We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Guest House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marian Lodge Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #46 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mullingar, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in Marian Lodge while attending a wedding in the Salthill Hotel. We had our 4 month old baby with us aswell, the room was en suite and was clean and spacious.The breakfast was also very tasty! The host Celine was very welcoming and has such a warm and friendly personality, she is a delight! I Highly recommend this B&B and we will definitely stay there on our next visit to Galway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    29
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
48
42
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed in Marian Lodge whilst attending a gig in Salthill park. Lovely, stereotypical Irish B&B - the host really makes it though. Very welcoming, and we were even offered breakfast even though we were late enough as it was checking out! We'd usually stay in hotels but Marian Lodge suited us perfectly for the night that was in it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squeezelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

myself and my wife & kids stayed in a family room at the Marian Lodge in July 2012. When we arrived the propietor Celine made us feel very welcome and was offering us refreshments after our drive up to Galway. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable to sleep in ( A Lot better than some so called 4* hotels that are around) Breakfast was very nice and she went out of her way to provide anything that you wanted. Her homemade Soda bread is excellent I say this as I normally will not eat soda bread. As the volco ocean race was on we left the car parked at the lodge and walked into salt hill (2min walk) and walked into the city centre (actually only a 15-20min walk) I would recommend this lovely B&B and Celine who is extremely helpful and full of inforamtion to anybody visiting Galway

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Celine is the epitome of Irish Hospitality.
My niece and I had the pleasure of being guests of Celine and Pat Malloy at the Marian Lodge in Galway, Ireland. The moment we walked into their home we were met with the warmth and wit and the epitome of Irish hospitality. Celine is so warm and thoughtful and made us feel right at home. Shortly after our arrival she showed up with a plate of ‘biscuits’ for us to have with our afternoon tea or coffee. She gave us plenty of time to settle in and rest before we asked for advice on what to do and where to eat. Should you visit her, listen to her advice. She knows the area very well and is well informed about the local sights of the west coast. She directed us to the Galion restaurant and the food, service and atmosphere was most delightful.
After returning to this wonderful B&B after dinner she gave us multiple and wonderful choices as to what we could do the next day, advising us not to make the decision right away but to sleep on it and let her know at breakfast. She has the most engaging and pleasant personality. The next morning we were met with her kind heart and a delightful FULL Irish Breakfast which included the BEST brown bread in Ireland.
After breakfast we decided to go to Kylemore Abby. She then called and arranged for us to be picked up at the front door. She was very thoughtful and took care of everything. I so enjoyed her stories of the sights and life in Ireland we decided to stay another night before heading south to county Claire and the cliffs of Mohr (upon her advice of course.)
Thank you Celine and Pat for a most memorable stay in you lovely home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wili315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Marian Lodge in Salthill in April 2012. We loved Celine!! She is a wonderful proprietor, and she really did make us feel as if we were family. We had great breakfasts the days we were there. Each day, Celine would leave cookies and tea/coffee in our room. We had some laundry that had dried in the bathroom and she folded it and put it on our beds. The whole experience was great.
We had clean towels each day even though we told her we didn't need them changed. Celine arranged the bus for us to take to get the ferry at Rossaveel. She gave us recommendations for places to eat and told us about the pedestrian promenade on the water.
We could see the water from our room--that's how close her guesthouse is to the water. If visiting Galway, I would opt for staying in Salthill. It's a wonderful town, and I would stay with Celine as she's a wonderful host! I would have no qualms about staying at Marian Lodge again.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room. The lodge is on a quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn60785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at the Marian Lodge for two nights when in Galway recently for a wedding. The rooms are very well presented, spotlessly clean and have everything you need. Celine was an exceptional host with a wonderful personality and she is also a mine of information on the local area. This lady made our stay very enjoyable and she could not do enough to make sure we were comfortable. Breakfast is lovely and all the more so enjoyable when Celine engages you in conversation. Marian Lodge would now be an automatic choice of accommodation for us whenever we visit Galway.

Room Tip: Any room would be a good room in this first class B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We toured Ireland for 2 weeks, and this Guest house was by far the best in which we stayed. The house was clean, well appointed, and very comfortable. Celine Molloy makes you feel so welcome, and right at home. She was absolutely delightful and accomodating. Her breakfasts are wonderful, and her dining room has a great view of Galway Bay. Her home is in the scenic Salthill section of Galway. Bur tours will pick you up right at her front door. We spent three nights there and were actually sad to leave her.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
2.6 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#11 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Claremount House
Claremount House
#21 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
7.3 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marian Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marian Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Marian Lodge Guesthouse
Address: Knocknacarra Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marian Lodge Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomeAt Marian Lodge Galway Bed and Breakfast you are not a tourist, you belong.” declares Celine Molloy, the owner of this inviting, family run, Four star registered Galway Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse, with four star AA rating and membership of the Premier Guest Houses of Ireland. This delightful Guesthouse stands out in lovely, mature gardens with hanging baskets and large containers of flowers and is close to the Salthill promenade, beach and Leisureland facilities.Just around the corner you will find the Galway Golf course and driving range. The facilities for fishing, tennis, horse riding, windsurfing are all within easy reach. One minutes walk will leave you at a nice, quite pub and restaurant and a little further on to Salthill reveals a wide range of restaurants, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Marian Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing