We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet and friendly”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed October 24, 2009

When we first walked in the door, we were pleasantly suprised. Rooms were lovely, leisure centre was at highest standard. Bar food brilliant, quiet in whole hotel. Would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slrkn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2009

Dear 'slrkn77'

Many thanks for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We really are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate that you took valuable time to post your review.

We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to The Ardilaun again in the future.

Best Regards,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,329 - 1,335 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2009

as you drive in a lovely hotel lady at reception was very nice when got to room we were given a garden room at first it looked nice very old fashoned blanked on bed old tv but it was the hairs in bathroom and on pillow i could not belive phoned reception to ask for aother room was told it would cost more and that was the room i wanted the housekeeping did clean room straight away but it was just a bad start the pool and food was lovely i have stayed in four star hotels and this is not one

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernIrelandMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2009

Dear 'NorthernIrelandMojo'

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor from your recent stay with us.

We are disappointed that your stay was not entirely a memorable experience for you. I can assure you that this is unusual feedback for us and would not at all be the level on which we pride ourselves.

Our Accommodation Manager (Anne Kelly) would be very happy to discuss further with you if you should you feel you would like to do so? We want all of our guests to leave us with fond memories of their time with us so this is important to us. Anne can be contacted at 091 521433.

We look forward to the possibility of hearing from you.


With Best Regards,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

From the minute I made my reservation I found the staff rude, unfriendly and very unhelpfull. The staff member that I met on the phone was in no way accommodating or obliging (two important traits of good hotel staff). When we got to the hotel, the staff were no better. I would not recommend this hotel if you want friendly staff and a warm welcome.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank AthasDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2009

Dear 'AthasDublin'

Thank you for your TripAdvisor feedback but are very surprised and disappointed with your comments.

The Ardilaun is a family owned and managed hotel which is in operation for over 47 years and is reknowned locally, nationally and internationally for its friendly and personable staff, its quality and service - all of which we pride ourselves on.

We would be very happy to discuss further with you if you feel you would like to do so? It is important that all guests and visitors to the hotel enjoy their time with us. Our duty manager would be very happy to speak with you at any time - telephone 091 521433.

with Best Regards,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Stayed four nights, four star and I would give it ten out of ten!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 99winter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2009

Dear '99winter',

Thank you for your very kind comments. They are much appreciated.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best Regards,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

I stayed here with my wife for 2BB+1D on 25th of September 2009. From the minute we arrived until we left we were treated extremely well. All of the staff were excellent and offered advice on the many menu & wine choices. The dinner menu was fantastic and well presented. This is a top class restaurant, with food for all tastes and portion sizes were plenty (proper steaks). This hotel has what Ireland has been missing for a long time; proper customer service and attention to detail including bar staff that can interact with customers without going overboard. There are feedback request cards at all meal occasions. The leisure center is excellent with a decent sized pool. We stayed in the newer block room 224.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMALouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2009

Dear 'PMALouth'

Many thanks for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that chose to stay with us and very much appreciate that you took the time to post your review.

with Best Regards,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

I stayed at the Ardilaun at the weekend and really could not rate it highly enough - food, service, rooms, atmosphere, staff - all excellent. I believe that they have just spent a lot of money on the hotel and it certainly showed. The character of the place, while top class, gives a most homely feel. We ate in tne new bistro on Saturday - gosh I could get used to having lovely food served to me in a most relaxed and comfy place. All I can say is that I am not in agreement with the recent "not so positive" reviews - I just loved it

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlanesTrainsAutos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Lovely entrance to hotel. Spacious comfortable bedrooms. Staff friendly. Food good. Swimming pool excellent.
Decor a bit outdated. 25 min walk to salthill. Plumming in bathroom unbeliveably loud. Far too expensive. Watch out for hidden extras when checking out!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank star53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,100 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,366 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill House 2 Taylors Hill Road, Galway H91 YV5Y, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: $69 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing