We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable bed ever slept in, large room bathroom, central & good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most comfortable bed ever slept in, large room bathroom, central & good value”
Reviewed January 2, 2010

I stayed in a twin room with a friend for a weekend break. The room and bathroom were a good size and nicely decorated. TV was large and had a good variety of channels. Beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in. They contain mattress that are firm on one side and soft on the other side.

Hotel is located in Galway city so no taxis were needed.

There is an early bird dinner meal served in the hotel which is good value for money.

Breakfast is an all you can eat buffet and was delicious. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaoife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, January 15, 2010
Dear eaoife,

Thank you for posting your positive review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you had such a nice trip. I'd love to be able to post the bed to you, but if you want to contact me directly, I'll let you know where we got them!

Failing that, be sure to come back as often as possible where you can always be sure of a great night's sleep.

I'll keep checking back on comments from the TA community so we can be sure that we're keeping your members happy.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    559
    204
    66
    34
See reviews for
203
619
48
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Booked a superior room for 1 night. Got there and it would appear that the superior rooms are the smoking rooms, was moved twice and they all stank of smoke, was then moved to a standard room that was ok but quite basic.
Hotel staff were all friendly and buffet breakfast quite good too.
No free parking and the wireless internet did not work.
Very handy hotel for city centre.
I used to stay here when it first opened a few years ago and it was really nice but it seems to have gone a bit downhill since and there are many alternatives nearby.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, January 15, 2010
Dear JimBob22,

I am sorry that you have not had a positive experience with us in December. The hotel has gone through a series of upgrades since we opened and we have done so in line with comments received through TA and other sources. Not all of our superior rooms are on our smoking corridor, but the rest must have been occupied on the night your visited. I am sincerely sorry that we let you down on this.

Please accept my apologies and an invitiation to give us a try one last time so we can show you that the best days are not behind us. You are right that there is a lot of choice in Galway and that's why we are committed to improving and delivering excellent customer care. Please don't write us off yet. Please contact me directly, I'll make sure you are looked after on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

My husband and I were booked into hotel as part of group of 30 people. Had I been making my own booking going on Tripadvisor reviews (I always check Tripadvisor before booking any accomodation/holiday and have never been disappointed with my choices as a result) I would not have booked this hotel. I actually emailed the manager to enquire if the hotel regularly check Tripadvisor reviews and if they make an effort to solve any problems mentioned prior to going).
Having stayed in the hotel I have to say the Hotel was great. Did they give us a good room because of my email I do not know? There is a new manager just on the job - perhaps he is making changes.
What I found: Room small but adequate. Bathroom adequate and clean but missing plug for the bath. I am sure they would have provided a new one had we asked. Room clean and had everything required for the two nights we were booked in. Rooms were too hot and everyone in our group had to open windows and turn heating off. That is not a complaint but a personal preference. Breakfast was again not four star maybe three but it was fine. All staff were very nice and efficient. Hotel is ideal for walking into the city. Hotel reminds me of an IBIS or Jurys Inn type of hotel, slightly impersonal. Would I stay here again if I was booking for my husband and I? No, but that is only because we prefer an older building and a four star hotel for those extra touches and fresher organic type breakfast etc. Would I recommend this hotel....most definitely if you want a three star, withing walking distance of the city.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eire317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, January 15, 2010
Dear eire317,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review and I'm glad that we exceeded your initial expectations. I would like to assure you that you were in a standard room and that you had a stay that is reflective of our standards throughout.

It is correct that I am new to this hotel and the team are responding positively to some new approaches being adopted through myself and the owner. We are trying to make improvements that will deliver a very personal service and I would agree that the breakfast service needed attention and we have given attention to breakfast service and menu items. I think you would be happier with the current offering.

Sometimes change takes time, but I would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back and perhaps win you over with the improved customer forst approaches.

I have used TA to guide those changes since my arrival and I will continue to do so in the future to ensure that we stay in touch with the needs and expectations of our valued guests.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Stayed there with a number of colleagues in August. The hotel is quite nice and centrally located. The staff were very friendly and helpful. However, the hotel was quite busy and as it was Thursday night, a lot of guests were parting. People next door were very noisy at 2am but when i called the reception, somebody went up to that room immediately and somehow managed to keep them quiet! Overall, i can recommend the place - you can find drunk guests everywhere! However, i think that 89 euros for a single room was a little bit overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, January 15, 2010
Dear MyTara,

Thank you for posting your feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with our service and location.

I'm sorry that you felt the value could have been better, perhaps it's worth checking out our own website for some of the great value deals available before your next trip to Galway. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2009

This hotel is a very modern hotel and in easy walking distance to the city center. After several days of driving, we were glad to be able to park and just take in the sights of Galway on foot. Hotel is convenient to get to and the amenities are nice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank areburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, January 15, 2010
Dear areburn,

Thank you for posting your review, it's great to get all feedback.

I see you hail from Alabama so it's unlikely that you will be a regular repeat visitor which makes us appreciate the comments even more. Thank you for going out of your way to let the TA community know what you think.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Myself and my partner booked our room at least 3 weeks in advance. When we arrived we were put in a smoking room which smelled terrible. As neither of us are smokers this made us quite uncomfortable.I asked for us to be moved but as the hotel was booked to capacity this wasnt possible.I understand this point but was quite disappointed with the attitude of both reception and management staff who werent at all understanding and just dismissed the situation. On top of this there was no parking in the hotels discounted car park when we arrived, so we had to park in the public car park which could have ended up costing us up to €20. However when I brought this to the staffs attention they were helpful and help the next available space for me.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, January 15, 2010
DearMs Brennan,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor to let us know that you were not completely satisfied. I am glad that you did get parking in our car park and that you could see that our staff do make the effort to try wherever possible to arrange this for our guests. We have 70 spaces in a 96 room hotel so inevitably, there are occassions when the car park is full. We do try to provide everyone with a space where possible and we have arranged reduced pricing on those spaces on our guests' behalf.

I am sorry that there was an error on handling your reservation and that you were assigned to a smoking room. This should not have happened, we only have 6 smoking rooms. You should have had the opportunity to move, even if only on your second night and I would have felt that more should have been done to ensure you were pampered a little bit more to ensure that we made up for our mistake.

I joined the hotel shortly after your visit and we have been working hard to improve our understanding as a team, of how these things can ruin what otherwise would have been a pleasant experience. Smoking in guest rooms (Even when designated as Non Smoking), has become a problem in many hotels and we are working to find a permanent fix.

I hope you would considder giving us another try and if you would like to make direct contact with me I will be delighted to handle your arrangements personally.

I would also like to apologise for the length between your posting and this response.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Central location to City centre. Good bar food menu.
Fitness centre.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, January 15, 2010
Dear IrelandMonaghan,

Thank you for posting your comments. Your experience appears to be positive and that is what we aim for with all guests.

Don't be a stranger, we would love to welcome you back to the City of Tribes sooner rather than later.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,748 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Property: Harbour Hotel Galway
Address: 17 New Road | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Hotel Galway, is centrally located in the heart of Galway City - just a 3 minute walk to Eyre Square, Shop St. & Quay St. A family owned hotel, the focus is on customer service. Guests return to the Harbour Hotel, time and time again. Whilst the hotel is right in the heart of Galway City Centre, you will be able to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep as the hotel is located at the historical port in a primarily residential area, removed from the roar of the famous Galway nightlife in full flow. With a range of double, twin, triple, superior doubles and family rooms available, The Harbour Hotel Galway is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms feature complimentary high speed wireless internet access so you can work in comfort or keep in touch with loved ones at your leisure. A snapshot of our rooms: • Complimentary Wi-Fi (Wireless High Speed Internet) • Tea and coffee making facilities with Nespresso Machines in Superior Bedrooms • Pillow topped beds with fuffy duvets & crisp white linen • Writing Desk • Cable TV • Trouser Press • Hairdryer • Bathroom amenities Onsite parking is available to the rear of the hotel. Stay in touch with friends and family with Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel The Harbour Bar & Restaurant at the Harbour Hotel offers the very best of city centre dining in Galway. The perfect venue for a casual lunch or lingering romantic dinner. Head Chef Paddy Anslow's focus is on homemade, wholesome food using the very best of fresh, local produce. The ambiance is casual and you will feel instantly at ease on arrival. Recently renovated, with private booths and a warm, yet contemporary feel, the Harbour Bar & Restaurant is very popular with locals and residents alike. The Harbour Bar; Wind down at the Harbour Bar, the perfect place to chill out, catch up with friends and soak up the atmosphere. After a busy day, enjoy a glass of wine or a fun cocktail with friends. Watch up to the minute sports live on one of the two large Plasma Screens. Bar Menu served daily from 12noon until 10pm. Haven Health & Fitness allows you to work out in a personal environment at your own pace. Facilities of the gym include cardiovascular machines, weights and a stretching area. Conveniently located in the heart of Galway this small yet exclusive Fitness Club is designed with your modern busy lifestyle in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing