We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful Place....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dreadful Place....”
Reviewed July 26, 2007

Horrible accomodations! The linens were awful, scratchy and pilled. The noise coming from outside the front of the hotel,(near the bar/restaurant) kept us up all night. Walls are paper thin, very shoddy construction. Room was musty and poorly ventilated. Worst travel night of our lives.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy4026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    537
    200
    63
    33
See reviews for
194
601
45
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed in the harbour hotel for 4 nights in july. Overall our stay in the hotel was great... However we did have a few minor complaints.
Good Bits:
-Bar food was great
-Food in resteraunt was even better
-Resteraunt staff and front desk staff were very nice,friendly and helpful
-Room was very nice and it was clean
-Very nice lobby
-Great jacuzzi
-Free parking
-Black-out curtains
-Literally 3 mins walk from the the centre of everything

Not so good bits:
-The first night we stayed the room was unbearably hot from about 4 p.m. all through the night...No air con...No fans!! We slept with the windows open, however our room faced the road and we were woken very early with the traffic noise!! (It is a very busy road but this is not the fault of the hotel!) I would recommend antone who is planning on staying here to ask for a room that does not face the road! The heat problem was not so bad after the first night.
-I hate to say it but i found the bar staff extremely unhelpful. We sat on two occasions for a considerable length of time waitng for someone to take our food order in the bar. We would not have minded only they were not doing anything else. Also waited a long time on drinks on a few occasions. This really contrasted with the efficency and helpfulness of the resteraunt staff
-Hairdryer was SO annoying as you have to keep your finger on the "on" button!
- Very expensive breakfast if it wasnt included in your room price.

Overall we found it a great place to stay in galway. Ant complaints we had were very minor and wouldn't put us off returning to the harbour hotel.

  • Liked — The room and the great food!!
  • Disliked — Bar service!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katiepopsxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

This is not a bad choice for a stay in Galway. The location is not directly in the middle of everything, but a short walk away. The modern decor of the hotel is comfortable and the rooms were adequate.

Our first room, although non-smoking, smelled strongly of smoke, so we asked for a different one. We were given a much larger room, so I am not sure of room catagory and how we were first given a small room.

There were several quirks with the room, some were probably just due to our ignorance. First, the toilet did not work properly, until we were told we must press the lever twice quickly. On entering the room you must put your key in a slot so that all the electrical items work. If you don't the lights all go out after about 5 minutes- I found this out the hard way late at night and was left in the dark.

The windows only open about 2 inches and that makes it stuffy in the room if it is warm.

The street is pretty noisy, but this in common in the town center.

The bar and restaurant were very nice and front desk helpful. Also, it was nice that parking was included and it was convenient in the garage out back.

We loved Galway and especially the music at night. We listened to a wonderful band at King's Gate in the Quai Street area. I think that band plays on Sunday nights and they are not to be missed.

Not a bad stay at all, but maybe I would look elsewhere on my next trip to Galway.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waytogogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

The hotel has a central location to the city centre. Galway is a great city, great shopping, dining, and nightlife.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ksaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Stayed in the Harbour Hotel for 2 nights with my boyfriend in July - great experience. Location very central, just a couple of minutes from city centre. Room clean and comfortable.

Didn't eat in hotel so can't comment on food but staff all very friendly. Disappointed that the steam room wasn't working though. Carpets had just been replaced so had a very new feel and smell.

  • Liked — jacuzzi
  • Disliked — no separate shower cubicles in bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie_106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webster,ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

My friend, her daughter and myself stayed at the Harbour Hotel for 5 days in June and it was very nice. It was clean, and the staff was very helpful. We went to the desk repeatidly asking for directions, and then asking again as we wanted to be sure we had them correct, and they were extremely patient with us. We had car trouble and they called the car rental place for us and assisted us with that also.

The breakfast was good with more than just rolls and yogurt; 2 selections of eggs,ham, sausages,home fries,fruits and cereals. On several occasions we sent for room service and they were very accomodating;coming back several times with more items we requested.I'm not sure if it was due to the late hour we called or what,but we ordered chicken sandwhiches and that's exactly what we got;chicken on bread with a little mayonaise...boring, but when we called and requested onion,lettuce & tomatoe they returned with a variety of garnishes.
The bar tended to be a bit more trendy, as in feeling a bit out of place in just jeans.
There was free parking and it was within walking distance to the main streets of Galway. Be sure to realize that the shops in Ireland close by 6:00pm, but there is plenty of bar life in Galway as it is a major college town.
I would stay at this hotel again, it was worth its price and especially since the staff. was so wonderful .

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — food a bit boring
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

Having read some of the other reviews I think that some people are either being very harsh or stayed at a different hotel than I did. Im glad I didnt read the reviews before I went as they would have put me off and we had a great stay. The room was spotlessly clean, serviced daily, modern and a good size. I stay in hotels alot, travelling for business and this is definitely not what Id describe as a 'budget' hotel. Staff were really friendly, food was good (both breakfast and bar food), location was excellent and it was good value. I really have no complaints and would recommend to anyone for a break in Galway. Galway itself was fantastic, had a great time and will definately be back

Helpful?
1 Thank cat-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,916 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Property: Harbour Hotel Galway
Address: 17 New Road | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Hotel Galway, is centrally located in the heart of Galway City - just a 3 minute walk to Eyre Square, Shop St. & Quay St. A family owned hotel, the focus is on customer service. Guests return to the Harbour Hotel, time and time again. Whilst the hotel is right in the heart of Galway City Centre, you will be able to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep as the hotel is located at the historical port in a primarily residential area, removed from the roar of the famous Galway nightlife in full flow. With a range of double, twin, triple, superior doubles and family rooms available, The Harbour Hotel Galway is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms feature complimentary high speed wireless internet access so you can work in comfort or keep in touch with loved ones at your leisure. A snapshot of our rooms: • Complimentary Wi-Fi (Wireless High Speed Internet) • Tea and coffee making facilities with Nespresso Machines in Superior Bedrooms • Pillow topped beds with fuffy duvets & crisp white linen • Writing Desk • Cable TV • Trouser Press • Hairdryer • Bathroom amenities Onsite parking is available to the rear of the hotel. Stay in touch with friends and family with Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel The Harbour Bar & Restaurant at the Harbour Hotel offers the very best of city centre dining in Galway. The perfect venue for a casual lunch or lingering romantic dinner. Head Chef Paddy Anslow's focus is on homemade, wholesome food using the very best of fresh, local produce. The ambiance is casual and you will feel instantly at ease on arrival. Recently renovated, with private booths and a warm, yet contemporary feel, the Harbour Bar & Restaurant is very popular with locals and residents alike. The Harbour Bar; Wind down at the Harbour Bar, the perfect place to chill out, catch up with friends and soak up the atmosphere. After a busy day, enjoy a glass of wine or a fun cocktail with friends. Watch up to the minute sports live on one of the two large Plasma Screens. Bar Menu served daily from 12noon until 10pm. Haven Health & Fitness allows you to work out in a personal environment at your own pace. Facilities of the gym include cardiovascular machines, weights and a stretching area. Conveniently located in the heart of Galway this small yet exclusive Fitness Club is designed with your modern busy lifestyle in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing