We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant and reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have stayed at the Ardilaun a number of times over past few years, with my wife and three young kids. If you like a very irish old school hotel - lots of carpets and byzantine corridor layouts due to repeated hotel extensions, you've come to the right place. The highlights of the place are definlity the pool, which is roman themed and a big hit with the kids, the relaxing and well laid out lobby, the breakfast, which is excellent, and the helpful staff. The rooms can sometimes not be all you might wish for, depending on the era of the extension you get. On this trip we were given a very large family room, which was great. It did overlook the hotel recyling area, which was not ideal, and room and bathoom were showing their age - freshing those up would go a long way. However, the size made up for these issues. The other thing is the location - about 10 min by car from the centre - you really do need a car to get around when you are staying here. Overall, a good hotel and worth recommending.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Areaman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much. We are very grateful to you for your review - feedback is always well received.

Thank you for all of your comments which have been communicated throughout the hotel to each department.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stays with us and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    385
    180
    96
    60
See reviews for
345
523
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed for one nights as a wedding guest just before the Christmas.
On the positive side: parking good, foyer lovely, great meal, efficient service.
Negative was bedroom: Smell of stinky socks when entered room, had to open window for whole evening. Very small double bed, blanket, sheet and throw not very comfortable. Bathroom door wouldn't close unless closed bolt lock. Water in shower next morning kept changing hot to cold. Just seemed very shabby for a supposed 4 star rating.
Didn't complain as only staying one night and was a guest at wedding (paying guest) but didn't want wedding party to hear any complaints, might appear rude.
I will not return to stay overnight. Might return to eat there though.

Room Tip: Maybe enquire about updated rooms as some obviously are being neglected of an overhaul!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Having spent over twenty bed nights in the Ardilaun Hotel, over the last 2 months, I can only say that if one has to be away from home in the course of one's work, then a hotel like this is fantastic.
From my initial contact with the reservation staff, to the welcome by the reception staff, and then on a daily basis, the care and attention of all the bar and restaurant staff, I was made to feel really welcome. The rooms are excellent, facilities great, food wonderful, and the leisure center is great.
I have stayed in other hotels in Galway before, but none compare to this hotel, for welcome and comfort. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Malcolm,

We are very grateful to you for having chosen to stay at The Ardilaun on so many occasions and are most grateful to you for having taken the time to recommend us to other tripadvisor users - Thank You.

We are also delighted to know that you enjoy staying with us and that you feel 'at home' here - that is really lovely feedback for us to receive.

As is the case with all feedback received into the hotel, your comments have been communicated throughout to each department.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed overnight on an all too brief work trip to Galway. Lovely hotel, charming and helpful staff. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Ate in the bar grill and had a good meal although the chowder was not chunky enough and the pheasant was markedly overcooked. Bar area was comfortable. Check out the Galway Hooker, a really pleasant pale ale. All in all, a lovely hotel, and one I hope I can return to. The lights of the huge Christmas tree at the entrance to University Hospital Galway are sponsored by staff, relatives and friends of patients who have been treated or who have died. Magnificent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly hope that you can return again soon.

Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have to say that this hotel is a real gem. It is hidden away in a quiet part of Salthill. It is so hidden away that we eventually had to ring for directions. We were so impressed on the entrance with all the seating areas where you could relax and enjoy the coming and goings of the guests. We had a 2 for 1 voucher, so were entitled to a standard room and so when I asked for a room with a view we were allocated a superior room at an extra charge of €15 per night. Well worth it as we had extra seating area in the room and a most relaxing view of the gardens. Even though there were plenty of children in the hotel we never heard from them until they arrived at breakfast next morning. Now breakfast, well there is nothing to complain about there. I have been recently diagnosed as lactose intolerant and therefore forgot to mention it at check in, but on arriving in the dining room on both mornings I just asked for soya milk and immediately was served a jug of it. The dinner on both evenings was fabulous. Great choice, and excellent service, even if it was a bit slow on the first evening we really enjoyed the relaxing ambiance and the chance to chat between courses. All my requests were granted especially with sauces on the side etc. Very courteous.
Now the swimming pool. We went to it twice. It is so perfectly maintained. Brilliant and relaxing. A great way to start your day.
I really think that some of the 5 star hotels we have stayed in are not up to this 4 star hotels standard.. I would recomend it to everyone. Try it.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Sylvia,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely and very informative review following your stay recent with us and we thank you for having chosen to stay here.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Have a wonderful Christmas and 2014

Festive Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was lovely! The grounds are really pretty,hotel is busy but jot cramped.breakfast was excellent,although the second morning was chaotic and we had to wait for coffee,then cups and spoons! Waitress was very helpful though.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 228selkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having stayed with us recently and for subsequently taking the time to let other tripadvisor users know about your stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Ardilaun and hope that we will welcome you back again in the future.

Have a lovely Christmas and every best wish to you for 2014

Festive Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I had Lunch with my Family in the Ardilaun Hotel last weekend and we had a roast dinner for €9.95 each with a very large portion of extras.

We were very impressed with the service and speed we got our Lunch and it was not somewhere we would have thought off for Lunch but it was so nice and quiet away from City traffic and a place to park.

I would definitely eat here again and as a Galwegian I found the quality of food hard to beat.

John Cunningham

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cunninghamjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for your lovely review and for having dined here at The Ardilaun with your family recently.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Festive Regards,
The Ardilaun Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Property: The Ardilaun Hotel
Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing