We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really liked this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“I really liked this hotel”
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I just placed a not so good review about the not so good Hotel Meyrick and felt a positive review was due for the hotel i did like staying in! Overall i like it, good value good view and friendlly staff, no complaints does exactly what you expect at a good price. Well done

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galwayvisitor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear GalwayVisitor2010,

I'm sorry that your first Galway experience wasn't outstanding from the start but I'm glad that our hotel hit the spot for you.

Hope to hear that you may be a GalwayVisitor 2011, we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    547
    204
    64
    33
See reviews for
197
612
46
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I didnt feel as if we were valued guests. No feather pillows available, no water in the roon and no sweetener anywhere for the hot drinks.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsara100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear RedSara100,

I am sincerely sorry that you felt leaving the hotel that we didn't value your business. We realise that there is a lot of choice and thus there is a responsibility upon us to deliver great service to any guest choosing to spend their money with us. The normal comment that we would receive would be that our staff are very friendly and personable but we failed you in this regard.

It is correct that we do not offer feather pillows on request. As a three star hotel, it's not a facility that we provide as standard, but with advance notice would have been something we could have assisted with. There is no valid reason for not having sweetener in our hotel, I am genuinely sorry that we failed in this regard. It wouldn't be a common complaint, normally it's the little touches that people like and we rarely miss the opportunity to go the extra mile for people.

I appreciate that you have taken your time to share your experience and even when the feedback comes in the form of constructive feedback, we give it 100% of our attention. I really appreciate the opportunity to find out where we could have improved and I assure you that I will chase action to prevent the same feeling of not being valued for future guests.

I would be very grateful of the opportunity to earn back your confidence. Please feel free to contacty me directly if you are returning to the Galway area.

Kind regards,
Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights while touring Ireland. Veyr reasonable price and hotel is clean and modern. Bathrooms are extremely clean. Bed was on the small side, but we encountered that everywhere in Ireland, so it may just be a difference between there and the USA. The hotel is a quick walk to Eyre Square and downtown area of Galway. The full breakfast is delicious. Gym is small, but fine and jacuzzi is relaxing after a long day. I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronzchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear Bronzechica,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the TripAdvisor community. I am delighted that you had such a good stay and that our location aided you getting the most from your time in Galway.

Kind regards,
Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Welcome was nice, staff was very attentive and helpful . The room was big and very quiet while the beer fest took place nearby. Returning to Galway we would reserve another time a room in this hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touriste-o-longcours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Dear touriste-o-longcours,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your visit with us. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay and would be very grateful of the opportunity to welcome you back to us. As a family run hotel, we are always delighted when people have enjoyed what we have created here in the heart of the City of Tribes.

Kind regards,
Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Modern, well located hotel. 10 min walk from main nightlife and shops.

Ticked all the boxes. Rooms were a good size, clean and modernly decorated.

Lovely, plentiful breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TartanFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Dear EAMcLaughlin,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that we ticked all of your boxes. Hopefully you will be back in the City of Tribes in the not too distant future and we will have the pleasure of taking care of you again.

Kind regards,
Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Have stayed 4 or 5 times. Staff nice and beds comfortable. Variable in terms of towels and toiletries suppplied. Curtains poor and not very clean. Meals in restaurant invariably awful. Avoid even if included free in offer. Breakfast usually good. Parking now charged for - used to be free and that encouraged us to stay. Reasonable value given location. Front rooms can be noisy and back rooms dismal if on lower floors.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riyaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Dear riyaCork,

I'm sorry to hear that you have no confidence in our food. We have been steering our menus in-line with feedback received from our guests and offer a gastropub menu providing great value and excellent food quality as a norm. I don't think it's a fair comment but I do take your point on board. It's a pity that you have no other postings on other hotels so that I can get a barometer on your normal preferences for food.

I accept that the rooms to the front can be noisy, you will have noticed the addition of the second noise screen to all front facing rooms. This has reduced the noise disruption hugely. To the rear, I'm afraid there's very little I can do to improve the view.

It's good that you have enjoyed breakfast and that you return often - I would love the opportunity to reserve a meal for you on your next visit to earn back your confidence in our food offerings. You might contact me directly to this end.

Kind regards,
Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Hotel is central about 5 mins walk to Eyre Square, Needs a little bit of maintenance through out but overall comfortable. Breakfast was good with service until 11am.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinodub3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Dear Marinodub,

I'm glad that overall you had a pleasant stay. I really appreciate the constructive criticism. It's difficult to undertake heavy maintenance during the peak summer period, but from November to March, we can leave the building as shiny as a new pin and ready for the season ahead.

Look out on your next visit for our new look bar and bistro not to mention teh refurbished conference facilties and in three weeks time we will be installing a new purpose built breakfast buffet counter. Rest assured that we are taking nothing for granted and are continuing to invest in our facility.

Kind regards,
Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,712 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
859 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Property: Harbour Hotel Galway
Address: 17 New Road | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Hotel Galway, is centrally located in the heart of Galway City - just a 3 minute walk to Eyre Square, Shop St. & Quay St. A family owned hotel, the focus is on customer service. Guests return to the Harbour Hotel, time and time again. Whilst the hotel is right in the heart of Galway City Centre, you will be able to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep as the hotel is located at the historical port in a primarily residential area, removed from the roar of the famous Galway nightlife in full flow. With a range of double, twin, triple, superior doubles and family rooms available, The Harbour Hotel Galway is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms feature complimentary high speed wireless internet access so you can work in comfort or keep in touch with loved ones at your leisure. A snapshot of our rooms: • Complimentary Wi-Fi (Wireless High Speed Internet) • Tea and coffee making facilities with Nespresso Machines in Superior Bedrooms • Pillow topped beds with fuffy duvets & crisp white linen • Writing Desk • Cable TV • Trouser Press • Hairdryer • Bathroom amenities Onsite parking is available to the rear of the hotel. Stay in touch with friends and family with Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel The Harbour Bar & Restaurant at the Harbour Hotel offers the very best of city centre dining in Galway. The perfect venue for a casual lunch or lingering romantic dinner. Head Chef Paddy Anslow's focus is on homemade, wholesome food using the very best of fresh, local produce. The ambiance is casual and you will feel instantly at ease on arrival. Recently renovated, with private booths and a warm, yet contemporary feel, the Harbour Bar & Restaurant is very popular with locals and residents alike. The Harbour Bar; Wind down at the Harbour Bar, the perfect place to chill out, catch up with friends and soak up the atmosphere. After a busy day, enjoy a glass of wine or a fun cocktail with friends. Watch up to the minute sports live on one of the two large Plasma Screens. Bar Menu served daily from 12noon until 10pm. Haven Health & Fitness allows you to work out in a personal environment at your own pace. Facilities of the gym include cardiovascular machines, weights and a stretching area. Conveniently located in the heart of Galway this small yet exclusive Fitness Club is designed with your modern busy lifestyle in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing