We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Strand, South Africa
1 review
“Warm and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I can recommend this hotel to any traveller that seek friendliness and understanding when arriving in a foreign. The ammenities were great. (Herald and Patricia Potgieter)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It is really nice to know that as a tourist to our city, our
"friendliness and understanding" as you put it had a positive impact. We are delighted that you would recommend us. Your comments will be used to highlight to our staff the importance of always being aware, open and friendly and to create an even stronger awareness about what this means to our guests. Warm regards from all the team...Thanks again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    405
    125
    37
    11
See reviews for
173
621
49
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I recently spent a night here with a family member and found it to be good value for money. We booked a twin room (which turned out to be a triple) for €85 incl. breakfast. Upon arrival, we were given a warm welcome by the receptionist and an attentive concierge.

We got breakfast delivered to the room for an extra €4.50 per person. We ordered an Irish breakfast, which was of tasty and of good quality compared to the usual dried up bacon and pudding and hard fried eggs that one finds in other hotels.

The night before we got dinner in the bar. It was reasonably priced and very nice, though dessert was a disappointment. The coffee was also quite nice (which is a major index of "revisitability" in my book!).

The room was very comfortable. The beds were firm and supportive, as were the pillows. The bathroom was spacious and spotless, though the cold tap made strange shrieking noises when you turned it on. The shower had good pressure, but the shower gel and shampoo felt a bit cheap. The room itself was warm, with adjustable heat. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms by requesting it from reception. The speed is quite fast.

The only criticism I have of the whole experience is the paper-thin walls. There was a group of women staying on our floor and you could hear them murmuring clearly for most of the night (thankfully, they quietened down around midnight). While it wasn't a major annoyance, it could proven so if a more vocal party were staying in the room next door.

The city centre is about a 20 minute walk away or a 10 minute drive (or 20-25 during rush-hour). A supermarket and shopping centre is about a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishTraveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review. We were delighted that you felt warmly welcomed. It was also good that you enjoyed your room service breakfast. We are now launching a full new bar food menu with a new dessert section included. This is a really lovely menu and will be available from our website early May. We were delighted that you found your room comfortable. The shampoo and conditioner are in dispensers .. but let me hasten to add Designer Parisien dispensers!
We are applying for the Green Award and installing this standard is part of that qualification so it was an “eco” decision to move away from the small bottles etc. We offer a free phone at reception for a taxi service or there is a bus service right outside the hotel which runs to the city centre. In relation to paper walls.. There is one section of the hotel where the structure is newer and more timber framed in style .. although in general well soundproofed. Our triple rooms are in the original building where the walls are of solid concrete construction. This is not a complaint we receive often but occasionally and we do try to keep groups – especially if they might tend to be loud away from other guests. As always comments from our guests help us to re-double our efforts to do whatever we can within our power to organise our hotel in such a way to ensure the utmost comfort for our guests and it is important that we are always mindful of this in allocating rooms. Thanks again for the valuable feedback.
From all the team....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nearly everything about my experience here was bad. I was given a key only to find someone was already in my room, I had to wait 30min for the hotel to find one. Wireless internet was worse than sipping through a pixie straw after I waited over 2hrs to get a working password. The walls are paper thin and I listened to my neighbors hacking cough all night. My non-smoking room reeked of old smoke and I had to leave the room window open. The hotel food was expensive and way below par.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Nick H
In response to your review, we are genuinely sorry for the difficulties you experienced and that your overall perception of our hotel was impacted in such a negative way. It is indeed a shame that not one positive aspect of our hotel as reported by other Tripadvisor visitors did not influence you. We have investigated as much as we can what might have happened on the day you stayed with us. As a general rule if guests do not specify a smoking room we would always book a non-smoking room. This whole issue is certainly something we are strongly discussing at the moment and we are considering making the whole hotel non – smoking as even the smokers on our management team agree that this is overall a better option. Overall a sincere apology for the delays experienced by you. We recently put in new WIFI boosters so in general, we do not regularly have problems. We have launched new menus in our Bar Beoga and Restaurant Bia Beo and in general we get fantastic feedback on our food. We genuinely regret your experience and perception of our property, and should you be coming back again, we would love the opportunity to welcome you and reverse this. Sincerely .. All the team..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 763 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Our trip to Galway came up at fairly short notice & my booking of the Menlo Park was based solely on the results of reading a few reviews here on Tripadvisor. That turned out to be an inspired decision as TA didn't let me down & this hotel is one of the best we've ever stayed at. I rang for directions to the hotel & for some info on dinner, car parking etc & was answered by Georgina who gave me a multitude of great info & might I add, very clear driving directions. As it happens, the hotel is easily reached from the road that we were using, the Sligo/Galway road (N17). No problems in the car park getting a space even though the hotel seemed to be quite busy. Into reception & unluckily, we thought, an American school choir had got in just before us & we thought we'd be waiting a while to get checked in. Not at all, Eimear was paged to reception & she arrived immediately & called us forward to the desk for a very smooth, friendly & informative check in during which we booked dinner & got walking directions into the city.
Our room was quite simply, wow. Big, bright, clean, comfortable, nicely decorated & with a carpeted floor it had a wall mounted tv, big comfortable double bed with great bedding & pillows, large wardrobe, table, chairs, full length mirror, luggage rack, iron & ironing board, safe, dresser/workstation, tea, coffee, hot chocolate & biscuits. The large window meant the room had alot of natural light. There were no noise issues from inside or outside of the hotel & this coupled with the great bed meant that sleep quality was excellent. We requested an extra satchet of hot chocolate & it was delivered to our room within approx 2 minutes
Our bathroom was huge & was bright, clean & modern. With fully tiled walls & floors it had a large shower enclosure, oversized fixed head shower with good pressure & loads of hot water, shampoo, shower gel, towels, large mirror, telescopic makeup/shaving mirror, ceiling extraction fan, dual voltage shaving socket & was heated by a radiator with trv.
We had dinner in the restaurant & it was superb. Both of us took seafood main courses & they were not just well presented but were decent sized portions that were very well cooked & tasty. The restaurant staff were all exceptionally friendly & attentive.
We spent a few hours in the bar after dinner rather than going in to the city centre & were glad we did. The bar is big but needed to be because it had alot of customers. With live music, a friendly clientele, comfortable seating, great decor, fast service at the bar & very reasonable prices, it was no wonder there was a great atmosphere in there. There is also a nice outside seated area part covered, part uncovered, which was nice for a drink when the sun was shining down on us in the late afternoon.
Breakfast, you've guessed it, was very good. Not too busy but with enough staff to cope if it had been, the choice of good food included cereals, fresh fruit slices, cheeses, yoghurts, toast, croissants, pastries, porridge, omelettes, salami, cold ham slices, full Irish fry, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, flavoured teas & fruit juices.
The hotel has a large lobby where you could relax, have a coffee or read the complimentary national newspapers that were available at reception. Security in the hotel was good with a security man visible though discreetly so & with lifts that could only be accessed by swiping in your room card. Check out was up to 12.00 midday but we were told that we could take a little longer if we needed to, which we didn't but the offer was appreciated. We were allowed to leave our car, free of charge, in the hotel car park until we left Galway after 17.00.
Location wise, the hotel is approx a 20 minute easy stroll on mostly level ground to Eyre Square & there are numerous shopping opportunities on that route such as the Terryland Shopping Centre, Galway Shopping Centre, Galway Retail Park & a cinema complex & a bowling centre which are all within a few short minutes walk of the hotel.
Very high standards of customer care, service & attention to detail are very evident in all of the staff & the hotel facilities are second to none. We're trying to find an excuse to get back to Galway so that we can stay in The Menlo Park again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gaildorfblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear MicDev..
Thank you so much for such a fantastic and comprehensive review. Georgina and Eimear were thrilled that you mentioned them in such a positive way. We are all the time upgrading our facilities and for the next time, most of our bathrooms will have been updated and our upstairs corridors will be treated to lovely new carpets. Please DO let us know when you intend to pay a return visit as we would like to make sure you try one of our Executive Rooms. Also when you book again make sure to enter "tripadvisor" as promotional code to avail of an additional discount off our best available rate.
Thanks again for such a great and encouraging review. From all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Price was reasonable but service in the restaurant and bar was mixed - really depended in the staff and varied quite a bit. Breakfast was just okay, food average; first morning service was excellent but on our second day was very poor. We had one evening meal in the restaurant - fabulous - but next night in the bar was very disappointing. As for the location - not good. On the outskirts of town in a suburban area. I would say you really need a car if staying here. On the up side, rooms were very comfortable and clean. So overall, a mixed experience. In sum I'd recommend this hotel if you're not too fussed about being a bit out of town and if you're expectations of dining and service are not too high.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneBusyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear MelbourneBusyMum.. Thankyou for posting your review of our property.
We were delighted first of all that you found the accommodation to be very comfortable and clean.
We apologise that you experienced inconsistency in our service and your comments can help us to focus on this and establish how such inconsistency arose. It was so nice that you said one of your evening meals was "fabulous" .. and that the service on one morning was excellent. We very much appreciate your balanced comments and are encouraged to absolutely ensure that this is the standard to which we operate in a fully consistent manner and at all times.
We get mixed comments about location, some people like the fact that they can park the cark free of charge and use a bus or taxi or walk into town. Other people do prefer to be full in the thick of the city. We are located a half mile from the shopping centre and one mile from the centre of town - Eyre Square.Thankfully we feel sure that the warmth of our welcome and the service we provide in general continues to exceed guest's expectations and we do consistently strive towards this. Thank you again for your comments. Best regards from all the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Staff were excellent but definitely needs an updating, was disappointed that it is supposed to be a 4star hotel as we had previously stayed in the Knightsbrook Hotel in Trim, also a 4star. (absolutely fabulous hotel!) Bed was very uncomfortable, mattress was old and worn, ended up taking turns sleeping in the single bed! Not great for a couples weekend away! Room was right next to the lift so screeching could be heard from it all night, air conditioning unit outside the room also, got used to the noise from the air conditioning after the first night so that wasn't too bad but we were both woken up early each morning by housekeeping as there was a store room next to our room, door was left on the latch by staff so every few minutes it was banging shut. Customer service was great however, we got a follow up call after leaving to apologise and offer us an upgrade if we stay again but I can't see it happening, may book the Pillo hotel across the road next time we're going to Galway

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Leona O.
Thank you for your review and for the fact that in spite of your experience you balanced this with your comment about the customer service.
We apologise sincerely that your stay was less than satisfactory. On a positive note, all feedback here is taken very seriously and already on the basis of the comment card you left when checking out, a meeting has been held, the condensers at the back of the building have been checked and a new procedure has been implemented for Accommodation staff when entering the storage area.
As you know, we have called you and emailed you and as already promised we would be delighted to take really good care of you should you choose to stay with us again. We have already issued you with a code which will qualify you for an upgrade to one of our 16 kingsize rooms so we can absolutely guarantee your comfort! We would love if you would use it.
We would certainly really love to have you back and back hope you will give us the chance to make your stay really special..... All the team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in April 2012. The hotel is spacious and nice, albeit a little bit far from the city centre. The rooms are clean and well equipped. The bathroom was a bit worn down, though. The receptionists and the staff at the pub were very nice - the pub is quite nice, anyway.

I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazybeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Crazybeavers
Thankyou for your posting of a review about our property. We are continuously re-investing in the hotel and as you highlighted our bar was refurbished last year - so we are glad you liked it!
The other good news is that we are right now refurbishing our bathrooms. In the next few weeks, over 75% of the older bathrooms will have been totally refurbished. I intend to post some photos of these new bathrooms over the next couple of days. There are photos of these older bathrooms already on tripadvisor and they continue to be really good, decent bathrooms with extra large tubs. Also I should mention that we have won awards for our housekeeping for three years running so standards are certainly high...
Kind regards and thank you for highlighting this so that we can let Tripadvisors know of developments. The Management |Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#8 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Property: Menlo Park Hotel
Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Family Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 70 quality rooms with 16 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing