We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Outstanding staff, extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were good and offered a wide variety of options. The location is perfect for walking into town for shopping and entertainment. The only negative was the noise level on the ground floor. The hotel is promoting itself as a wedding site, and there were at least 2 wedding parties the weekend we were there. The noise level in the lobby and restaurant area made the choice to head into town for dinner an easy one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

This relatively new hotel is very comfortable indeed. Staff very friendly and helpful throughout. Room great, but no air conditioning so a bit sticky. Had to leave windows wide open so very noisy. In saying all that, still enjoyable stay. Food & coffee for breakfast were superb.
Hotel is quite convenient to all the city centre features & facilities.
Nice wee gym, too, that was available.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not overlooking road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martingerardkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We've been staying in the Raddission Blu hotels for much of my trip through Ireland but we wanted to try something different in Galway. The hotel is nicely decorated. The breakfast was priced well and tasty. The rooms are a bit small, especially if you are traveling with an infant bed/pack and play- maybe get a suite? Ask to not to get a room with the car park behind it. It's really loud. The staff was helpful. It's not a far walk to the city center or the coach station. There is parking for 6E-8E a day. My only real complaints were these: there was no temperature control. The room would get very stuffy/hot and there was nothing one could do about it. The shower pressure was poor and it didn't get hot, just warm. In our room the toilet seat wasn't adjusted properly and kept slipping to the side which was gross. The 2 rooms my other family members had didn't have the problems that mine did though except the shower issues.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDlocal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Harbor Hotel has an inviting lobby and restaurant. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful.

We found the breakfasts, especially, quite good. On the other hand there a some negative comments which led to us downrating the hotel:
. Rooms were too warm, between 23 and 24 with no way to cool them (could not open window because of street noise).
. Hall carpets had numerous dirty spots.
. While quite convenient to the old town, the hotel location has the feeling that one is in an industrial park.
We had hoped for a harbor view, but only one was of a black, very high, rock wall.

Room Tip: Get one facing the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dick_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was nice enough, Clean, modern, good breakfast with lovely fresh fruits. Just a few minutes walk away from shop street and Eye square. What makes this place is the fact that it is in Galway, the people are so friendly, the bars are excellent, and great musical tallent everywhere you go. Such a great atmosphere all around town. A definite must do

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillybeth1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just back from a great week-end in Galway. By choice we usually avoid hôtels and prefer the freedom of a self catering apartment but for two nights only it was easier this way. We were delighted with the Harbour Hotel. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Pleasant enough to come back to for a couple of hours rest on Saturday afternoon (only so much walking and pub sessions can be sustained!) Great bathroom too with good shower AND a bath! Towels might have been a bit softer but the bathrobe and slippers were a great bonus. Parking was very convenient, much closer than i anticipated, secure and reasonably priced. We also wondered how close we would be to the city centre but it is true that eveywhere was only a few minutes walk away: Eyre Square, the Latin Quarter, The West End, the walk along the Corrib, all were easily reached and the rain held off most of the time! Breakfast at the Harbour was also a good experience with plenty of variety: traditional irish, continental, healthy;;;it was all there. Finally, last but not least, we cannot but praise the staff for their efficiency and charm at all times. Good Irish hospitality as people expect but all too often do not find! Well done the Harbour! The only downside would be the lack of a view from most of the rooms. We were lucky as I had booked (and paid extra) for a room with "Harbour view" which was a bit of a misnomer as the view was minimal albeit better than one of the car park! Just do not expect (or don't care for) the romance of Galway Bay and you will enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Worth negotiating for a Harbour view room, even if not extraordinary, if it matters to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamker046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here with a large group of ladies at the weekend on a Hen. Friendly welcome at both reception and breakfast. Easy checkout, even with all the room shares and swaps that occur with a large group like ours. Special thanks to Aine who I dealt with on email from the start of our reservation process, nothing was a problem and she always had a solution to our room share requirements. Great spot for a girly weekend. Only slight complaint, rooms are very warm, especially with 3 of us in them and windows only open a tiny bit. As we were facing the road we couldn't leave them open at night because of traffic noise.

Room Tip: As rooms are warm, choose a room facing away from the main road, you might be able to leave window o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#31 of 46 in Galway
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Address: New Dock Road | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $118 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm welcome and fantastic customer service throughout your stay at the Harbour Hotel Galway. We are conveniently located in the heart of Galway City, perfect for a getaway break with so much to do on our doorstep. 96 bedrooms and executive rooms, onsite parking and fitness suite. Stay connected with complimentary high speed Wi-Fi provided throughout. Dine in Dillisk on the Docks, our restaurant and bar with stylishly rustic décor and comfortable furnishings. Dillisk on The Docks combines both modern-creative and traditional styles of cooking using only local producers. Galway’s newest social hub, with outdoor heated garden, social seating with pockets of inviting living room seating and a wide choice of cocktails, gins, wines and whiskeys. Location: Galway is famous for its culture, atmosphere, artistic heritage and breathtaking landscapes along the Wild Atlantic Way. There is so much to explore, experience and enjoy on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing