We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I visited this hotel following a business trip to Galway. The hotels location is great being around 5 minutes from the central bar/restaurant area, ample car parking locally if required.
Smallish gym but adequate if no one else is using this. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice, excellent.
Staff attitude was first class - nothing to much trouble.


Only downside was the lack of air conditioning in the bedrooms, I visited Galway early April and the rooms were very warm, open the windows and the road noise was an issue. Be warned

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank somby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just had a marvellous dinner at the Harbour Hotel. It's the second time we've dined here and on both occasions the food has been tremendous. Also we were looked after extremely well by Kasia who made us feel very welcome. Heartily recommend the food and the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have stayed here before and I had posted a review late last year, which was not totally complimentary.
We stayed here on Valentine's night and again very recently. Trip Advisor wouldn't allow me to post a review in February as it was too close to my previous review!!. Anyway let me just say that this is a very good hotel which apart from offering comfortable and very reasonably priced accommodation, also provides an extremely good standard of food and an almost unrivalled quality of staff. Reception staff are wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. Restaurant staff are superb! Special mention for Kassia, Lukas and Tina. Look no further!!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surveyorDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We choose this hotel for our yearly trip to Galway based on previous reviews - it was perfect for location but other than that i can't agree with other reviews.
The staff were only ok - not over friendly. One day we went to front desk to ask something and found two of the female receptionists discussing / challenging each other re credit card receipts and accounts balancing etc...we stood there for a few minutes waiting and they continued their discussion before one came over to us....from my experience it's not very professional to discuss business when there are guests waiting to be seen to and especially not in the tone we listened to.
The breakfast was only ok also....we went with B&B instead of Room Only which we normally do based on the reviews on breakfast - on most of the mornings the hot breakfast plates were empty and waiting to be replenished. I didn't want toast one morning and just took 2 slices of break for a sandwich - the bread was hard and quite stale. All in all not reflective of other reviews.
Internet wasn't good at all - we got 3 day passes tokens with codes and had to keep logging back in each time which was very frustrating. Would be much better to use normal WIFI room number and surname and have consistent - not sure if this is something that could be looked into.
Room was small but nice. Had to turn off the radiator as it was so hot we couldn't sleep. Window's only opened small bit so had them opened all the time. Bed very comfortable but pillows were awful - too soft not comfortable at all. Bathroom basic.
We went into the bar one night around 10.30pm and waited for about 15mins to order a drink and there was no-one behind the counter - had to ask someone walking through the bar who worked there if there was anyone serving - she then kindly took our order.
As mentioned previously the location is awesome as only 4mins and your in the city.
Parking is also in carpark at side of hotel - €5.00 per night....steep if you are already paying a lot for the stay.....just be conscious of the extra's.
Don't think we would go back again to be honest but if you want clean hotel with good location you might like it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonnySouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Me & my wife stop hear 4 r anniversary. The staff where outstanding in every-way three stood out the most. Marie on front desk always with a smile and very helpful. Sean who would go out of his way for you and Tina who help to make r last nite great. Marie on front desk made r stay amazing make sure we had a love room with a comp dessert which was amazing and also got in chocolate in for my wife thank you. Sean who help me find a nice place for me and my wife to have dinner to make r evening great thank you and Tina who made r last nite that Littel bit nice thank you. This hotel went out of it way to make r 3 days amazing which there where it the Littel things that made you feel more happy like remember your name or going out of there way for you. I would say this is 10 times better than the park in Galway maybe the park should take some tips from this hotel as we stop with them as we'll and found it not up to the 4 star rate it has. I would say the harbour is very luck to have such amazing staff that I have talk about and I'm already looking to come again and if anyone is looking for an amazing hotel in Galway stay here. Food amazing room outstanding and staff are amazing. Thank you again michael and Monica Hinks email dartagnanhinks@hotmail.co.uk

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

A really lovely hotel well situated and great price, the rooms are lovely bright and very clean, the bed was so comfortable with huge pillows fab. Staff couldn't have been nicer. I ate in the bar and the food was lovely, very quiet though. The hotel is situated near Eyre Square so you can walk to it. Would recommend this hotel to all sorts of people hen parties, business etc. I used the free internet in the room and no issues, breakfast was a buffet and really lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krossikatzDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is my go-to hotel when I visit Galway. It is a mere 5 min walk into town, so perfect to see all the main tourist attractions and an easy walk home after a night of hitting the pubs. The hotel is great value and the rooms are very clean. The lobby area has a trendy feel to it and is perfect to enjoy a drink before heading out for the night. The restaurant also has very tasty food, I've had both dinner and breakfast here and have been very pleased with the food. The staff is very welcoming and accommodating making the experience at the hotel all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoeLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,383 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 46 in Galway
942 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Address: New Dock Road | The Harbour, Galway H91 E9PR, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $99 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm welcome and fantastic customer service throughout your stay at the 4 star Harbour Hotel Galway. We are conveniently located in the heart of Galway City, perfect for a getaway break with so much to do on our doorstep. 96 bedrooms and executive rooms, onsite parking and fitness suite. Stay connected with complimentary high speed Wi-Fi provided throughout. Dine in Dillisk on the Docks, our restaurant and bar with stylishly rustic décor and comfortable furnishings. Dillisk on The Docks combines both modern-creative and traditional styles of cooking using only local producers. Galway’s newest social hub, with outdoor heated garden, social seating with pockets of inviting living room seating and a wide choice of cocktails, gins, wines and whiskeys. Location: Galway is famous for its culture, atmosphere, artistic heritage and breathtaking landscapes along the Wild Atlantic Way. There is so much to explore, experience and enjoy on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing