We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff make this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed for one night in December 2009, it was our work christmas party. Chek-in was extremely efficient, staff very helpful at the front desk.
Our room was beautifully decorated, bathroom was very clean. The bedroom was a bit on the small side, but as we spent very little time in the room itself, it didn't really matter. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room were basic, but more than adequate.
The bar downstairs proved to be the place to be for us that night. You could not ask for a friendlier, more accommodating barman than Kevin. We were a group of 30, and the service was fast, efficient and above all, extremely friendly.
Dinner was set in a beautiful dining room next to the bar, and there we were treated to a great christmas dinner menu. Nice choice of starters, mains and desserts, all beautifully prepared and delicious. Again, staff were helpful and attentive.
We stayed in the bar until it closed at 2am, after which we were told we could continue our night in the lobby, where they still served us drinks. This in my opinion is really going above and beyond call of duty. Any other hotel would close the bar and tell you to go to bed. The person on duty at front desk that night lit the gad fire for us, as the night was very cold.
Breakfast the following morning was a very nice, relaxed affair. Selection of food available was just what you'd expect from a hotel like this. Beautiful, fresh breads and pastries, cereal, and of course your bacon, sausage, eggs, beans etc. More than enough to give us energy to walk into city centre (5minutes away from the hotel) to do a bit of shopping. On checking out, again, front desk staff made us feel welcome to stay another night. And trust me, we would've if we could've done!
Only one negative thing was that I found the room to be a bit cold, but this is a personal preference. The person I was sharing with found the room a bit too warm. As soon as you got into the extremely comfy bed and pulled the duvet on, you didn't really care, what a great night's sleep I had!
All in all, a great stay, fantastic staff, good food, great atmosphere and a very central location! I really cannot fault this hotel in any respect, and we're already organising another outing to Galway so we can stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akaasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2010

Dear Akaasia,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience so much. It reminds our team that the little things we do each day, mean a lot to our guests and add to their enjoyment.

I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the not so distant future. Keep checking our website for great deals and seasonal offers.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,318 - 1,324 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2010

Very Friendly Staff, Great Location, nice clean rooms, but could use a little help in the breakfast department, but as far as value, you can always grab breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zerozeray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2010

Dear Zerozeray,

Thank yu for posting your review and I'm glad that we have made your stay in Galway such a pleasant experience.

Breakfast has popped up a few times as being an area that we could do better on, please accept my assurances that we are working to turn that into a positive to match the rest of your experience.

I hope to welcome you back to the City of Tribes so you can try out the improvements first hand.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

I stayed in a twin room with a friend for a weekend break. The room and bathroom were a good size and nicely decorated. TV was large and had a good variety of channels. Beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in. They contain mattress that are firm on one side and soft on the other side.

Hotel is located in Galway city so no taxis were needed.

There is an early bird dinner meal served in the hotel which is good value for money.

Breakfast is an all you can eat buffet and was delicious. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaoife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2010

Dear eaoife,

Thank you for posting your positive review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you had such a nice trip. I'd love to be able to post the bed to you, but if you want to contact me directly, I'll let you know where we got them!

Failing that, be sure to come back as often as possible where you can always be sure of a great night's sleep.

I'll keep checking back on comments from the TA community so we can be sure that we're keeping your members happy.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Booked a superior room for 1 night. Got there and it would appear that the superior rooms are the smoking rooms, was moved twice and they all stank of smoke, was then moved to a standard room that was ok but quite basic.
Hotel staff were all friendly and buffet breakfast quite good too.
No free parking and the wireless internet did not work.
Very handy hotel for city centre.
I used to stay here when it first opened a few years ago and it was really nice but it seems to have gone a bit downhill since and there are many alternatives nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2010

Dear JimBob22,

I am sorry that you have not had a positive experience with us in December. The hotel has gone through a series of upgrades since we opened and we have done so in line with comments received through TA and other sources. Not all of our superior rooms are on our smoking corridor, but the rest must have been occupied on the night your visited. I am sincerely sorry that we let you down on this.

Please accept my apologies and an invitiation to give us a try one last time so we can show you that the best days are not behind us. You are right that there is a lot of choice in Galway and that's why we are committed to improving and delivering excellent customer care. Please don't write us off yet. Please contact me directly, I'll make sure you are looked after on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

My husband and I were booked into hotel as part of group of 30 people. Had I been making my own booking going on Tripadvisor reviews (I always check Tripadvisor before booking any accomodation/holiday and have never been disappointed with my choices as a result) I would not have booked this hotel. I actually emailed the manager to enquire if the hotel regularly check Tripadvisor reviews and if they make an effort to solve any problems mentioned prior to going).
Having stayed in the hotel I have to say the Hotel was great. Did they give us a good room because of my email I do not know? There is a new manager just on the job - perhaps he is making changes.
What I found: Room small but adequate. Bathroom adequate and clean but missing plug for the bath. I am sure they would have provided a new one had we asked. Room clean and had everything required for the two nights we were booked in. Rooms were too hot and everyone in our group had to open windows and turn heating off. That is not a complaint but a personal preference. Breakfast was again not four star maybe three but it was fine. All staff were very nice and efficient. Hotel is ideal for walking into the city. Hotel reminds me of an IBIS or Jurys Inn type of hotel, slightly impersonal. Would I stay here again if I was booking for my husband and I? No, but that is only because we prefer an older building and a four star hotel for those extra touches and fresher organic type breakfast etc. Would I recommend this hotel....most definitely if you want a three star, withing walking distance of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eire317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2010

Dear eire317,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review and I'm glad that we exceeded your initial expectations. I would like to assure you that you were in a standard room and that you had a stay that is reflective of our standards throughout.

It is correct that I am new to this hotel and the team are responding positively to some new approaches being adopted through myself and the owner. We are trying to make improvements that will deliver a very personal service and I would agree that the breakfast service needed attention and we have given attention to breakfast service and menu items. I think you would be happier with the current offering.

Sometimes change takes time, but I would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back and perhaps win you over with the improved customer forst approaches.

I have used TA to guide those changes since my arrival and I will continue to do so in the future to ensure that we stay in touch with the needs and expectations of our valued guests.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Stayed there with a number of colleagues in August. The hotel is quite nice and centrally located. The staff were very friendly and helpful. However, the hotel was quite busy and as it was Thursday night, a lot of guests were parting. People next door were very noisy at 2am but when i called the reception, somebody went up to that room immediately and somehow managed to keep them quiet! Overall, i can recommend the place - you can find drunk guests everywhere! However, i think that 89 euros for a single room was a little bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2010

Dear MyTara,

Thank you for posting your feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with our service and location.

I'm sorry that you felt the value could have been better, perhaps it's worth checking out our own website for some of the great value deals available before your next trip to Galway. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

This hotel is a very modern hotel and in easy walking distance to the city center. After several days of driving, we were glad to be able to park and just take in the sights of Galway on foot. Hotel is convenient to get to and the amenities are nice.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank areburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2010

Dear areburn,

Thank you for posting your review, it's great to get all feedback.

I see you hail from Alabama so it's unlikely that you will be a regular repeat visitor which makes us appreciate the comments even more. Thank you for going out of your way to let the TA community know what you think.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,308 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
933 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Address: New Dock Road | The Harbour, Galway H91 E9PR, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $99 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm welcome and fantastic customer service throughout your stay at the Harbour Hotel Galway. We are conveniently located in the heart of Galway City, perfect for a getaway break with so much to do on our doorstep. 96 bedrooms and executive rooms, onsite parking and fitness suite. Stay connected with complimentary high speed Wi-Fi provided throughout. Dine in Dillisk on the Docks, our restaurant and bar with stylishly rustic décor and comfortable furnishings. Dillisk on The Docks combines both modern-creative and traditional styles of cooking using only local producers. Galway’s newest social hub, with outdoor heated garden, social seating with pockets of inviting living room seating and a wide choice of cocktails, gins, wines and whiskeys. Location: Galway is famous for its culture, atmosphere, artistic heritage and breathtaking landscapes along the Wild Atlantic Way. There is so much to explore, experience and enjoy on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing