We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Myself and my wife stayed here for a weekend break recently. Very impressed from the moment we entered its doors. We booked a double room but when we entered the room it was a suite room, so obviously well impressed with that ! Pleasant staff added to the stay. The breakfast was fine. One small point is they cut up the fruit into really small pieces ..I know this sounds trivial but just felt a bit odd ?! Overall would definitely recommend this hotel. Also within walking distance to Galway centre( about 20 mins).

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Qwertyduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Qwertyduo,

Thank you for your recent review of The Ardilaun Hotel. We are very happy to have been of service to you and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We appreciate all our customer feedback and strive to use it to maintain and improve our standards on a continuous basis.

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

760 - 766 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed in the Ardilaun last week with 3 friends on a golfing trip to Galway.
I have not been to Galway for 25 years when we had
a family holiday inj the west and stayed in the Ardilaun. From check in to check out
I could not say enough about their staff. A young man i think called Jeri at reception
to the Donegal lady in the breakfast room were most pleasant and helpful in all matters.
I also left my phone charger after check out, rang spoke to a Loretta, the Accomodation
Supersivor and 2 days later got same in the post. now that is service !!!
The only downside was the dinner on the first night which we felt was average to poor
notwithstanding, this we will certainly return at some future date. Gerry Buckley

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden Room they are larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerry714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Gerry,

Many thanks for your kind review of The Ardilaun Hotel following your recent golfing trip with friends. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate your comments regarding particular staff. We are very fortunate to have many dedicated, loyal and efficient staff working with us for many years. We value all our customer comments very highly and endeavour to use them to maintain and improve our high standards.

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We returned to the Ardilaun this year, a 24 strong family gathering. From the moment we arrived we were extremely impressed with the service. Excellent rooms, superb food and great facilities. Welcomed the (many) children in our group. Definitely on the list for next year's gathering - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseD007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Louise D

Many thanks for your lovely review of The Ardilaun Hotel after your recent family gathering here. We are delighted to have been of service to you and your family and truly appreciate your very positive comments regarding our food, accommodations and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Used The Ardilaun for our work team day to get away from the office! Great spot, quiet & comfortable room, provided water,& an excellent lunch in the bar restaurant. Also made a lovely birthday plate for one of our team as a last minute request! Will definitely use again

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarySeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Gary,
Many thanks for your review of The Ardilaun following your recent meeting here. We are very happy to have been of service to you and your colleagues and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed for three days and enjoyed visit. Good value package.Room modern and very spacious. Very good breakfast .Plenty of car parking available for guests. Staff extremely friendly. Would return for another visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Sean M,
Many thanks for your kind review of The Ardilaun Hotel following your recent stay with us. We value highly all our guest reviews which help us to maintain and improve our high standards.

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I'm always reluctant to give a bad review but unfortunately my last stay in The Ardilaun was well below par.
I stayed there with 5 members of my family as a getaway weekend in February. Having worked for many years in the service industry myself I'm aware that January and Feb are the slower months of the year for business. You would imagine this would motivate staff to do everything they could to keep you happy and wanting to return but to be honest, the staff here did not want to do a tap for us.
We booked three twin rooms together, one was the other side of the corridor but I can live with that. However two out of three rooms had dirty bed linen and all rooms were musty smelling.
It was a celebratory weekend for us and one family member brought a good bottle of wine. When we called down to reception to ask about a wine opener, they told us they didn't have one. We called down to the bar and they told us that they only had one corkscrew in the entire hotel and they were using it! Despite there being two separate bars. I know they don't expect guests to stay holed up in their rooms drinking their own drinks instead of going to the bar, but we had made a (rather unfortunate) choice to book dinner in the hotel restaurant and go the residents bar afterwards, we would be spending money there! That response felt very unwelcoming. This attitude from staff continued the whole evening and into the following day.
Our waitress at dinner was extremely surly and had a habit of rolling her eyes. She made a mistake in drinks orders and huffed when we told her.
Throughout our meal, my Grandmother had been drinking schweppes ginger ale. This is her choice of drink and she just doesn't like the finches one. When we retired to the residents bar and asked the bar man for a schweppes he said he only had finches and pointed to the worst stocked bar I have ever seen. We mentioned that the bar down the hall had it in stock and if it were possible to get some there and he got quite annoyed. His answer was a staunch 'No!'.
The bar, despite being scarcely stocked, was well staffed. However each time we went to order they acted as if it was 10 people deep and barely stood still to catch our drink order. Not surprisingly, they got it wrong a couple of times. They also told us that they had only one brandy glass... Seriously. A hotel, with two bars, a restaurant and a bistro.. and they have one corkscrew and one brandy glass?
Breakfast had a really good selection, all the trimmings of a full Irish, porridge and cereals, pastries, dried fruits and fresh fruits and plenty of juices. One waitress even went out of her way to get myself and my Grandmother a pot of herbal tea. Unfortunately, the surly waitress from the evening before was on again. When my Aunt asked her for some ketchup she told her they didn't have any and walked off... We were at the end of our tether and checked out immediately after we finished our breakfast.

Some good points to the hotel: good leisure centre, friendly reception staff, lovely grounds.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bombean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Ardilaun Hotel following your visit here in February. We are very sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay at the hotel. It is most certainly not our standard that any bedroom has dirty bedlinen or musty smells or that any guest would receive poor bar or restaurant service. You mentioned a difficulty with a member of your party concerning a drinks order, in particular in relation to Schweppes Ginger Ale. We have been trying to follow up this incident but are frustrated by the fact that the hotel does not, and never has stocked either Finches or Schweppes Ginger Ale, only Club Ginger. We appreciate your positive comments regarding breakfast and staff and again apologise for any upset caused to you through poor service. You will see from very many of our reviews that this is not our normal standard. Your comments and feedback are important to us and we would welcome more communication from you should you wish to speak to a manager regarding any of the issues in your review.

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Had a family lunch here recently. Food excellent. Service very very slow even though the bistro wasn't very busy. I had chowder and hubbie had chicken ceaser. Junior had ribs and noodle salad. For mains I had mixed seafood - lovely. Hubbie had roast beef and junior had gougouns and chips with corn on the cob. I had sticky toffee pudding for desert while hubbie had fresh fruit salad and junior had jelly and ice cream.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank IrishA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our property recently. We value all our customer comments and use them to continuously maintain and improve our standards. Thank you for your very positive review of the quality of food in the bistro and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,255 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
377 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,617 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
3.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: $73 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing