We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anno Santo”
Review of Anno Santo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anno Santo
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The website paints a lovely picture, but the Anno Santo does not deliver. The interior & furnishings are old, which I don't mind, but the musky smell I do. The place was cold, in temperature and atmosphere, and the staff made little effort to be welcoming. We asked for breakfasts which never came and had to make do with whatever was at the buffet. It was over priced too. The only good thing about the hotel was it's proximity to Salthill. Steer clear, unless you're hard up.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 103 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed in The Anno Santo Hotel on business over the last week, I must strongly recommend what a brilliant hotel with excellent service by both owners and staff. Everything was excellent including a freshly cooked fry every morning, Served with a smile .. Just what you need on a cold January morning before you head out to work in the extreme Galway climate.
The rooms represent excellent value whilst still delivering everything one needs whilst away on business or pleasure. There is also a bar to unwind in the evenings which is very cosy indeed.
I certainly will be back next time i'm visiting Galway.
Great Value/Great place to stay... Many Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishbistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

My kids and I were driving through Ireland with a friend and her two kids. We stumbled upon Anno Santo by chance - and we were pleasantly surprised by this personal bed & breakfast! Jerry & Joanna were extremely friendly and helpful! We were invited down to the bar for tea.. The rooms were clean, roomy and so quaint! Our room had a double bed and a single bed, our own bathroom, changing area and desk. The breakfast was included and was fresh and delicious. If you are staying in the Galway area, Ann Santo is the place to stay. It was close to the city, for easy sightseeing. The rooms are quiet and the beds are super comfortable. We hope to go back soon and spend more time with Jerry & Joanna.

Room Tip: The triple room had plenty of room for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tienchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

My young daughters and I stayed here for a night. We were driving around Ireland and stumbled upon the Anno Santo. First, Jerry and Joanna are were so kind and welcoming. We felt like "family". Jerry carried our luggage to our room and then invited us back up for tea. The room was spacious and clean. The pub was great. Nice hanging out with the locals. For breakfast, we chose the "standard" meal. It was delicious and the table was set beautifully. We hope to return one day. Well priced and a great visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank autumn1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The local musicians and pub were wonderful. We enjoyed our stay so much we would go back in a minute. The hotel manager was so hospitable and kind. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Our room was a good value and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed here October Bank Holiday Weekend. Very easy going, spotlessly clean, very pleasant and helpful staff, great breakfast. Great value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveDiningOut035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed at Anno Santo recently and found it to be rather dated and in big need of a makeover. If you go for a 'quaint' hotel, I suppose it fits the bill but really the rooms are for sleeping in and nothing else.....they're fine when you have your eyes closed.

If you do decide to stay, ensure that the heating is turned on as the staff can 'inadvertently' forget to do this. Galway region needs heat, especially in winter so be warned or else be prepared to come away with a cold or flu. Granted, when we enquired about the heating, it was then switched on and was fine but surely this should be something that is done automatically.

All in all it was OK but I'm sure there are other places at a similar tarrif which would be better.

Room Tip: Avoid the 'basement.'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samsyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anno1, Owner at Anno Santo, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Dear Sirs,

In reply to your review on 24th Oct, 2011, we apologise if our rooms were not to your taste. I believe it is difficult to please all the customers all the time. Although this may be the case in this circumstance. We personally try very hard to be polite and friendly as a small quaint traditional Irish hotel. Makeover is a important part of our strategy ever year and we do most of this over the winter period.
Regarding the heating it is controlled by a time clock and can be overridden and switched on and off as requested or when temperatures suddenly drop. This is all part of our eco friendly methods to sustain good green principles preventing global climate changes. We would however like a perfect ecological management system but financial constraints prefers us to do so on a small budget.

I appreciate your advice and any order of your critic observance will help us to even strive harder to please our customers always.

Thanking you,
sincerely
Gerry Vaughan
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
6.6 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#35 of 46 in Galway
107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#33 of 46 in Galway
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.2 mi away
Rockbarton Park Hotel
Rockbarton Park Hotel
#34 of 46 in Galway
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anno Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anno Santo

Address: 51 Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Galway
#14 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $74 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anno Santo 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Anno Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anno Santo Salthill
Anno Santo Hotel Salthill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing