We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with good service”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Stayed here with my wife and 15 month old in March 2010. We had previously booked for December but because of bad weather could not travel. Initially the hotel requested that we pay for one night of the stay as we had booked with a 3rd party whose offices were closed when we tried to cancel.
After a few calls, the hotel changed their position on the charge and as an additional good will measure offered us an upgrade. It was a nice gesture from the hotel but a pity that they had insisted for some time that it wasn't them that were charging, it was the 3rd party. We had already confirmed that this was not the case.
Anyway, more importantly, the hotel experience! This is a lovely hotel with fine staff and we took a package of 2 nights b&b and 1 evening meal. The food was exceptional and one memory that stands out was the flexibilty of the bar staff to serve us the bar food in the lobby. With a baby in tow who was hapily playing on the carpet in the lobby, it was much easier that uprooting to the bar.
On the night that we had the dinner, we decided to use a hotel babysitter. having never done this before, we were a little apprehensive. The hotel were great to put us at ease and the lady that came was brilliant. i'd have no problem using this service again. The dinner was fantastic and the staff were excellent. I have seen a previous comment about a wait of 90 minutes and while I could never know whether this is true or not, i find it very hard to see from our experience how it would happen.
We had a non-smoking room and the adjoining room which was also non-smoking was occupied by a smoker who felt the need to light up. thankfully the hotel were understanding when we called and the issue was resolved almost straight away.

Overall, we were very happy with this hotel and would love to return some day.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorkPaul23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2010

Dear 'Notoverlyfussy',

We are very grateful that you posted a review of your recent stay with us ... thank you for taking the time.

It is very unfortunate that the weather had such an affect on so many peoples plans this year but we are delighted that you rebooked and came to stay with us.

We do indeed remember your visit and it is lovely to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for all your lovely comments.

The lady who babysat for you that evening was Evelyn who we are very lucky to have working with us on a regular basis. I will ensure that your kind comments are fed back to her - she will be thrilled.

We very much look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to The Ardilaun again in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,310 - 1,316 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2010

My friend and I found our stay in the Ardilaun a very pleasant experience. The reception staffs were very helpful and welcoming, check-in only took a few minutes and there was a member of staff waiting to show us to our room. The room was exceptionally clean, warm, and the beds were very comfortable. The room also had all modern amenities. The bathroom was clean and spacious (as far as I know we were in the older part of the hotel). The food was wonderful and very reasonably priced; the service was second to none. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is situated near to Galway city center, yet far enough out for peace and quiet….the gardens are fabulous. We did not use the leisure club or the beauty salon (maybe next time) but heard from other friends that both were ‘out on their own'. I do not have one negative thing to say about our stay there...it was home from home! We have stayed in many hotels over the years; we consider this one to be in our top 5. Will we stay there again?…DEFINITELY. Would I recommend this hotel to friends and family?.. CERTAINLY

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valcrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2010

Dear 'valcrea',

We really are absolutely delighted that you and your friend enjoyed you time with us here in Galway and that you experienced The Ardilaun as your 'home from home'. This is one very important memory we like our guests to leave the hotel with.

You have been very kind also to post some pictures of the hotel which you took during your stay with us. A lot of care and attention was put into the planning of our our recent redevelopment and refurbishment programmes and it is lovely to get feedback that people like it.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We liked the Ardilaun. Fantastic service and staff that said good morning or hello each day.
A good sized family room. Ours was on level 4 and was quiet.
The hotel have a leisure club and we used the gym, spa and pool which the kids really liked.
Breakfast was a buffet and quite nice.
The location of the hotel is on Salthill which is about a 4 min drive from Galway city Centre. The promenade was close by ( great seaside views and lots of people walking along it). Some take away food stores on Salt hill road.
We would definately go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trekkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2010

Dear 'Trekkin',

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at The Ardilaun recently and we are very grateful that you took the time to post your review.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed here for one night on business in February. Staff were all very accommodating, room was of a very good high standard - clean and comfortable. All in all a short stay but very pleasant. The only problem we incurred was trying to find the property but I imagine if our sat nav had been working then this may not have been a problem. Keep up the good work at the Ardilaun.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2010

Dear 'Noel77',

It is really lovely to read your feedback on a Monday morning - a lovely start to our week.

Thank you so much for posting the memories of your recent stay with us here at The Ardilaun.

We have had problems in the past with getting permission for signage at the hotel which would make it easier for our guests. Thankfully, we have come up with a solution to this and will have new signage in place by this Friday.

Also, our website has printable directions to the hotel from each entry point to Galway so we hope that our guests find this useful too.

We would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

When I was writing this I reminded myself that the ratings on the outside of the hotel are based on the assessment of the facilities and services provided.
From what I have read 4 stars should mean - a friendly welcome, with courteous service from the staff. The staff should be smartly and professionally presented. There should be good-quality; well-presented furniture and all rooms should be en suite.
The restaurant or dining room should be open to residents and non-residents and should serve breakfast daily and dinner most evenings. A choice of good-quality, freshly cooked food should be available.
Professional, uniformed staff should respond to your needs or requests, and there should be well-appointed public areas.
I have just spent 3 nights at the Ardilaun Hotel and can honestly say that it fits into the 4* bracket very nicely.
Booking in was simple and easy, they asked for my name and not a number, we even got into our room at 9.30am! The staff were smartly dressed, efficient, helpful and friendly. All the staff were approachable. The reception area was large, clean and had lovely furniture.
The room was brilliant (we had upgraded) and exceptionally clean, yes I agree with the previous visitor, I could walk around in my bare feet. The room was very modern, flat screen TV, lovely decor with a spotless bathroom. Couldn’t be better.
The restaurant was great; breakfast was excellent buffet style with the staff friendly and efficient. It was also very clean.
We used the gym and pool, again efficient friendly staff, the ladies changing rooms had lockers but I had no idea how to lock them! Understandably not quite as clean as the hotel, very busy place.
We ate in the bar on one evening and although the staff were very friendly it seemed as if they were not quite ready for us. However the food was excellent.

Two very minor niggly complaints which did not spoil our stay at all – the modern bathroom had two showers one of which did not have a soap holder. The other minor problem was that the list of programmes on channel 1 did not correspond with the channels on the TV. As I said very minor problems.

We enjoyed or stay immensly and would stay again. Only wish the hotels in our part of the world were the same.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnJ1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2010

Dear 'AnnapGwilym',

Sincere thanks for your post following your recent stay with us. We know that you took time and effort to post such an extensive review and it is much appreciated by us here at The Ardilaun.

We will do all possible to ascertain details of your booking (i.e. room number) from recent guest information and will address the little issues which you mention in your review.

Thank you again and we very much look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Hi we stayed 3 nights in the Ardliaun and we had a lovely stay. First the negative - our room was very dated and could have done with an uplift. Ask to stay in the newer part of the hotel. The positives - great value for money - we stayed 3 nights and bed and breakfast and 2 evening meals. Our evening meals were delicious, really high standard and the breakfast was plentiful. The pool is great as we have a 2 year old boy and I had a treatment in the health spa there and I got my moneys worth - it was divine I think it was called the avalon experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ticknock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2010

Dear 'Ticknock',

We would like to thank you for your recent post here on TripAdvisor. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments have been communicated to each department throughout the hotel.

Unfortunately I do not know which room number you stayed in but would like to assure you that, here at The Ardilaun, we continue to refurbish rooms through winter programmes. Most rooms have been completed at this stage but there are a small number which are not. This programme comtinues.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel at any time in the future. Should you wish to book with us again, please do not hesitate to make specific requests in relation to room preferance.

Again, many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

With Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

A beautiful Hotel, not too far from the city center/ salt hill. friendly staff. The food was lovely, breakfast and bar food. The leisure center was great especially after a night out.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishfairy2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2010

Dear 'irishfairy2day',

Sincere thanks for your feedback.

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We would be very hapy to welcome you to our hotel again at any time in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,100 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,366 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill House 2 Taylors Hill Road, Galway H91 YV5Y, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: $69 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing