We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay”
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Greystones, Wicklow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Spent 1 night at The Menlo, when we checked in we were upgraded as we were celebrating a birthday. The staff were extremely friendly & Deirdre in reservations / front desk was so friendly, professional & helpful. The breakfast was really really good with so much to choose from. The rooms were so warm & spotlessly clean. The location is great with the Galway shopping centre on 5 min walk away. Really really looking forward to our next visit. Thanks to all at the Menlo Park Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 223 was lovely, enjoy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Erica
Thank you for your great review. We are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay and a little bit of indulgence for your birthday! Deirdre was delighted with your comments!
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next celebration.
We also offer great celebration packages in the restaurant for all family functions.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again. Best from all the team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    422
    130
    37
    11
See reviews for
182
638
49
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

my wife and myself stayed here for 3 days from 30 oct to 2nd of nov everything was wonderful from breakfast to evening meal receptionist w as very helpful room was really nice and spacious we have stayed in menlo about 4 times before and hope to go back again soon

Room Tip: ask for upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larrykielthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Larry
Thankyou so much for your lovely review. We love to welcome back our regular guests.
Do keep an eye for our special offers on our website .. we are offering some great packages
for December for the Christmas Markets and also in new year.
We look forward to welcoming you back again. Mention tripadvisor when booking.
Kind regards from all the team....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We paid the extra €20 for deluxe room. Good room in terms of size & decor.
I requested a quiet room & was given room 209. Despite being on the side of a main road there was little to no noise from traffic but there was noise from the hallway.
There was complimenatry water & fruit set out on arrival. The water was welcome however we could have done without the fruit, but, having presented with it we were dissapointed to see bruised strawberrys with mould on one & the rest wasn't in great shape either.
We had an issue with the shower which was reported shortly after check in but they couldn't get anybody to look at it until 7pm. As a result we couldn't enjoy a few hours relaxing before heading to town. It was sorted on our return however.
The breakfast was distinctly average. We had an order taken. Two minutes later the buffet arrived out & we were left waiting for another 5-10minutes before our food was served.
The buffet started shortly after 9.30am. Had we arrived long before that we would have been limited to the portions set on the menu.
The major plus of the hotel is its location. €10 in to the middle of Galway.
Would use again but without any great expectations.

Room Tip: Go with a recommendation you can find in the reviews. Do not leave it up to the hotel to choose for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear
Thanks for the very detailed and helpful review. The room you were allocated is to the front of the hotel and as you say because the hotel is set well back from the road in it's own parkland, noise from the road is not an issue. We regret that there was noise in the hallway.
Your comments about the fruit have been observed by the accommodation staff and a new operation standard in relation to the presentation of fruit has been put in place. Damaged fruit should never have been put in your room.
In relation to the shower, the plumber was on The Aran islands and came straight to the hotel off the boat as his colleague was away for the weekend so we are sorry that there was a delay.
In relation to the breakfast, we do not put out the buffet until there is a constant flow of guests. We offer a full menu which on the contrary has the usual choices plus omelettes and pancakes which are always popular. We are delighted that you found the location good and especially that you would stay again. Thanks again for the review... All the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights in November 2012. We spent a week total in Ireland and stayed in Dublin, Cork, and Galway - in four different hotels. In terms of size, Menlo Park Hotel offered the largest room by far. Compared to the other places, our room at Menlo Park seemed gigantic! All the staff we encountered was friendly and helpful. We booked a tour of the Cliffs of Moher through the hotel and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. We ate in the restaurant once for dinner - which was delicious, although pricey (definitely a more upscale eating environment) - and we ate dinner once in the bar as well - which was also delicious. We also had breakfast, which we'd added onto our room. Again, delicious. We had no complaints whatsoever with the hotel. The only thing I could even say against the hotel is the location. It's on the edge of the city. It's a 20 minute walk to the nearest shopping center; and you have to walk through two roundabouts that are pretty busy - one of which doesn't have any crosswalks or crossing lights for pedestrians.

In addition, my husband left his wedding ring in the bathroom of our room the morning we checked out. We realized this that afternoon and called the hotel to see if they'd found it. The staff was very helpful on the phone, but were unable to find it. Since we can't figure out any other time or place he would have removed the ring (he only takes it off to shower), we're pretty convinced that someone with access to the room after we checked out (new guests or cleaning crew) pocketed it. So just be thorough in your check of the room when it comes time to check out!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thelostmeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear "Thelostmeggie"
Thank you for your overall very positive comments about our property. We really appreciate that.
In relation to the loss of your husband's ring, it is certainly regrettable that it was lost.
When you called, the staff carried out a complete and thorough check right down to checking the vacuum cleaner dust bags. We wish to assure you that our housekeeping staff have been with us for 8 years and that we never have any issues of this kind. We are a very busy hotel. Furthermore, the turnover of staff is negligible. We have strict procedures in place for lost property.
A complete and thorough check as well as investigation was done in advance of the next guests checking in. It would therefore be unfair to suggest that another guest may have "pocketed" it. We do hope that you may still find the ring.
All in all, given this regrettable experience, we really appreciate all of the positive comments and wish to assure you that if anything new did come to light that we would let you know immediately. We have your details on file.
Kind regards from all the team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here earlier in 2012 with my girlfriend and had a good weekend. Staff were very friendly and the room/bathroom were spotless. The hotel itself would be older than most hotels we've stayed in, not that this is a negative in any way, but it the best way I can describe it is that it was a little under-whelming. Having stayed in other nearby hotels previously, I found this to be slightly more expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnFitz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear JohnFitz7
Thanks for your good review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
You mentioned about our pricing.. you may have stayed when we were busy.
We flex our rates according to avaialbilty and as such offer incredible deals and value also!
Our rates and special packages and last minute offers are on our website.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again... Great rates on our website!
and you can enter "tripadvisor" as promo code for even more discounts..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greysteel, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Istayed here for a one night break. WAs delighted with the hotel and the staff where really friendly and helpful.My room was on the first floor and was spacious, well decorated and really clean, the bathroom was gorgeous & a great shower too.I only had breakfast,in clean and friendly environment.
Overall a great experience 5 out 5.....

Room Tip: Stay here several times in different rooms pleased no matter where the room was situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Charles M
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are so pleased that you continue to enjoy
your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you the next time.

From all the team....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The check-in staff were so friendly and helpful, and very knowledgeable about the town and surroundings. The food was to perfection with great friendly Irish service. The rooms were magnificent. I would highly recommend this hotel for large groups or for a family!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gman19641964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Gman
Thank you so much for the great review. We will be delighted to welcome any group or
family who choose to taken you up on your recommendation!
We are sincerely delighted with your comments and so pleased that you had a great time with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company again on your next visit to Ireland.
Warm regards from all the team ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#7 of 45 in Galway
469 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,050 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
325 reviews
5.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,074 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Property: Menlo Park Hotel
Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Family Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 70 quality rooms with 16 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing