We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suppose you get what you pay for....”
Review of Anno Santo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anno Santo
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Belfast
1 review
“Suppose you get what you pay for....”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed at Anno Santo recently and found it to be rather dated and in big need of a makeover. If you go for a 'quaint' hotel, I suppose it fits the bill but really the rooms are for sleeping in and nothing else.....they're fine when you have your eyes closed.

If you do decide to stay, ensure that the heating is turned on as the staff can 'inadvertently' forget to do this. Galway region needs heat, especially in winter so be warned or else be prepared to come away with a cold or flu. Granted, when we enquired about the heating, it was then switched on and was fine but surely this should be something that is done automatically.

All in all it was OK but I'm sure there are other places at a similar tarrif which would be better.

Room Tip: Avoid the 'basement.'
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samsyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anno1, Owner at Anno Santo, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Dear Sirs,

In reply to your review on 24th Oct, 2011, we apologise if our rooms were not to your taste. I believe it is difficult to please all the customers all the time. Although this may be the case in this circumstance. We personally try very hard to be polite and friendly as a small quaint traditional Irish hotel. Makeover is a important part of our strategy ever year and we do most of this over the winter period.
Regarding the heating it is controlled by a time clock and can be overridden and switched on and off as requested or when temperatures suddenly drop. This is all part of our eco friendly methods to sustain good green principles preventing global climate changes. We would however like a perfect ecological management system but financial constraints prefers us to do so on a small budget.

I appreciate your advice and any order of your critic observance will help us to even strive harder to please our customers always.

Thanking you,
sincerely
Gerry Vaughan
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    17
    5
    14
See reviews for
14
34
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

stayed at Anno Santo for 2 days and just loved it! our hosts where very friendly and accomodating.Helped us with directions when our GPS conked out,provided a electrical outlet converter when the one I brought was the wrong one.Rooms were clean and pleasant,very comfortable,and breakfast was great.The bar off the lobby was great fun and full of locals at night.All in all a great experience and a great value! if you are staying in the area I highly recommend Anno Santo.I'll be back!
Thanks Again Jerry and JoAnna

Cindy Brzys

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindybrzys3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2011

It's a small hotel with friendly staff but far from the city centre. The breakfast was quite OK. The room was clean but had a stale smell and the window could not be opened.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vremenar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Other reviewers are correct the staff at this small hotel are very pleasant, but the positives stop there.The rooms reminded us of being in a run down nursing home from another era, no money has been spent on this place in years.The rooms are small with old carpet, very dated decor the type your granny used to have and the shower over the bath had 2 temperatures boiling or cold with a shower curtain that wants to cling to you. The breakfast was disappointing, rubber microwaved eggs and old cracked cups.
Do yourself a favour spend 20 or 30 euro for a bit of comfort somewhere else.

Room Tip: Keep on driving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crangle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anno1, Owner at Anno Santo, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for your review, but we consider you remarks about our rooms a little extreme. I would like to firstly correct your comments about “ no money being spent on upgrading the Hotel”. We have had an upgrade plan every year since 1992 although it has been slow it has been within the constraints of affordability and not contentious to the point of indulging ourselves in a NAMA situation. The general design of our establishment lends itself to a 1960’s or 70’s style and has been maintained with renewed furniture and fittings of this nature.
Regarding your mention of the eggs at breakfast, we do not cooke eggs in the microwave and cracked cups are not the order of our service provision.
I appreciate your advice and any order of your critic observance will help us to even strive harder to please our customers always.

Sincerely
Gerry Vaughan
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galway hotels

Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

You are immediatly warmed by the friendly welcome. We arrived very late but still Jerry got us in three rounds of best Guinnness.
Excellent breakfast.
Shower was rubbish but what the heck, it was an easy place to settle into.
For us who booked early this was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiteroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I recently stayed at this charming Hotel, and the wonderful City of Galway. The Hotel is perfectly situated to all the sightseeing and visitor attractions, and is only a few minutes walk from the famous Salthill Promenade. I found the Hotel to be excellent value for it's location and the staff were super friendly from the time we arrived. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and this is largely down to the owners who immediately make you feel at home in their Hotel. The Hotel has a great value Restaurant, and the Bar was a great place to wind down after seeing the sights at the end of the day. The Hotel was clean and tidy and the rooms were a good size and well kept as well. The hotel is in a quiet area and thus makes for a good nights sleep. We especially found the Staff to be courteous and very knowledgeable of their city and surrounding areas, and always willing to answer any questions and offer their advice to make our stay in their City a very pleasant experience. It is a little gem of a find, and the owners serve up a very Irish welcome at tremendous value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liameustace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2011

This Hotel is a small family run business and when you walk in at first you think it is not going to be good if you are used to staying in more modern hotels. Having said that once we got settled we walked to the prominade (3 mins) and strolled on down to the amusement arcade with the children. My son is 11 and my friend's son is 10. When we came back that night the kids were allowed to sit in the lounge area and we the adults could have a drink. We put the kids to bed and you may as well be in your own sitting room with the kids asleep upstairs it was absolutely great to be able to relax. The staff are really lovely and I have every intention of going back there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchell04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#32 of 45 in Galway
118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#34 of 45 in Galway
102 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rockbarton Park Hotel
Rockbarton Park Hotel
#35 of 45 in Galway
49 reviews
6.6 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
764 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Galway
Travelodge Galway
#24 of 45 in Galway
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anno Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anno Santo

Property: Anno Santo
Address: 51 Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Galway
#14 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anno Santo 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Anno Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anno Santo Salthill
Anno Santo Hotel Salthill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing