We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ardilaun hotel Galway”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ardilaun hotel Galway”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently stayed in the Ardilaun (again) for two nights. It's a great hotel, comfortable and gracious. We experienced the staff to be friendly and very courteous, especially Barbara who is an absolute gem. The leisure centre is exellent. Our room was spotless and very comfortable, there is free wifi (great reception) a safe, ironing board as well as a teas made in the room. Plenty of toiletries and fluffy bath towels. It's a 20 minute walk into the city, on a dry day very pleasant. There was a good choice for breakfast. We had a beautiful evening meal on one of the nights. A classic hotel. There is bicycle hire available. A great Galway hotel. A great base from which to visit Galway and to explore the surrounding beautiful countryside. We look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: They do have rooms of various sizes so if you have a particular requirement just phone reception in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurangai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear ' Kurangai',

Thank you.

Your lovely comments have been very gratefuly received and have been communicated throughout the hotel to each department.

We thank you for having stayed with us again and look forward to your next visit.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    392
    185
    96
    60
See reviews for
355
536
34
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a great hotel, staff are really friendly, rooms are spotless and food is lovely, a great breakfast awaits (7am til 10.30am) those who over indulge on the batter the night before. There's a great leisure centre and the grounds are wonderful. Close enough to all amenities, good taxi service and the local buses are right outside the gate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blockbuster_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear 'Blockbuster_56',

Thank you.

We are so happy to read your review and very grateful to you for having taken the time to let other tripadvisor users know about your recent stay with us.

Hopefully you will come back to stay with us again soon.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
189 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We only spent one night at the Ardilaun but it was great. The rooms are huge with lovely bathrooms. The hotel facilites are great too. Nice pub as well as a dining room. The Leisure Centre has a heated pool (not very warm though) and they are very fussy but I guess for good reason. Staff friendly. This Hotel is not situated near to town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a proper view. Our view was overlooking the dustbins.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear 'travelbabe40',

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are truely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will come back to stay with us again in the future.

You are correct that the temperature in the pool was a little cool when you were with us. This was as a result of a problem which we had with one of the pumps to the pool. This pump had to be replaced and it took a number of days to get the pool temperature back to the correct level. We did the best that we could to resolve the matter as quickly as possible once it was realised - it is important that you would know the reason for the water temperature issue.

Thank you again for your review and for having chosen to stay with us.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Myself and my wife had booked a stay in the Ardilaun Hotel Galway for 8 nights in August.During the 3rd night at 1.30am I was taken suddenly ill, I contacted the front desk and within 10 minutes the Night Porter had organised an ambulance from the nearby University Hospital where I spent the next 5 days. Both myself and my wife are OAPs and the Hotel Staff, from the Manager down, couldn't have been more caring and helpful, especially as my wife was extremely stressed out by my illness. They provided me with towels and toiletries for my stay in the hospital (naturally we hadn't come prepared for a hospital stay!); on my return to the hotel for the final night of our stay the staff again were so helpful. I couldn't fault the hotel for anything and have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the hotel to anyone.
Seamus O'Gorman




  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 36Seamus41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Seamus,

You are so very kind to post your review here on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us and we really appreciate that you have taken the time to do so.

It is unfortunate that you could not enjoy your complete stay with us but the important thing is that now you are doing well. We are only too delighted that we were able to help you and your wife when you needed help.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you both back to stay with us again in the future at some point.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

6 of us stayed in this Hotel in September - (5 Sisters and our Mam) We had a fabulous weekend.
The Staff were so friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us.The Grounds are so lovely and vast considering you are in Galway City. The food was super and we had Dinner both nights of our stay - a different menu each night which gave us great choice. The rooms were really fabulous and the en suites were top class. The Leisure center was also superb - great after a serious days shopping in Galway!Overall we had a fantastic weekend and will recommend this to all our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bud7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear 'bud7',

Thank you so much for your fabulous review and, more importantly, for having chosen to stay with us here at The Ardilaun. It was our pleasure to have had you all as our guests and we hope that you will come back to stay with us again in the future.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We ate here with my cousin who was staying here on a tour. The food was 'international' and very nice. The service was great. We felt very looked after and my cousin was very pleased with how the hotel staff treated us all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acsgcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear 'Acsgcs',

Thank you.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were booked in here on our tour. This is a grand old lady of a hotel, that's a bit faded. Worn carpet and very poor plumbing (shower was just a trickle and they said that was best it could be). That said, room was clean and spacious, breakfast was excellent, and the hotel is relatively convenient to the center of town: a long walk or short taxi ride. We would porbably return but with lower expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_in_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Jim,

Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We thank you for your feedback and would like to assure you that we are very focused in terms of continuous refurbishment. There are elements of refurbishment which cannot be carried out during our busier months - in November of this year we begin to replace some of the carpets in the hotel.

Thank you for your feedback also in relation to plumbing - I have highlighted this with the relevant person here in the hotel. Unfortunately we cannot know from your review what room number you were in but we will do our best to work on this feedback.

We hope that you will return to stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,982 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,825 reviews
2.7 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Property: The Ardilaun Hotel
Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing