We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, great breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here while with Go Ahead Tours, very centrally located to center of town. My room was very clean and bed was one of the most comfortable while I was in Ireland, however, there were no windows to the room, only two skylights, which was odd. Fortunately, I could open them for fresh air.

Room Tip: ask for a room with windows
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChefAnnMt_Laurel_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,489)
There are newer reviews for Harbour Hotel Galway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

804 - 810 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights Oct 13. The hotel was friendly, clean and I stay again if in the area.
The room was large with everything I needed and the bed comfy.
The food was also very good.

The car park is however the worst car park I have ever needed to use.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingsLynnIJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a goodbye party for friends here. The staff were so helpful with everything. They were very professional. Food was great. I would highly recommend this venue for any function. I will be using them again in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

In the last two years we have celebrated two important occasions in the Harbour Hotel. My Father's 70th Birthday, and my parents 50th Wedding Anniversary. The planning of both was done with the very professional assistance of Sean Rowland. Both of our parties were brilliant! The food was delicious, the service of all the staff would put some hotel's to shame. The rooms we stayed in are very warm and modern. I would like to thank all the staff at the hotel for making every so perfect for my parents. Well done and keep the good work up.

Nicola Connolly Galway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Not saying this should be #1 in Galway but it has several things going for it. It is clean and modern. Enjoyed the Irish Breakfast one morning in the restaurant. Parking is no problem and you can easily walk to the main attractions and shopping areas. We didn't want to leave one pub as the traditional Irish music was great. Returned to the hotel and had a good night sleep. Driving distance to the Cliffs the next day and on to Dublin.

Room Tip: Go for price value and don't be concerned about the view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I have been traveling throughout Ireland for 2 weeks and this is by far our least favorite hotel. We knew it might be a step down from some of the higher end hotels we have stayed in, but we didn't realize it would be more of a staircase down then a step. The hotel's website is deceiving with its professional photographs. The rooms are small, the walls need a good paint job, and the carpets are stained.The promise of pillow top, comfortable beds is a pure lie. If I move at all during the night my husband's side of the bed shakes and he wakes up, and vice versa. It's more like a water bed but with springs that you can feel. Speaking of water, the water pressure is abysmal. If the hotel management thinks they are saving on water, they are mistaken as showering takes twice as long. Even my husband' showers are longer and that's definitely a rarity. The sink drains slowly and for the shower to drain I had to pull the entire plug out. I think what was the most upsetting was the hotel's rationing of heat. They only turn on the heat from 6-7 pm so by 7:15 the rooms are cold again. I begged to have the heat turned on longer and they said they don't do that. Even the cheapest hostels have heat for their guests. Based on other reviews, staying here in the summer is no picnic either, as there's no a/c.

Even some of the positive aspects of the hotel, have negative aspects. When we first arrived in our room, there was a large poop-like stain on our sheets and the smoke detector was coming off the ceiling. They fixed both within a few hours but neither should have been there in the first place. There is wifi but they give you strips of paper in the morning with daily access codes. I guess getting a code for the whole stay would be asking too much (my husband asked after the women in front of him got a code for several days but he was denied). The lobby is one of the nicest areas of the hotel but this is to cater more to all of the conference attendees that fill the hotel. Conference attendees are definitely treated better than vacationers. Additionally, there is no business center and the gym is under lock and key-access is only granted through the front desk. Some of the staff is a bit stuck up and look at you puzzled when you ask basic questions such as why the heat is only on for 1 hour a day. We addressed many of our concerns with the front desk staff so if the hotel reads this review, they can't say we didn't mention our concerns. Unless a conference or meeting takes you to Hotel Harbour and you HAVE to stay here, look into other accommodations in Galway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Motrya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Desk people were excellent!!
Room was dirty - & linen & bedspread were terrible - something all over bed spread.
Definitely was a disappointment after some of the places we had all ready been to.
I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,981 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,191 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
901 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#33 of 46 in Galway
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Address: New Dock Road | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $123 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm welcome and fantastic customer service throughout your stay at the Harbour Hotel Galway. We are conveniently located in the heart of Galway City, perfect for a getaway break with so much to do on our doorstep. 96 bedrooms and executive rooms, onsite parking and fitness suite. Stay connected with complimentary high speed Wi-Fi provided throughout. Dine in Dillisk on the Docks, our restaurant and bar with stylishly rustic décor and comfortable furnishings. Dillisk on The Docks combines both modern-creative and traditional styles of cooking using only local producers. Galway’s newest social hub, with outdoor heated garden, social seating with pockets of inviting living room seating and a wide choice of cocktails, gins, wines and whiskeys. Location: Galway is famous for its culture, atmosphere, artistic heritage and breathtaking landscapes along the Wild Atlantic Way. There is so much to explore, experience and enjoy on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing