation and not hard enough with the food itself. In saying this the food was certainly edible but lacked seasoning, was somewhat bland and a little oily and was not quite up to the standard which we expected from the menu. We were asked by the efficient waiter was everything ok and when we expressed our disappointment the manager immediately responded and spoke with us. Overall I was impressed with his eagerness to make things better for us and was satisfied that he took our constructive criticism on-board.We were given a complimentary drink and and a discount off our bill from the management. I should add that I did not complain with this in mind and was quite happy to pay the amount as advertise, however it was a genuine and sincere gesture which we gratefully accepted.. I did feel the Hotel was making great efforts to please it's customers and make their stay as pleasant as possible especially in these recessionary times and would have no hesitation going back. The location suited our needs but some people might like a more centre city location. If you are booking check the special deals this Hotel offers and I doubt you will be disappointed ,they do give value for money. The King size bedrooms are the ones to go for .Free car parking and wi fi are also a nice bonus.

Room Tip: Look for their on-line special deals and chose the room with the king size beds if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin162010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you sincerely for your very detailed, fair and balanced review of our property. Thank you for highlighting so many positive aspects of our hotel and our staff. Your review has been discussed at the management meeting and the chef in particular is aware of your feedback. We have used this to assess our menus and quality and production. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Every best wish and blessing for 2013 from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel itself is very central to the city, very close to all amenities. Staff are very welcoming and friendly. Service is quick and efficient. Food is great with a good variety and its made fresh when you order to give best quality food. The rooms are very relaxing, cosy and warm. Everything you need. The hotel for me gives me a sense of home its very comfortable and peaceful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccajordan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Rebecca,
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We really appreciate all of your positive comments.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards from all of the staff...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo Irelandd
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had the recent pleasure at staying at the Menlo Park Galway. I'm a person with a disability and have a guidedog and found the hotel guidedog friendly! the staff where helpful and friendly and the hotel was warm and cosy. also loved the room it was clean and comfortable. brilliant hotel!

Room Tip: all rooms seemed comfortable for people and guidedog
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear JackieM
Thankyou for your lovely review. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you and your guide dog.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to welcome you again soon.
Warmest regards from all the team..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

went there last month in a business trip to Galway and it was the first time I stay there " wanted to try a new hotel in Galway"
the Hotel it self is a bit outdated but everything is very clean and tied
the staff is the friendliest I have ever met in Ireland so far
the food is UN REAL : even if you don't want to stay in the hotel YOU HAVE TO TRY THE FOOD THERE
also the internet service is FANTASTIC
over all I told my company to change all my nights in Galway to this hotel and so did my other colleagues after they tried it
highly recommended and will be there soon again :)

Room Tip: I think there are rooms that have been renewed so try to ask for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haitham_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Haitham Dublin .. What a great review ... thankyou!! We are so delighted that you tried us out and that you are coming back... We love to make new friends!! We have refurbished nearly all of the rooms and the refurbishment programme continues .. we are always updating and redecorating. We are an independently owned hotel and the family take pride in re-investment which is great. We look forward to seeing you again... Kind regards from all at The Menlo Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have just spent 5 days touring Ireland with friends & would like to say what a fantastic country & what fantastic people.

I would like to say that the Hotel we stayed at in Galway, Menlo Park,was excellent, the staff the service & the accomodation was first class.
I would advise this hotel to ant visiters to Galway

Ro Ro

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Yves G
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We so appreciate the positive comments and your recommendation. We are really delighted that you enjoyed your trip to Ireland and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends again.
Kindest regards from all the team..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#7 of 45 in Galway
469 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,050 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
324 reviews
5.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,074 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Property: Menlo Park Hotel
Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Family Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 70 quality rooms with 16 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing