We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Hotel Galway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

Recently stayed here with 16 friends - should have realised when checkin was a bit of an ordeal that it wasnt going to be good.
All was ok until we went to check out - they wouldnt allow us to check out per room - it had to be paid by 1 person - which for 16 is not logical. Staff remained adamant that this was policy - ridiculous. Basically a lot nicer hotels with far more efficient staff in Galway & would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Also the car park was full.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank005, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, May 1, 2009
First of all, I would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Galway and for taking your time to share your comments regarding your stay.
We welcome any feedback that will allow us to evaluate and improve our performance.

Our Reservations Team and General Manager have made contact prior to April 21st with you regarding the above comments and have explained to you in detail our Hotel Policy.

Kind Regards

Francis Breslin
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    525
    195
    59
    29
See reviews for
188
580
44
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

Central, great city location,friendly capable staff, good value, clean, good bar, close to everything, easy access, free WiFi. Ideal business stop over less than 5 minutes walk from Eyre Square.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelmacginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank005, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, May 1, 2009
Thanks you for your comments,

Kind Regards

Francis Breslin
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

Windows were very dirty, upstairs of hotel quite shabby compared to very nice foyer bar and restaurant. It was an okay hotel but i feel we paid far too much for what we got, no breakfast included and we were charged for a breakfast we never had. However staff very helpful. I would recommend going to "Rodeo" cafe/restaurant 5 minutes away for very nice reasonable breakfast and lovely staff!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LolR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank005, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, May 1, 2009
Thanks your for your comments during your recent visit to the Harbour Hotel Galway.

Your comments have been passed on to our Accommodation Manager and he has checked thoroughly all windows for any signs of dust etc.I apologize for the error in your bill at check out and have mentioned this to the Front Office Team.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the future again to the Harbour Hotel Galway,

Regards

Francis Breslin
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

We stayed for a night in April and it was a great experience. Anything we needed the staff was wililng to do: look up restuarants, book tours, hold our luggage. They were excellent. So was the bar staff. The breakfast in the morning was great also.
The only down was having to put our key in the slot to keep the lights on. It was broken so the lights kept turning off.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank005, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, May 1, 2009
Thank your for your kind comments, they have been passed on to the Team Members.
Maintenance have carried out a check on all key card slots.

Regards

Francis Breslin
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

We stayed just one night (sunday)and booked it as a last minute deal. It was great value for money €60 for the room including breakfast. It was very centrally located and I found staff very pleasant and helpful. We did not eat at the hotel but food looked great and great offers were advertised throughout the hotel for meals for 2 etc.I would definately go back and stay again another weekend I am in Galway. This hotel would be very similar standard to a Jurys Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkGal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank005, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, May 1, 2009
Thank you very much for the nice feedback regarding your stay at the Harbour Hotel Galway
I was very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and services received from our Team members exceeded your expectations. I have taken the liberty of passing your compliments on to them, adding my own thanks.

Regards

Francis Breslin
Operations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

I was trying a few different hotels out in Galway recently to decide which I would stay in as a contracted rate. The harbour seemed to fit the bill and they talked a good sales pitch but they failed to perform.

The rate was average for Galway but the stealth charge of an overnight parking charge in their own car park was a little annoying. Its more than the Meyrick and their valet parks it for you in that hotel.

The staff are very nice and helpful and check in was as expected. The room was a little pokey. From the bedroom door to the bed was only a metre or so. The table and chairs by the small window was annoying because if you wanted the wardrobe opened you had to move the table and if you wanted to get into the bathroom you had to move the chair.

The breakfast buffet was their big selling point which they claimed was the best in Galway. Something must have happened during the night because this amazing buffet was replaced with a buffet you would see in any other hotel of similar class. Dont get me wrong, the food was very nice and the service very efficient and welcoming but a little overated by the reservations team.

The location is good but not great. Their is a noisy busy road outside to one side and the docklands to the other 3 sides which has the sounds of ships loading and unloading. The window did have a second window slide to mask the sound but due to the lack of air con made the room stuffy and it was already cramped.

I did eat from the restaurant menu also and the food was nice and the service again very good.

The hotel also has wireless throughout the hotel. The rooms do not have ehternet connections so if you do not have a wireless card, try elsewhere otherwise you would be sitting on the ground floor next to the lifts on the hotel computer.

I did like the hotel but may not return. The choice in Galway is vast for accomodation.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BertieBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathroy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2009

This was a very nice stay, one room smelled a little smokey so they upgraded us to a bigger room. Thankyou girls at the front desk. The two very sweet girls at the front desk made the stay very enjoyable. The parking was extra but 6 euro for 24 hours in and out is cheap. We had an excellent room, very clean and new. The internet was perfect. very fast. The spa wasn't very nice at all, Needs to be cleaned and the hot tub wasn't hot. The steam room was just plain nasty, smell of mold. This was overall a great hotel, with excellent restaurants in the area. We enjoyed a nice walk down by the Harbour. Very nice stay, five star breakfast. Very nice modern hotel. Lots of hot water, great location............. Good Job Harbour Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hillwilliam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank005, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, April 4, 2009
Thank you for your kind comments which have been passed on to our team, May I take this opportunity to apologize most sincerely for the fact that you had a negative experience while using our steam room I can assure this has been rectified.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Harbour Hotel Galway

Kind Regards

Francis Breslin
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Property: Harbour Hotel Galway
Address: 17 New Road | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
#15 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#17 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Hotel Galway, is centrally located in the heart of Galway City - just a 3 minute walk to Eyre Square, Shop St. & Quay St. A family owned hotel, the focus is on customer service. Guests return to the Harbour Hotel, time and time again. Whilst the hotel is right in the heart of Galway City Centre, you will be able to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep as the hotel is located at the historical port in a primarily residential area, removed from the roar of the famous Galway nightlife in full flow. With a range of double, twin, triple, superior doubles and family rooms available, The Harbour Hotel Galway is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms feature complimentary high speed wireless internet access so you can work in comfort or keep in touch with loved ones at your leisure. A snapshot of our rooms: • Complimentary Wi-Fi (Wireless High Speed Internet) • Tea and coffee making facilities with Nespresso Machines in Superior Bedrooms • Pillow topped beds with fuffy duvets & crisp white linen • Writing Desk • Cable TV • Trouser Press • Hairdryer • Bathroom amenities Onsite parking is available to the rear of the hotel. Stay in touch with friends and family with Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel The Harbour Bar & Restaurant at the Harbour Hotel offers the very best of city centre dining in Galway. The perfect venue for a casual lunch or lingering romantic dinner. Head Chef Paddy Anslow's focus is on homemade, wholesome food using the very best of fresh, local produce. The ambiance is casual and you will feel instantly at ease on arrival. Recently renovated, with private booths and a warm, yet contemporary feel, the Harbour Bar & Restaurant is very popular with locals and residents alike. The Harbour Bar; Wind down at the Harbour Bar, the perfect place to chill out, catch up with friends and soak up the atmosphere. After a busy day, enjoy a glass of wine or a fun cocktail with friends. Watch up to the minute sports live on one of the two large Plasma Screens. Bar Menu served daily from 12noon until 10pm. Haven Health & Fitness allows you to work out in a personal environment at your own pace. Facilities of the gym include cardiovascular machines, weights and a stretching area. Conveniently located in the heart of Galway this small yet exclusive Fitness Club is designed with your modern busy lifestyle in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing