We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Waterford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Stayed for one night to attend a social function.

Overall, fantastic staff; really friendly and helpful....nothing was too much trouble. On the good side; relaxed, informal, beautiful setting, super staff and really lovely food.

If they were to improve on anything; our room (although non smoking) was in a corridor where clearly there were smoking rooms as the smell was a little strong. Paintwork could be touched up in a number of places and as previousily mentioned the dining room chairs most def could do with a clean.

Breakfast was lovely; a selection of hot and cold in buffet form. Very friendly staff again and a lovely setting.

We had a fabulous time in Galway; great city, lovely shopping, bars and restaurants. Ceol agus craic go leir.

I would be happy to recommend this hotel but when booking do ask for a room in the new part of the hotel.... Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy-CAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    395
    187
    96
    60
See reviews for
361
541
34
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Booked this via a Heatons voucher so got a very good deal - 2 nights B&B and 1 Dinner. Our room was large and very comfortable and was situated in the new part in a very quiet location as per our request. The bathroom was excellent with separate walk in shower and plenty of toiletries. The staff responded to our request for extra towels very quickly.

The bed was large and comfortable and the decoration restful. There was good tea & coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV.

We ate on Friday night in the restaurant and had been looking forward to it as it had won lots of awards, we were disappointed - the meal was only average and frozen veg had been used, the service was good though - we decided not to eat there on saturday but changed our mind due to tirdness following a great days shopping in galway. The restaurant was busy but they managed to squeeze us in and we were so glad because it was a totally different experience - the food was definately award winning on the saturday night, beautiful presentation, fresh veg and cooked to order meat, but the service tonight was a bit slower but worth the wait. The dining room chairs badly need a clean though - no matter were we were seated all the chairs were decidedly grubby - such a shame.

The breakfast each morning was very good, plenty of hot and cold choices and plenty of food with very quick service at the table.

We had bar lunch served in one of the Hotels beautiful old fashioned lounges - it was lovely with good service and a very reasonable price.

The hotel has a lovely leisure centre which is kept very clean.

The staff at this hotel are extremely efficient and friendly both to adults and children - our young daughter thought they were some of the friendliest staff she has come across!

We would have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneyfansWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We stayed at this hotel with 2 other couples and had a wonderful time. From the time we checked in until we checked out - everything was perfect. It must be pointed out that the staff are all exceptionally well trained being both friendly but very professional. A special mention to Anna on reception who was very helpful any time we needed her. We stayed Friday and Saturday night and there was a Wedding on both days. I have stayed in hotels before when weddings are on and sometimes find the service less than perfect as they seem to be using all of the staff at the weddings and the rest of the guests are left short. This was certainly not the case with this hotel.
We ate in the hotel on Friday night and the meal was superb. The breakfasts were wonderful with such an excellent choice. The bar is pleasant with a nice atmosphere and once again very friendly staff.
The leisure centre is beautiful with all facilities in good condition and spotless. THe pool & jacuzzi etc are excellent.
Galway city is approx 5 minutes drive away but two of our party decided to walk into the city and said it took only 15 minutes and was very pleasant. Salthill promenade is also only 5 minutes drive away and really lovely for a walk.
When in Galway next, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Having read some of the reviews for this hotel I was quite apprehnsive of what to expect. Thankfully I was really surpeised at the lovley bedrooms, very clean and tastfully decorated. The loddy of th hotel is not the best and could be given a complete over haul . The food in the restaurant was excellant and has a brilliant selection of food on the kids .Not the usual nuggets and chips and the likes great to see thy have put some effort into this menu . , service very efficent and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2009

We had decided to go to galway at the last minute after seeing an advertisment for this hotel in the Independent. I called the hotel directly and was able to make the booking right away. We checked in the following day and a lovely girl on the reception desk had a porter take our bags up to the room. The family room was quite large and very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant on our first night. The food was fantastic, the waitress was very friendly and very patient with the kids. We ate lunch in the bar the following day. Again the food tasted great and the value for money was unbelievable. It was a little noisey in the bar, but the bar manager did explain that they are working on an extention. He offered to serve our meal in the lobby (which we declined)
I must say apart from a little noise everything else was great. The kids menu was one of the best I ever seen (not your usual sausage and chips) and the service was excellent. We will definately be returning to this hotel. Great location, Great service. I'm not sure what "it" is, but the Ardilaun has it.

  • Liked — The attention of the hotel staff who all said hello to us
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PeterKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

I stayed here with extended family over a weekend in late January. I was dreading it having read the previous reviews. On arrival we were allocated a room on the 4th floor away from the lifts (as requsted). We (husband & I)were in one of the older rooms while some other members of the group were in the newer rooms. We had only paid for the standard rooms and were not upgraded, as the hotel was fully occupied that weekend. The room was not nearly as bad as I expected, not at all dirty, cold or musty, which was a great relief. We ate in the hotel restaurant one night, which was average at best. One thing to be wary of is that there were numerous families with very young children staying over that weekend (including some in our party). The noise in the restaurant was horrendous with the usual crying, roaring and general clattering made by young children. I felt really sorry for the adults, particularly any of the couples trying to have a meal in peace, as the hotel made no allowances, as is normal, ie no children after 8pm etc..this hotel caters for this clientele so be warned if kids are not your thing.
Breakfast is the usual fare, very much geared towards the all you can eat brigade, we had numerous tea/coffee refills, which was appreciated. The staff are good, especially housekeeping and the late night porter who kept some of us supplied with drinks into the small hours!
Overall, I wouldn't recommended this hotel to anyone looking for a quality/high standard experience, however at the right price and for the right occasion you could do worse.

  • Liked — Location, in a lovely part of Galway, close to city and Salthill
  • Disliked — Too many children in restaurant and later at night
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakecounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Booked the Hotel on there own site.Price for three nights very
good. including Brekfast and one Dinner, We found the Hotel
excellent,and food very very good. The staff were nice, and couldent do enough for us.The room was nice and bright,
about five mins drive from salthill,Great location to drive around
Galway.We really enjoyed our stay in this Hotel and will be going
back again.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank orangeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,052 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
3.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,885 reviews
0.8 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,464 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Property: The Ardilaun Hotel
Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing