We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ardilaun Hotel what a disappointment”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Oh my God what a disappointment this two night family stay was.
Our family room stunk of mould and damp (room 401 for your info) and was dirty and dated. If you need a shower cap though then this is the room for you, as it is well supplied with at least 10. However, If it's a bar of soap you need, steer clear of 401 as it had none.
The bad experience continued in the bar as the barman has the habit of placing his fingers down the inside of the glass to lift it towards the tap for filling (I only had the one). Whats more I was left waiting at least 10 minutes to be served while other customers who had just arrived in, got served first, and for no good reason other than just pure lack of professionalism by the bar staff.
The young man who made up our room after the first night neglected to straighten out the sheets before he pulled up the duvet to hide his laziness (and still no soap).
The breakfast was okay nothing special. Although I did have to attract the attention of staff twice to beg a coffee. For for the lack of staff - there were loads of them, just zero interest or I don't know lack of training.
At €220 per night (August 2013) not a good idea. This was not a nice experience at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 911 of 1,458 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and 13month old son at the end of July, we had a lovely time all staff were very friendly and welcoming . we had a babysitter on our first night so we could have dinner she was fantastic she was brilliant with my son he didn't want her to leave :) The food in the restaurant was amazing we had steak and the waitress was lovely . we were very close to salthill which was very handy . the room was great my son had a great time exploring =] I will definitely be staying here again =]

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwinaOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Edwina,

Thank you.

We are thrilled to know that you all enjoyed your stay with us and are very thankful for your feedback.

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again at some point in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Myself, my husband and our dog stayed at the Ardilaun overnight recently. As we hadn't previously travelled with our dog we decided to try out an overnight stay as opposed to a weekend. We were a little anxious on arrival as we hadn't brought him to a hotel before and it is a little weird to walk in with him at first. From the second we arrived we were made to feel more than welcome with him, from receiption to the waiting staff to anybody we met around the hotel and grounds, everybody was very accomodating. The room and gardens were lovely and ideally situated for us and our dog. We ate in the lobby and had a few drinks and found it totally relaxing. The only thing I was surprised at was the bar menu, it is a little on the pricey side and a bit fancier than your average bar menu of fish and chips and burgers. Having said that the food was fabulous as was the service. It would however be nice to have maybe a couple of cheaper options. Overall, a fantastic night away, thoroughly enjoyed and all three of us will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so delighted that all three of you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your comments.

Your comments have been communicated throughout the hotel to each department - including to our Head Chef and his team.

Thank you again for having stayed with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The only downside is the hotel is a little ways away from the city center. If that is not what you are looking for, then this is a very nice venue that is very pleasant. It is only a 1 mile walk to get to the waterfront by walking through the local neighborhood. The hotel has a classic feel, yet it has all good amenities. Free and fast Internet, air conditioned rooms and excellent dinner meals.

It is a big hotel which scares some people, but it is really not that bad. It is more quiet with everything spread out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrPKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for having stayed with us recently and for taking the time to post your tripadvisor review.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to us again should you be planning another trip to Ireland.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I recently had my wedding reception at the Ardilaun Hotel and I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough. The staff were so friendly and efficient. Every dealing I had with the hotel staff they were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Orla Dolan made organising the wedding very easy and stress free. Kate Colman was very helpful when it came to the accommodation for the bridal party and guests. Barbara from the leisure centre organised the Kids club for 15 kids attending the wedding and they had a wonderful time. Anyone planning a wedding at the ardilaun with kids aged 2-12 I would definetly recommend the kids club for the parents as much as the kids. The food and service was excellent. The gardens at the rear of the hotel were the perfect location for our drinks reception on a sunny afternoon. My husband and I could not have imagined a better wedding reception than we had at the ardilaun.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPM32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you both - so vey much - for having chosen The Ardilaun as the venue for your very special day. It was our pleasure to have had you all with us.

A wedding day is a very special celebration day for not only the bride and groom but their families and guests also. It is wonderful to receive your feedback.

Thank you again - we wish you both a very long, healthy and happy future.

We hope that you will visit us again in the years ahead to relive your memories.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Emmet the receptionist was so so so welcoming and professional at his job. Really made us feel welcome and ensured we had all information that we required. All staff were so so helpful and great at their respective jobs, the hotel and leisure centre deserve 10/10 for the cleanliness and service provided.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YvonneMartin100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Yvonne,

Thank you for your review. We are very grateful that you have taken the time to let other tripadvisor users know about your recent stay with us.

Your comments, as is the case with every comment received into the hotel, has been communicated throughout each department (Emmet is so thankful).

Thank you again - we hope that you will return to us some time in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just back from a two night stay in this hotel with husband and my 3 kids. when initially booking i was told there was no inter connecting rooms but I would be put in a "superior room" . Our bedroom was on the 3rd floor which was about 5 minutes from reception. The room was a double and single bed with a sofa bed for my other two kids it was by no means a "superior room" was really disappointed. I asked to be moved but was told that there was no other rooms available. Staff are lovely and helpful. Would not say this is a four star hotel by any means needs to be updated?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,108 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,778 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,384 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill House 2 Taylors Hill Road, Galway H91 YV5Y, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: $69 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing